License-plate readers · Duval County

Duval County

Using license-plate readers · 2 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Alachua CountyBaker CountyBay CountyBradford CountyBrevard CountyBroward CountyCalhoun CountyCharlotte CountyCitrus CountyClay CountyCollier CountyColumbia CountyDeSoto CountyDixie CountyDuval CountyEscambia CountyFlagler CountyFranklin CountyGadsden CountyGilchrist CountyGlades CountyGulf CountyHamilton CountyHardee CountyHendry CountyHernando CountyHighlands CountyHillsborough CountyHolmes CountyIndian River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyLafayette CountyLake CountyLee CountyLeon CountyLevy CountyLiberty CountyMadison CountyManatee CountyMarion CountyMartin CountyMiami-Dade CountyMonroe CountyNassau CountyOkaloosa CountyOkeechobee CountyOrange CountyOsceola CountyPalm Beach CountyPasco CountyPinellas CountyPolk CountyPutnam CountySanta Rosa CountySarasota CountySeminole CountySt. Johns CountySt. Lucie CountySumter CountySuwannee CountyTaylor CountyUnion CountyVolusia CountyWakulla CountyWalton CountyWashington County

Jacksonville Sheriff's Office

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
141
141 fixed license-plate readers plus 9 mobile readers in Duval County, per a JSO Facebook post of Aug. 20, 2026 (before the discontinuation). The post did not say whether the count includes readers on private property that JSO can access.
  1. Oct. 2023 Action News Jax reported that JSO did not use license-plate reader cameras but could access Flock's database under a memorandum of understanding. (Action News Jax, Oct. 23, 2023)
  2. Aug. 7, 2026 JSO published a "Fact vs. Fiction" social media post on license-plate readers. (Action News Jax, Aug. 20, 2026)
  3. Aug. 20, 2026 JSO posted that it had 141 fixed and 9 mobile license-plate readers and credited them with helping in 15 murders, 17 kidnappings, 6 forcible sex offenses, nearly 100 shootings and 172 missing-persons cases since 2024 (agency's figures). (Action News Jax, Aug. 20, 2026; News4JAX (WJXT), Aug. 19, 2026; Jacksonville Today, Aug. 26, 2026)
  4. Aug. 26, 2026 City Council member Jimmy Peluso announced plans to file legislation including a 120-day moratorium on new Flock cameras, a city camera inventory, Citizen Planning Advisory Committee approval of placements and a resident petition process for removal; public meeting set for Aug. 28, 2026. (Jacksonville Today, Aug. 26, 2026)
  5. Aug. 31, 2026 Sheriff T.K. Waters announced JSO "will discontinue the use of LPR technology throughout Duval County," citing "the decision made at the state level" and "concerns expressed by members of our community." The discontinuation covers all of Duval County, not only state roads. (Action News Jax, Aug. 31, 2026; Jacksonville Today, Aug. 31, 2026; Action News Jax, Sept. 1, 2026)
  6. Sept. 2026 Reported to have moved to discontinue use after the state order; scope not yet confirmed. (Axios Tampa Bay, Sept. 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Replaces the secondhand Axios-based entry. Discontinuation is confirmed by the sheriff's own statement as reported by Action News Jax and Jacksonville Today. No source found confirming physical removal of cameras or termination of a Flock contract; no contract amounts found.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Jacksonville Beach Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
17
Flock cameras at 17 locations, with eight more planned (Jacksonville Today, Aug. 6, 2026). Earlier counts: nine Flock cameras installed in December 2025, and Action News Jax reporters counted six license plate readers among 49 surveillance cameras in 12 downtown blocks (Jan. 15, 2026); the article does not reconcile the two figures. Count after the Aug. 31, 2026 FDOT order not reported.
Contract
Flock Safety: $45,000 per year (cost of cameras as reported by Jacksonville Today); funded through the city's Public Safety Technology Enhancement plan (Jacksonville Today, Aug. 6, 2026)
Contract
Flock Safety: $67,500 projected cost and maintenance of cameras 'from this year through 2030', per the city's Capital Improvement Plan report as cited by Action News Jax; whether this covers the same cameras as the $45,000-per-year figure is not stated (Action News Jax, Jan. 15, 2026)
  1. Dec. 2025 Nine additional Flock cameras, which police said 'serve as license plate readers', were installed in December as part of the city's Public Safety Technology Enhancement Program, which Action News Jax reported was approved by City Council (approval date and vote not stated). (Action News Jax, Jan. 15, 2026)
  2. Feb. 3, 2026 Patrol division commander Eric Shaughnessy said the department made 14 arrests in 45 days 'off of Flock cameras' and that the cameras do not use facial recognition. Officials described plans for 16 more fixed cameras plus mobile license plate readers, which would need City Council funding. (Action News Jax, Feb. 3, 2026)
  3. July 29, 2026 Flock cameras in Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach and Jacksonville Beach were spray-painted; Action News Jax did not say which agency operates each damaged unit. Jacksonville Beach police declined to comment, citing the ongoing investigation. (Action News Jax, July 29, 2026)
  4. Aug. 6, 2026 Jacksonville Today reported the department has Flock cameras at 17 locations, the first activated Nov. 24 (year not stated in the article), at a cost of $45,000 per year, with eight more planned. (Jacksonville Today, Aug. 6, 2026)
  5. Sept. 29, 2026 Asked about the FDOT removal deadline, Jacksonville Beach police said they 'did not have anyone available to speak on the matter.' No statement on whether any of its cameras were on state roads or whether use continues was found. (Action News Jax, Sept. 29, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Status reflects the last reported use (Aug. 6, 2026). The department declined to comment on July 29 and Sept. 29, 2026.
  • Two cost figures from different reports ($45,000 a year; $67,500 projected through 2030) are not reconciled by either source and are not added together.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. Aug. 31, 2026 The Florida Department of Transportation revoked permits and ordered all automated license-plate readers off state roads within 30 days. Gov. Ron DeSantis: "I don't want to have this become a surveillance state." (Axios Tampa Bay, Sept. 1, 2026; WUSF, Sept. 2, 2026)
  2. Sept. 30, 2026 The 30-day deadline for removing license-plate readers from state roads passed. (Florida Phoenix, Sept. 30, 2026)