License-plate readers · Broward County

Broward County

Using license-plate readers · 6 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Alachua CountyBaker CountyBay CountyBradford CountyBrevard CountyBroward CountyCalhoun CountyCharlotte CountyCitrus CountyClay CountyCollier CountyColumbia CountyDeSoto CountyDixie CountyDuval CountyEscambia CountyFlagler CountyFranklin CountyGadsden CountyGilchrist CountyGlades CountyGulf CountyHamilton CountyHardee CountyHendry CountyHernando CountyHighlands CountyHillsborough CountyHolmes CountyIndian River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyLafayette CountyLake CountyLee CountyLeon CountyLevy CountyLiberty CountyMadison CountyManatee CountyMarion CountyMartin CountyMiami-Dade CountyMonroe CountyNassau CountyOkaloosa CountyOkeechobee CountyOrange CountyOsceola CountyPalm Beach CountyPasco CountyPinellas CountyPolk CountyPutnam CountySanta Rosa CountySarasota CountySeminole CountySt. Johns CountySt. Lucie CountySumter CountySuwannee CountyTaylor CountyUnion CountyVolusia CountyWakulla CountyWalton CountyWashington County

Coral Springs Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Cover all major roads into and out of the city; count not reported. No cameras on state roads (not affected by FDOT directive).
  1. date not shown Cameras bought with a state grant; the commission voted unanimously to approve the grant. A later $500,000 state grant request (via Sen. Tina Polsky) for cameras and license-plate readers was accepted by unanimous commission vote in November (year not stated). (Coral Springs News, date not shown; Coral Springs News, date not shown)
  2. May 11, 2026 Per 'Have I Been Flocked' data cited by Coral Springs News: 82,179 searches across 1,236 days, Dec. 23, 2022, to May 11, 2026. (Coral Springs News, date not shown)
  3. Sept. 24, 2026 Coral Springs listed among cities not affected by the FDOT directive. (South Florida Sun-Sentinel (via GovTech/TNS), Sept. 24, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Coral Springs News articles opened show no publication date; event dates are approximate.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Fort Lauderdale Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
88
Flock cameras across the city, per FLPD spokesperson Casey Liening
Contract
Flock Safety: one-year agreement to test 25 cameras · from March 2022 (New Times Broward-Palm Beach / Miami New Times, date not shown)
Contract
Flock Safety: current purchases through a cooperative agreement with Cobb County, Georgia (New Times Broward-Palm Beach / Miami New Times, date not shown)
  1. July 6, 2026 Two Flock cameras in Croissant Park were cut down; the city listed the damage at $6,000. Case closed July 28 pending further evidence, no arrests. (New Times Broward-Palm Beach / Miami New Times, date not shown; Local 10 (WPLG), Aug. 11, 2026; Axios Fort Lauderdale, Aug. 24, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • No source opened reports FLPD's response to the FDOT order or how many of its cameras were on state roads.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Hollywood Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Motorola Solutions
Cameras
60
60 Flock cameras bought in 2024; total including Motorola cameras not reported
Contract
Flock Safety: $459,000 2024 purchase of 60 cameras · from 2024 (Axios, Sept. 1, 2026)
  1. Sept. 1, 2026 Hollywood shares its license-plate reader data with 365 agencies nationwide, including agencies in other states, federal agencies and a private railroad police department; the city has reportedly spent at least $5.5 million on the program since 2014 (per records obtained by DeFlock Broward and Miami New Times reporting, as cited by Axios). Spokesperson: "Access is given to the agencies for investigative purposes." (Axios, Sept. 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Figures are secondhand via Axios citing Miami New Times and DeFlock Broward records; original records not opened. FDOT-order response not found.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Miramar Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not found in an original record or news report
Contract
Flock Safety: $25,550 purchase of Flock Safety License Plate Recognition cameras via reseller Insight Public Sector under Omnia Partners Contract #23-6692-03; agenda says this brings FY2023 total with Insight Public Sector to $82,779 · from July 5, 2023 (City of Miramar (Legistar), July 5, 2023)
  1. July 5, 2023 Temp. Reso. #R7932 to buy Flock Safety License Plate Recognition cameras ($25,550) placed on the City Commission regular meeting agenda. Legistar shows no recorded action or vote. (City of Miramar (Legistar), July 5, 2023)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The city's legislative system shows the 2023 purchase item on the agenda but no recorded vote. No camera count or response to the FDOT order from an original record or news report was found.

Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.

Pembroke Pines Police Department

Status
Use suspended
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
100
"more than 100" license-plate cameras, all shut off
  1. Sept. 24, 2026 Pembroke Pines "chose to shut off all of its more than 100 license-plate cameras" after the FDOT directive. (South Florida Sun-Sentinel (via GovTech/TNS), Sept. 24, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Sun Sentinel cites Flock-capability documents shared at a Pembroke Pines commission meeting but does not explicitly name the city's vendor.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Broward Sheriff's Office

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not stated; County Commission records show LETF-funded ALPR purchases for BSO districts and contract cities 2021-2024
Contract
Vendor not named in source: $52,439 LETF transfer to install license plate readers on the SR-7 corridor, City of Margate (Resolution 2021-467) · from Oct. 5, 2021 (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Oct. 5, 2021)
Contract
Vendor not named in source: $79,015 LETF transfer for license plate readers and covert cameras, City of Miramar (Resolution 2022-044) · from Feb. 8, 2022 (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Feb. 8, 2022)
Contract
Vendor not named in source: $251,946 LETF transfer for the purchase of an Automated License Plate Reader for the City of Weston · from Aug. 22, 2023 (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Aug. 22, 2023)
Contract
Vendor not named in source: $125,534 LETF transfer for the purchase of Automated License Plate Readers (ALPR) for the Tamarac District · from Aug. 22, 2024 (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Aug. 22, 2024)
Contract
Vendor not named in source: $83,930 LETF transfer for the purchase of Automated License Plate Readers (ALPR) for the Wilton Manors Police Department · from Sept. 5, 2024 (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Sept. 5, 2024)
  1. Oct. 5, 2021 Broward County Commission adopted a budget resolution transferring $52,439 within the Law Enforcement Trust Fund for BSO to install license plate readers on the SR-7 corridor in Margate. (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Oct. 5, 2021)
  2. Feb. 8, 2022 County Commission transferred $79,015 in LETF funds for BSO license plate readers and covert cameras for Miramar (vote recorded 8-0). (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Feb. 8, 2022)
  3. Aug. 22, 2023 County Commission (consent) transferred $251,946 in LETF funds for BSO to purchase an Automated License Plate Reader for the City of Weston. (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Aug. 22, 2023)
  4. Aug. 22, 2024 County Commission transferred $125,534 in LETF funds for BSO to purchase ALPRs for the Tamarac District. (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Aug. 22, 2024)
  5. Sept. 5, 2024 County Commission transferred $83,930 in LETF funds for BSO to purchase ALPRs for the Wilton Manors Police Department. (Broward County Board of County Commissioners (Legistar), Sept. 5, 2024)
  6. Sept. 24, 2026 BSO spokesperson Carey Codd said the technology "simply automates what trained law enforcement officers have always done." No count, vendor or removal details given. (South Florida Sun-Sentinel (via GovTech), Sept. 24, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Vendor not named in County Commission titles. Lead (not confirmed here): Hialeah Resolution 2020-052 cites BSO Solicitation Bid No. 19053JLS for Vigilant (Motorola) ALPRs; the bid award itself was not found.
  • Miramar's own entry lists Flock; the 2022 BSO LETF item for Miramar does not name a vendor. Margate is reported by the Sun-Sentinel (Sept. 24, 2026) as affected by the FDOT directive, but whether those are BSO or city cameras is not stated.

From agency records.

Statewide

  1. Aug. 31, 2026 The Florida Department of Transportation revoked permits and ordered all automated license-plate readers off state roads within 30 days. Gov. Ron DeSantis: "I don't want to have this become a surveillance state." (Axios Tampa Bay, Sept. 1, 2026; WUSF, Sept. 2, 2026)
  2. Sept. 30, 2026 The 30-day deadline for removing license-plate readers from state roads passed. (Florida Phoenix, Sept. 30, 2026)