License-plate readers · Orange County

Orange County

Using license-plate readers · 2 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Alachua CountyBaker CountyBay CountyBradford CountyBrevard CountyBroward CountyCalhoun CountyCharlotte CountyCitrus CountyClay CountyCollier CountyColumbia CountyDeSoto CountyDixie CountyDuval CountyEscambia CountyFlagler CountyFranklin CountyGadsden CountyGilchrist CountyGlades CountyGulf CountyHamilton CountyHardee CountyHendry CountyHernando CountyHighlands CountyHillsborough CountyHolmes CountyIndian River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyLafayette CountyLake CountyLee CountyLeon CountyLevy CountyLiberty CountyMadison CountyManatee CountyMarion CountyMartin CountyMiami-Dade CountyMonroe CountyNassau CountyOkaloosa CountyOkeechobee CountyOrange CountyOsceola CountyPalm Beach CountyPasco CountyPinellas CountyPolk CountyPutnam CountySanta Rosa CountySarasota CountySeminole CountySt. Johns CountySt. Lucie CountySumter CountySuwannee CountyTaylor CountyUnion CountyVolusia CountyWakulla CountyWalton CountyWashington County

Orange County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not stated
  1. Sept. 1, 2026 Office will keep using LPR cameras where permitted while removing those on state roadways. Sheriff John Mina has said "misuse will not be tolerated." (Spectrum News 13, Sept. 1, 2026; WKMG News 6 (ClickOrlando), Sept. 1, 2026)
  2. Sept. 16, 2026 WFTV reported the office is keeping its Flock cameras. (WFTV Channel 9, Sept. 16, 2026)
  3. Sept. 30, 2026 License plate readers on state highway rights-of-way taken down. (Spectrum News 13, Sept. 30, 2026)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Orlando Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Motorola Solutions
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not stated. 2025 purchase: readers at entrances and exits of select downtown parking garages and a parking lot. OPD's ALPR policy (effective 8/27/2026) defines both fixed and mobile ALPR cameras.
Contract
Motorola Solutions: $49,000 year · from Sept. 2019 · Access to Vigilant Solutions license plate database, "$49,000 a year," paid from the Police Department's budget; approved by Orlando City Council (reported as "on Monday," i.e., the meeting of Sept. 16, 2019). Vigilant is now part of Motorola Solutions. Current status of this subscription not found. (WKMG News 6 (ClickOrlando), Sept. 16, 2019; Government Technology (from Orlando Sentinel), Sept. 16, 2019)
Contract
Motorola Solutions: $148,990 total · from June 2025 · WKMG: "nearly $150,000": $84,687.78 from the parking division and $64,302.44 from the city's crime center (sum $148,990.22). Central Florida Public Media: council and Mayor Buddy Dyer "unanimously approved using $150,000 in state funding" and a contract of "nearly $150,000 for Motorola." Exact meeting date not stated in either article; WKMG headline (June 9, 2025): "Orlando OKs police license plate readers for some parking garages." CONFLICT on funding source (city parking/crime-center budgets vs. state funding). (WKMG News 6 (ClickOrlando), June 9, 2025; Central Florida Public Media, Sept. 2, 2025)
Data sharing
Per OPD Policy 1137.5: the Department "may share ALPR images and data with criminal justice agencies"; federal or multi-agency task force case numbers may be used in place of an OPD case number; data "may not be disseminated outside OPD except as provided for in section 316.0777(4)."
  1. Sept. 16, 2019 Orlando City Council approved OPD access to Vigilant Solutions' license plate database at $49,000 a year. The Orlando Sentinel reported OPD "has not purchased its own plate-reading cameras" at that time. (WKMG News 6 (ClickOrlando), Sept. 16, 2019; Government Technology (from Orlando Sentinel), Sept. 16, 2019)
  2. June 2025 City Commission unanimously approved license plate readers from Motorola for entrances and exits of downtown parking garages; about $150,000. (WKMG News 6 (ClickOrlando), June 9, 2025; Central Florida Public Media, Sept. 2, 2025)
  3. Aug. 27, 2026 OPD Policy 1137.5, Automated License Plate Recognition System, effective 8/27/2026: covers fixed and mobile ALPR cameras; data retained "no longer than three anniversary years" unless another records series requires longer; ALPR Administrators run weekly audits of all ALPR activity, retained at least three anniversary years. No vendor named. (Orlando Police Department, Aug. 27, 2026)
  4. Sept. 2026 No OPD statement on the FDOT Aug. 31, 2026 order found. OPD was not named in WKMG's Sept. 1 (updated Sept. 24) list of Central Florida agency responses, Spectrum News Sept. 1, or Fox 35 Aug. 31. (WKMG News 6 (ClickOrlando), Sept. 1, 2026; Spectrum News 13, Sept. 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Status set to unconfirmed: the program is documented through the Aug. 27, 2026 policy, but no post-FDOT-order status was found. Whether any OPD readers were on state roads is unknown.
  • Atlas of Surveillance (AOS013867) lists OPD ALPRs with no vendor or source; lead only.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. Aug. 31, 2026 The Florida Department of Transportation revoked permits and ordered all automated license-plate readers off state roads within 30 days. Gov. Ron DeSantis: "I don't want to have this become a surveillance state." (Axios Tampa Bay, Sept. 1, 2026; WUSF, Sept. 2, 2026)
  2. Sept. 30, 2026 The 30-day deadline for removing license-plate readers from state roads passed. (Florida Phoenix, Sept. 30, 2026)