License-plate readers · Hardee County

Hardee County

Using license-plate readers · 2 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Alachua CountyBaker CountyBay CountyBradford CountyBrevard CountyBroward CountyCalhoun CountyCharlotte CountyCitrus CountyClay CountyCollier CountyColumbia CountyDeSoto CountyDixie CountyDuval CountyEscambia CountyFlagler CountyFranklin CountyGadsden CountyGilchrist CountyGlades CountyGulf CountyHamilton CountyHardee CountyHendry CountyHernando CountyHighlands CountyHillsborough CountyHolmes CountyIndian River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyLafayette CountyLake CountyLee CountyLeon CountyLevy CountyLiberty CountyMadison CountyManatee CountyMarion CountyMartin CountyMiami-Dade CountyMonroe CountyNassau CountyOkaloosa CountyOkeechobee CountyOrange CountyOsceola CountyPalm Beach CountyPasco CountyPinellas CountyPolk CountyPutnam CountySanta Rosa CountySarasota CountySeminole CountySt. Johns CountySt. Lucie CountySumter CountySuwannee CountyTaylor CountyUnion CountyVolusia CountyWakulla CountyWalton CountyWashington County

Hardee County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
19
18 pole-mounted and one trailer-mounted LPR 'as of Tuesday', per Capt. David Drake (The Herald-Advocate, early September 2026). 19 is the sum of the two reported figures. The number on state roads was not stated.
  1. Sept. 2026 The Herald-Advocate reported the Sheriff's Office is removing devices on state-maintained roads, including U.S. 17 and State Roads 62 and 66, following the FDOT order. Capt. David Drake, who leads the law enforcement bureau, said deputies 'don't ever receive the registered owner's information when they get an alert.' (The Herald-Advocate (Wauchula), date not shown)
  2. Sept. 24, 2026 Capt. Drake was 'tentatively scheduled' to present on the use of LPRs at the Hardee County Board of County Commissioners meeting (scheduled date as reported; whether the presentation occurred was not verified). (The Herald-Advocate (Wauchula), date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Herald-Advocate article shows no date; its text places it in the first week after the Aug. 31, 2026 FDOT order. Vendor not named.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Wauchula Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Motorola Solutions
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not stated
  1. Sept. 2026 The Herald-Advocate reported 'WPD uses an LPR system through Motorola, and access is limited'; Chief Ron Curtis has policies requiring officers to provide a case number and reason for each review. The article does not say whether any WPD readers are on state roads or affected by the FDOT order. (The Herald-Advocate (Wauchula), date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Herald-Advocate article shows no date (early September 2026). The source says "Motorola" without naming a product line.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. Aug. 31, 2026 The Florida Department of Transportation revoked permits and ordered all automated license-plate readers off state roads within 30 days. Gov. Ron DeSantis: "I don't want to have this become a surveillance state." (Axios Tampa Bay, Sept. 1, 2026; WUSF, Sept. 2, 2026)
  2. Sept. 30, 2026 The 30-day deadline for removing license-plate readers from state roads passed. (Florida Phoenix, Sept. 30, 2026)