License-plate readers · Alachua County

Alachua County

Using license-plate readers · 2 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Alachua CountyBaker CountyBay CountyBradford CountyBrevard CountyBroward CountyCalhoun CountyCharlotte CountyCitrus CountyClay CountyCollier CountyColumbia CountyDeSoto CountyDixie CountyDuval CountyEscambia CountyFlagler CountyFranklin CountyGadsden CountyGilchrist CountyGlades CountyGulf CountyHamilton CountyHardee CountyHendry CountyHernando CountyHighlands CountyHillsborough CountyHolmes CountyIndian River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyLafayette CountyLake CountyLee CountyLeon CountyLevy CountyLiberty CountyMadison CountyManatee CountyMarion CountyMartin CountyMiami-Dade CountyMonroe CountyNassau CountyOkaloosa CountyOkeechobee CountyOrange CountyOsceola CountyPalm Beach CountyPasco CountyPinellas CountyPolk CountyPutnam CountySanta Rosa CountySarasota CountySeminole CountySt. Johns CountySt. Lucie CountySumter CountySuwannee CountyTaylor CountyUnion CountyVolusia CountyWakulla CountyWalton CountyWashington County

Alachua County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Axon
Cameras
42
27 devices on state-road rights-of-way being removed plus 15 others kept in use, per WCJB (42 is the sum of the two reported figures, not a figure stated by the agency)
  1. Aug. 31, 2026 After receiving FDOT memo from COO Will Watts, Sheriff Chad Scott directed the Innovative Policing Division commander to notify Flock and Axon to remove all 27 ALPR devices in state highway rights-of-way within 30 days. The office said it was exploring whether ALPRs can still be used outside state highways. (Mainstreet Daily News, Aug. 31, 2026; WUFT News, Sept. 1, 2026)
  2. Sept. 1, 2026 WCJB reported the office will stop using 27 cameras on state roads and keep 15 others in use. Sheriff Scott called for a "responsible middle ground." (WCJB TV20, Sept. 1, 2026)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Gainesville Police Department

Status
Use suspended
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
10
Stationary Flock Falcon cameras, per WUFT (June 2026); count of cameras at time of suspension not stated
Contract
Flock Safety: $125,000 total, five-year contract ($25,000 per year); funded by Federal Law Enforcement Contraband Forfeiture Trust Fund · from 2024 (WUFT News, June 22, 2026)
  1. 2024 Gainesville City Commission approved a five-year contract with Flock Safety (exact approval date not stated in source). Data retained 30 days. (WUFT News, June 22, 2026)
  2. Sept. 3, 2026 Police Chief Nelson Moya suspended use of all GPD-operated ALPR cameras on city rights-of-way, effective 3 p.m. Moya: ALPRs have "unequivocally been one of our best public safety tools in recent years." This is a suspension; no contract termination was reported. (Mainstreet Daily News, Sept. 3, 2026; WCJB TV20, Sept. 3, 2026)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. Aug. 31, 2026 The Florida Department of Transportation revoked permits and ordered all automated license-plate readers off state roads within 30 days. Gov. Ron DeSantis: "I don't want to have this become a surveillance state." (Axios Tampa Bay, Sept. 1, 2026; WUSF, Sept. 2, 2026)
  2. Sept. 30, 2026 The 30-day deadline for removing license-plate readers from state roads passed. (Florida Phoenix, Sept. 30, 2026)