License-plate readers · Los Angeles County

Los Angeles County

Using license-plate readers · 15 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Alameda CountyAlpine CountyAmador CountyButte CountyCalaveras CountyColusa CountyContra Costa CountyDel Norte CountyEl Dorado CountyFresno CountyGlenn CountyHumboldt CountyImperial CountyInyo CountyKern CountyKings CountyLake CountyLassen CountyLos Angeles CountyMadera CountyMarin CountyMariposa CountyMendocino CountyMerced CountyModoc CountyMono CountyMonterey CountyNapa CountyNevada CountyOrange CountyPlacer CountyPlumas CountyRiverside CountySacramento CountySan Benito CountySan Bernardino CountySan Diego CountySan Francisco CountySan Joaquin CountySan Luis Obispo CountySan Mateo CountySanta Barbara CountySanta Clara CountySanta Cruz CountyShasta CountySierra CountySiskiyou CountySolano CountySonoma CountyStanislaus CountySutter CountyTehama CountyTrinity CountyTulare CountyTuolumne CountyVentura CountyYolo CountyYuba County

Los Angeles Police Department

Status
Removing or limiting cameras
Vendors
Motorola Solutions, Axon, Flock Safety
Cameras
160
Motorola pole-mounted cameras per the OIG report of July 10, 2026, plus 140 roof-mounted, seven trailer and about 1,500 in-car Axon units. LAPD lost access to 138 Flock pole cameras when the Flock MOU lapsed in 2026 (Fortune).
Contract
Motorola Solutions: · from 2022 · to June 21, 2027 · Five-year contract (originally Vigilant) for 140 roof-mounted, 60 pole and three trailer cameras; city clerk contract C-140535. (Los Angeles Police Commission, Office of the Inspector General, July 10, 2026)
Contract
Axon: · from 2016 · to July 31, 2026 · 10-year body camera/TASER contract amended in 2022 to add ALPR in in-car video; ALPR activated in about 1,500 vehicles in 2023. (Los Angeles Police Commission, Office of the Inspector General, July 10, 2026)
Contract
Flock Safety: · from June 11, 2023 · to June 2026 · Three-year MOU; a separate Jan. 23, 2025 MOU covered 50 loaned cameras in the Pacific Palisades. The OIG found no formal agreement covering Flock's access to Axon ALPR data. (Los Angeles Police Commission, Office of the Inspector General, July 10, 2026)
Data sharing
Per the OIG report, department policy limits sharing to agencies with a Memorandum of Agreement; 15 California agencies had MOAs (Huntington Park, La Mesa, Livermore, San Luis Obispo Sheriff, West Covina, LA Port Police, Torrance, Ceres, Hayward, Signal Hill, Glendale, Alhambra, Simi Valley, Rohnert [spelled 'Rohner' in report], Madera County Sheriff).
  1. Feb. 13, 2020 The State Auditor's 2019-118 audit included LAPD among four agencies reviewed. (California State Auditor, Feb. 13, 2020)
  2. June 18, 2025 CalMatters/The Markup reported LAPD ran plate-reader searches on behalf of ICE and CBP, based on a search-log database; LAPD declined to answer questions about the records. (The Markup / CalMatters, June 18, 2025)
  3. Oct. 23, 2025 CalMatters reported the City Council had acquired about $400,000 of ALPR technology for LAPD since June 2025, with Councilmembers Eunisses Hernandez and Hugo Soto-Martinez consistently voting no. (CalMatters, Oct. 23, 2025)
  4. July 10, 2026 The Police Commission's Inspector General issued a review of Aug. 1 to Sept. 30, 2025: 210,568,103 plate reads; 337 alerts led to stolen-vehicle recoveries; 68 alerts led to 74 arrests; 161 alerts matched plates on vehicles later found not to be stolen; nine led to pursuits. It recommended suspending new cameras and contracts pending public input. (Los Angeles Police Commission, Office of the Inspector General, July 10, 2026)
  5. July 11, 2026 LAPD let its three-year Flock agreement expire, saying it wanted new privacy and data-storage terms; chief information officer Dean Gialamas cited 'serious concerns around civil liberties and civil rights issues.' (ABC7 Los Angeles, July 11, 2026; TechCrunch, July 13, 2026; Fortune, July 15, 2026)
  6. July 14, 2026 The Board of Police Commissioners unanimously approved the OIG findings and recommendations, including pausing new ALPR camera installations pending public input. LAPD said its Motorola and Axon contracts stay in effect. (Spectrum News 1 (City News Service), July 14, 2026; CBS Los Angeles, July 14, 2026)
  7. Oct. 5, 2026 Hoodline reported that Councilmembers Soto-Martinez and Harris-Dawson moved to take jurisdiction over a commission-approved Axon agreement that includes ALPR for more than 1,600 patrol cars. (Hoodline, Oct. 5, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Status 'reducing': Flock data access ended in July 2026 and new cameras are paused; Motorola and Axon ALPR continue.
  • Flock MOU end date: OIG says in effect 'until June 2026'; ABC7 says the agreement expired July 11, 2026. Fortune says the MOU expired in June.
  • CBS LA reported 'more than 1,600' vehicle-mounted readers; OIG lists 140 roof-mounted plus about 1,500 in-car. Straight Arrow News reported 'nearly 2,000 cameras'.
  • The Axon $235 million figure comes from a Hoodline page marked AI-assisted; needs confirmation from Police Commission or council records.
  • Whether Flock service resumed after July 2026 was not found.
  • A $235 million, 10-year Axon agreement that would add plate readers to more than 1,600 patrol cars has been reported as approved by the Police Commission and challenged in the City Council. The only source opened is an AI-assisted Hoodline page citing MyNewsLA; not confirmed from city records.
  • Some event dates here are inferred from weekday references (such as “Tuesday”) in news reports; confirm from meeting records.

From agency records.

Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
931
Automated readers the department told the Los Angeles Times it operates, as reported by CalMatters Oct. 23, 2025 (a CalMatters caption said 'more than 800').
Data sharing
The department told the Board of Supervisors on Dec. 11, 2025 that no current MOU or data-sharing agreement permits disclosure for civil immigration enforcement (ca1-lasd-reportback).
  1. Sept. 16, 2025 The Board of Supervisors adopted a motion by Supervisor Hilda Solis asking LASD to amend its ALPR policy to bar disclosure for civil immigration enforcement, add semiannual access reports to the Inspector General, Civilian Oversight Commission and board, and add annual training. Chair Kathryn Barger cast the lone no vote on endorsing SB 274, citing its 60-day limit. (Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department, Dec. 11, 2025; CalMatters, Oct. 23, 2025)
  2. Dec. 11, 2025 Sheriff Robert Luna reported back that draft policy amendments were done but union meet-and-confer would likely delay adoption past the Jan. 14, 2026 deadline; SB 274 provisions were left out because the bill was vetoed. (Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department, Dec. 11, 2025)
  3. July 17, 2026 The Lost Hills station captain said Flock cameras in contract city Calabasas (18 cameras) had helped solve crimes; Agoura Hills and Westlake Village also use Flock under sheriff's contracts. (The Acorn, July 17, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Vendor for LASD's own readers not found in sources opened.
  • CalMatters did not find LASD among agencies that searched for ICE or Border Patrol; the Solis motion says the same.
  • Whether the revised ALPR policy was adopted in 2026 was not found.

From agency records.

Long Beach Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Motorola Solutions, Mallory Safety and Supply, LLC
Cameras
Count not documented
FORTHE reported the 2023 purchase covered 34 vehicle-mounted systems and four ALPR trailers, adding to 17 parking-enforcement ALPRs bought in 2020. No current total found.
Contract
Motorola Solutions: $381,051 contract total · from 2020 · approved by Long Beach City Council Nov. 17, 2020 · Vigilant Solutions ALPR hardware, software, installation and training for 17 Public Works parking-enforcement vehicles; interfaces with LBPD's existing Vigilant system. (City of Long Beach (Legistar), Oct. 20, 2020)
Contract
Mallory Safety and Supply, LLC: $1,208,372 total not-to-exceed · from 2023 · to Sept. 30, 2023 · approved by Long Beach City Council (approved; Lbpost reported unanimous) Feb. 7, 2023 · Mallory Safety and Supply, LLC (Vigilant partner), piggybacking on a Fairfax County, Va. contract, renewable while that contract runs; funded by a DHS UASI grant. (City of Long Beach (Legistar), Feb. 7, 2023; Long Beach Post, Feb. 8, 2023)
  1. Feb. 7, 2023 City Council approved up to $1,208,372 for ALPR equipment from Mallory Safety and Supply. The department said it had shared data with ICE in 2020 and called that a mistake. (City of Long Beach (Legistar), Feb. 7, 2023; Long Beach Post, Feb. 8, 2023)
Conflicts and open questions
  • No 2025-2026 Long Beach council action on ALPR found in Legistar title searches; current use not confirmed.
  • Mallory Safety and Supply is a reseller; the camera manufacturer was not named in sources opened.

From agency records.

Burbank Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
57
Flock ALPR cameras in Burbank per Burbank Leader, June 13, 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: $170,000 per year · from 2026 · approved by Burbank City Council June 2026 · Council supported another year of funding; tally not reported. (Burbank Leader (Outlook Newspapers), June 13, 2026)
  1. June 2026 City Council approved $170,000 for another year of the Flock program. The Police Commission chair said the commission took no position after an April 15 presentation and found no evidence of misuse. (Burbank Leader (Outlook Newspapers), June 13, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • A resident cited a city transparency chart showing more than two dozen non-police organizations with access; the article presents this as her claim.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Glendale Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
82
Flock LPR cameras per Glendale News-Press, Aug. 28, 2026.
Data sharing
Department says data is kept 30 days and shared only with California agencies it selects, not out-of-state or federal agencies (ca1-glendale-np). Glendale also holds an ALPR data MOA with LAPD (ca1-lapd-oig-2026).
  1. 2020 Glendale began using Flock. (Glendale News-Press (Outlook Newspapers), Aug. 28, 2026)
  2. Aug. 25, 2026 Councilmember Dan Brotman asked for an agenda discussion of the Flock cameras, including sharing, retention, audits and camera count. (Glendale News-Press (Outlook Newspapers), Aug. 28, 2026)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Pasadena Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
70
'Over 70' Flock cameras at about 20 intersections, per ABC7, Aug. 21, 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: · from 2023 · to Sept. 25, 2027 · End date per ABC7. (ABC7 Los Angeles, Aug. 21, 2026)
  1. Aug. 21, 2026 A City Hall meeting on the Flock cameras was postponed for lack of quorum; Vice Mayor Jess Rivas said she opposes Flock under current conditions. Retention was reported as seven days. (ABC7 Los Angeles, Aug. 21, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Camera count given as 'over 70'; recorded as 70 (minimum).

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Pomona Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No count found.
Contract
Flock Safety: $860,000 not-to-exceed (lease) · approved by Pomona City Council Dec. 18, 2023 · State BSCC funding secured by Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez; sole-source lease. (City of Pomona (Legistar), Dec. 18, 2023; City of Pomona (Legistar), Sept. 16, 2024)
Contract
Flock Safety: $500,000 not-to-exceed (purchase) · approved by Pomona City Council (on agenda) Sept. 16, 2024 · ARPA-funded sole-source expansion; council outcome not shown in Legistar API. (City of Pomona (Legistar), Sept. 16, 2024)
  1. Sept. 8, 2026 The Police Oversight Commission's Sept. 8, 2026 agenda included a discussion of the Flock camera system carried over from July 2026. (City of Pomona (Legistar), Sept. 8, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Council vote on the Sept. 16, 2024 item not confirmed from minutes; the 2024 staff report says the $860,000 item was approved Dec. 18, 2023.

From agency records.

South Pasadena Police Department

Status
Removing or limiting cameras
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
13
Flock cameras kept under a second contract after the council voted to stop 14 of 27 (LAist, March 19, 2026).
  1. March 18, 2026 Council voted, not unanimously, not to renew one Flock contract and to decommission 14 of 27 cameras while seeking another vendor. Councilmember Jon Primuth dissented. Reasons cited included reports that the Riverside County Sheriff's Office, a data-sharing partner, searched for federal immigration purposes. (LAist, March 19, 2026; FOX 11 Los Angeles, March 20, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Below 100,000 population; included because of the council action.
  • Exact vote date inferred from 'Wednesday' in March 19-20 reports.
  • Some event dates here are inferred from weekday references (such as “Tuesday”) in news reports; confirm from meeting records.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Torrance Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Data sharing
Listed in the LAPD OIG report (July 10, 2026) as holding an ALPR data-sharing MOA with LAPD.
  1. July 10, 2026 Torrance PD was named in the LAPD Inspector General's report as one of 15 agencies with an ALPR data-sharing agreement with LAPD. (Los Angeles Police Commission, Office of the Inspector General, July 10, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • An MOA suggests an ALPR program but no source opened describes its own cameras or vendor.

Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.

West Covina Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Data sharing
Listed in the LAPD OIG report (July 10, 2026) as holding an ALPR data-sharing MOA with LAPD.
  1. July 10, 2026 West Covina PD was named in the LAPD Inspector General's report as one of 15 agencies with an ALPR data-sharing agreement with LAPD. (Los Angeles Police Commission, Office of the Inspector General, July 10, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • An MOA suggests an ALPR program but no source opened describes its own cameras or vendor.

Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.

City of Santa Clarita (LASD Santa Clarita Valley Station)

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
35
35 Flock cameras installed citywide as of March 2025, per The Signal, June 13, 2025.
Contract
Flock Safety: · approved by Santa Clarita City Council Nov. 2024 · The Signal says the city approved the contract in November; amount not reported. (The Signal (Santa Clarita), June 13, 2025)
  1. Nov. 2024 City council approved a Flock contract for cameras used by the Sheriff’s Santa Clarita Valley Station, per The Signal. (The Signal (Santa Clarita), June 13, 2025)
  2. June 13, 2025 Acting station captain Lt. Brandon Barclay credited the cameras with 12 arrests, 15 stolen-vehicle recoveries and two investigative leads since March 1, 2025. Then-Capt. Justin Diez had said in November 2024 that data is kept 30 days. (The Signal (Santa Clarita), June 13, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Santa Clarita has no city police department; the cameras were provided by the city for the LASD station, per The Signal. Not recorded under the existing LASD record.
  • Year of the November approval inferred from a June 2025 article; confirm from council records.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

City of Lancaster (LASD Lancaster Station)

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
50
50 Flock cameras approved November 2022, per the Antelope Valley Press.
Contract
Flock Safety: $142,500 first year (camera lease at $2,500 each plus $350 installation each); $125,000 for each later year · approved by Lancaster City Council Nov. 8, 2022 · Approved 4-0 with Councilman Raj Malhi absent, per the Antelope Valley Press. (Antelope Valley Press (via PressReader), Nov. 26, 2022)
  1. Nov. 8, 2022 City council approved 50 Flock cameras to aid the Sheriff’s Lancaster Station; images deleted after 30 days. (Antelope Valley Press (via PressReader), Nov. 26, 2022)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Lancaster contracts with LASD; the city holds the Flock contract per the article. Current status after 2022 not confirmed.
  • Article read through PressReader; author not shown.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

City of Palmdale

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
  1. April 2024 City announced a 50% increase in its Flock cameras and plans for a Fusus camera integration platform. (PublicCEO, April 12, 2024)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Source does not give a camera count, a contract amount, or which agency runs the cameras. Palmdale is policed under contract with LASD, but this source does not say so.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Downey Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Motorola Solutions, Neology (PIPS Technology)
Contract
Flock Safety: $138,900 three-year term (eight ALPR cameras plus six downtown video cameras, with installation and maintenance) · Proposal before the city council in March 2024; outcome not found. (The Downey Patriot, March 22, 2024)
  1. Feb. 2020 In survey answers published by the State Auditor, the department said it operated ALPR cameras and used Vigilant Solutions and Neology/PIPS systems. (California State Auditor, Feb. 13, 2020)
  2. March 2024 City council was to consider a police request for eight Flock ALPR cameras and six live downtown cameras for $138,900 over three years. (The Downey Patriot, March 22, 2024)
  3. Dec. 10, 2025 Listed in the Oxnard Police Department's 2024–2025 ALPR data sharing review among California agencies with access to Oxnard's ALPR detections through Vigilant. (Oxnard Police Department, Dec. 10, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Council decision on the 2024 Flock proposal not found.
  • Flock was proposed in March 2024; the outcome was not found.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Inglewood Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Motorola Solutions
  1. Feb. 2020 In survey answers published by the State Auditor, the department said it accessed ALPR data (but did not operate cameras) through Vigilant Solutions. (California State Auditor, Feb. 13, 2020)
  2. Dec. 10, 2025 Listed in the Oxnard Police Department's 2024–2025 ALPR data sharing review among California agencies with access to Oxnard's ALPR detections through Vigilant. (Oxnard Police Department, Dec. 10, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • No current contract or cameras found.

From agency records.

Statewide

  1. Jan. 1, 2016 SB 34 (Statutes of 2015, Chapter 532), codified at Civil Code section 1798.90.5 and following, took effect. It requires ALPR operators and end users to keep a usage and privacy policy, log access, and share ALPR information only with public agencies. The Attorney General reads 'public agency' to exclude out-of-state and federal agencies. (California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General, Oct. 27, 2023)
  2. Feb. 13, 2020 The California State Auditor released report 2019-118 on the Fresno Police Department, LAPD, Marin County Sheriff's Office and Sacramento County Sheriff's Office. It found none of the four audited staff searches of ALPR images, three of the four shared images without first checking the recipient's right and need to know, and 70 percent of surveyed agencies ran or planned to run ALPR. It recommended a state model policy and a maximum retention period set in law. (California State Auditor, Feb. 13, 2020)
  3. Oct. 27, 2023 The Attorney General's Division of Law Enforcement issued Information Bulletin 2023-DLE-06, telling state and local agencies that SB 34 bars sharing ALPR information with out-of-state and federal agencies, with model policy guidance. (California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General, Oct. 27, 2023; California Office of the Attorney General, Oct. 3, 2025)
  4. April 2, 2024 Gov. Gavin Newsom announced a California Highway Patrol contract with Flock Safety for about 480 cameras: about 290 on Oakland surface streets and 190 on East Bay state highways, with a 28-day retention period. (Office of Governor Gavin Newsom, April 2, 2024)
  5. June 18, 2025 CalMatters and The Markup reported, from a search log obtained by Oakland Privacy covering April 28 to May 30, 2025, that 10 agencies, nine in Southern California and six in Los Angeles County, ran searches for ICE, including LAPD; the Orange and San Diego County sheriffs ran searches for Border Patrol. Riverside County logged four 'hsinvest' searches but said they were narcotics cases. (The Markup / CalMatters, June 18, 2025)
  6. Oct. 2025 Gov. Newsom vetoed SB 274, which would have required deletion of some ALPR data after 60 days, officer training, documented case reasons for searches and random Department of Justice audits. His veto message said the 60-day limit could impede investigations, particularly cold cases. (CalMatters, Oct. 3, 2025)
  7. Oct. 3, 2025 Attorney General Rob Bonta filed a petition for a writ of mandate in San Diego County Superior Court against the City of El Cajon, its police department and Chief Jeremiah Larson, alleging the department shared ALPR data with agencies in 26 other states in violation of SB 34. The AG's office said it had contacted 18 agencies about possible violations since 2024. (California Office of the Attorney General, Oct. 3, 2025; CalMatters, Oct. 3, 2025)
  8. Nov. 24, 2025 CHP Commissioner Sean Duryee wrote to Flock Safety CEO Garrett Langley that data from CHP's Flock cameras may not be shared with federal officials, citing the contract's bar on sharing outside California. (KTVU FOX 2, Nov. 24, 2025)
  9. Jan. 2026 The Attorney General filed a motion in California v. City of El Cajon asking the court to order the city to stop sharing ALPR data with out-of-state agencies; the AG said the data reached more than 100 agencies outside California. A hearing was set for Feb. 13, 2026. No ruling was found in sources checked as of Oct. 17, 2026. (California Office of the Attorney General, Jan. 21, 2026; NBC 7 San Diego, Jan. 22, 2026; NBC 7 San Diego, Feb. 8, 2026)
  10. Aug. 31, 2026 SB 1013 (Cervantes), similar to the vetoed SB 274, passed the Senate but did not receive an Assembly floor vote before the session ended; CalMatters reported Assembly Majority Leader Cecilia Aguiar-Curry held it. CalMatters counted this as the fifth straight year without new ALPR rules; nearly 40 law enforcement agencies and unions opposed the bill. (CalMatters (republished by LAist), Sept. 3, 2026; CalMatters Digital Democracy, date not shown)
  11. Oct. 2026 A Santa Clara County Superior Court judge dismissed a challenge to San Jose's ALPR network, rejecting claims that warrantless searches of ALPR data violate the state constitution's privacy and search provisions (outside this researcher's counties; recorded as statewide legal context). (San Jose Spotlight (republished by Local News Matters), Oct. 7, 2026)

State agencies

California Highway Patrol

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Vendor not named in source
Cameras
Count not documented
No statewide count found. The 2024 East Bay contract covers about 480 Flock cameras (about 290 Oakland streets, 190 East Bay highways); CHP also runs mobile ALPR on patrol vehicles under General Order 81.1.
Data sharing
CHP's contract with Flock bars sharing with the federal government or any entity outside California, per the commissioner's Nov. 2025 letter (ca1-ktvu-chp-letter). Vehicle Code 2413 bars making data available to non-law-enforcement agencies or individuals.
  1. Oct. 2020 General Order 81.1 (revised October 2020) sets CHP's ALPR rules: mobile ALPR data is kept 60 days and then purged, access is limited to personnel with an investigative need, and ALPR use is reported each year in the auto theft report to the Legislature. (California Highway Patrol, Oct. 2020)
  2. Oct. 2020 Vehicle Code 2413 limits CHP retention of plate-reader data to 60 days except for evidence or felony investigations, bars selling the data, and limits its use to locating vehicles or people suspected in a public offense. (California Legislature (via california.public.law), date not shown)
  3. Feb. 8, 2024 The Oaklandside reported CHP would run Oakland's 300-camera Flock network funded by a $1.2 million state loan; CHP keeps data 60 days while Oakland and Flock agreed to 30. (The Oaklandside, Feb. 8, 2024)
  4. April 2, 2024 The governor's office announced the CHP-Flock contract for about 480 cameras in Oakland and the East Bay with 28-day retention. (Office of Governor Gavin Newsom, April 2, 2024)
  5. Nov. 24, 2025 The CHP commissioner told Flock in writing that CHP camera data cannot be shared with federal officials. (KTVU FOX 2, Nov. 24, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Retention differs by source: 60 days (GO 81.1, mobile ALPR; Vehicle Code 2413 cap), 28 days (governor's release on the East Bay Flock network), 60 days (Oaklandside on CHP practice). These may describe different systems.
  • No CHP Flock deployment in the ten southern counties was found; not checked through CHP contract records (searches exhausted).

From agency records.