License-plate readers · Dutchess County

Dutchess County

Use suspended · 2 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Albany CountyAllegany CountyBronx CountyBroome CountyCattaraugus CountyCayuga CountyChautauqua CountyChemung CountyChenango CountyClinton CountyColumbia CountyCortland CountyDelaware CountyDutchess CountyErie CountyEssex CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGenesee CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHerkimer CountyJefferson CountyKings CountyLewis CountyLivingston CountyMadison CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyNassau CountyNew York CountyNiagara CountyOneida CountyOnondaga CountyOntario CountyOrange CountyOrleans CountyOswego CountyOtsego CountyPutnam CountyQueens CountyRensselaer CountyRichmond CountyRockland CountySaratoga CountySchenectady CountySchoharie CountySchuyler CountySeneca CountySt. Lawrence CountySteuben CountySuffolk CountySullivan CountyTioga CountyTompkins CountyUlster CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWestchester CountyWyoming CountyYates County

Dutchess County Sheriff's Office

Status
Use suspended
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Counts differ: the county's Flock transparency portal listed 371 cameras per The Millerton News (Feb. 2026) and 413 cameras of all kinds per The New Pine Plains Herald (Aug. 2026), including some privately owned or on private land; Spectrum News (Oct. 2026) reported 65 Flock cameras to be covered after deactivation.
Contract
Vendor not named in source: $192,800 DCJS Law Enforcement Technology grant award (2024); ALPRs were one of several eligible uses · from 2024 · approved by NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services · Award amount only; the source does not say how much went to plate readers. (Government Technology, May 15, 2024)
  1. Dec. 2024 The Sheriff's Office and District Attorney Anthony Parisi secured funding for the Analysis and Real Time Crime Intelligence Center (ARTCIC), a joint network built on Flock plate readers, per The Millerton News. (The Millerton News, Feb. 18, 2026)
  2. Feb. 2026 The Millerton News reported in February that the county's Flock transparency portal listed 371 cameras across the county. In August, The New Pine Plains Herald reported the portal showed 413 cameras; Parisi said some are privately owned, some are leased by ARTCIC and placed on private land by agreement with owners, and some are business or private systems that share feeds with ARTCIC. (The Millerton News, Feb. 18, 2026; The New Pine Plains Herald, Aug. 28, 2026)
  3. Aug. 18, 2026 After the landowner asked, the DA's office and Sheriff's Office told Flock to remove a county network camera on private land on Route 82 in Pine Plains, per the DA. (The New Pine Plains Herald, Aug. 28, 2026)
  4. Sept. 23, 2026 More than 100 residents attended a county forum in Pleasant Valley with the sheriff and DA, hosted by Legislator Eric Alexander, and speakers asked for the cameras to come down. (The Millerton News, Sept. 29, 2026)
  5. Sept. 25, 2026 Sheriff Kirk Imperati and DA Parisi said they no longer supported using Flock readers; the cameras stopped collecting data and were to be removed within about 30 days. County Executive Sue Serino backed the decision. (The Millerton News, Sept. 29, 2026; The Millerton News, Oct. 13, 2026)
  6. Oct. 8, 2026 The legislature's Public Safety Committee voted 12-0 for a resolution to cover the county's 65 Flock cameras with opaque material if they are still up after the Oct. 25 removal deadline. The resolution needs the county executive's approval. (Spectrum News, Oct. 9, 2026)
  7. Oct. 13, 2026 The Millerton News reported the full legislature advanced the covering resolution unanimously; it applies to all county-contracted cameras, including those on private land. (The Millerton News, Oct. 13, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Status is ended because the sheriff and DA announced the program's end and deactivation on Sept. 25, 2026. Physical removal was due by Oct. 25, 2026 and was not confirmed as of Oct. 17. No contract termination document was found.
  • The network is run jointly with the District Attorney's office (ARTCIC).
  • Millerton News (Oct. 13) is unclear on whether the full legislature had adopted the resolution or only advanced it; county executive signature not confirmed.
  • Transparency portal transparency.flocksafety.com/dutchess-county-ny-so could not be read directly (blocked).
  • The sheriff and district attorney announced the network was deactivated Sept. 25, 2026, with removal due by Oct. 25. No contract termination or completed removal has been confirmed.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Town of Pine Plains Police Department

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Planned town cameras were never installed, per The Millerton News. A separate county-network camera on Route 82 was not the town's.
Contract
Flock Safety: $80,000 contract value as reported; term not stated · from Feb. 2025 · Signed by a member of the police department in February 2025 without Town Board approval, per the town supervisor; later voided/canceled. (The Millerton News, Feb. 18, 2026; The Millerton News, Sept. 1, 2026; The New Pine Plains Herald, Aug. 28, 2026)
  1. 2026 The town canceled the roughly $80,000 Flock agreement and adopted new oversight requirements; the sergeant involved has retired, per local reporting. The cancellation date was not stated. (The Millerton News, Sept. 1, 2026; The New Pine Plains Herald, Aug. 28, 2026)
  2. Feb. 9, 2026 At an emergency meeting called after residents found survey markings, Town Supervisor Brian Walsh said a police department member signed a Flock contract in February 2025 without the Town Board's knowledge or authorization. Officials said installation was halted and the project would not proceed. (The Millerton News, Feb. 18, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Added as an agency that made news; Pine Plains is not among the county's largest cities.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. Jan. 2011 DCJS published suggested guidelines for operating license plate readers, written with an LPR advisory panel. They are advisory: agencies are urged to build their own protocols from them, and the model policy leaves the retention period blank for each agency to fill in. The document does not describe a state repository for scan data. (New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services, Jan. 2011)
  2. Sept. 25, 2023 DCJS's Law Enforcement Technology (LETECH) request for applications listed fixed and mobile license plate readers as eligible purchases for agencies outside New York City. It set no LPR-specific conditions on retention, sharing or policy; the only model policy it linked was for body-worn cameras. Program size about $50,000,000. (New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services, Sept. 25, 2023)
  3. May 13, 2024 Gov. Hochul announced $127 million in DCJS technology grants to 378 police and sheriff agencies outside New York City. License plate readers made up 22 percent of the funding, per the announcement (no dollar figure for LPRs stated). (Office of the Governor of New York, May 13, 2024)
  4. Jan. 8, 2025 A907 (Assembly, Paulin) and S963 (Senate, Hoylman-Sigal) introduced. They would have the Municipal Police Training Council write a minimum-standards ALPR policy covering uses, sharing, retention and training, to be posted by every state and local law enforcement agency. No retention period is set. A907A was amended March 4, 2026, reported April 21 and advanced to third reading April 23, 2026; the Senate site now lists S10419 as its companion. S963 has stayed in the Senate Consumer Protection Committee. Earlier versions date to 2015; the 2023-24 Assembly version passed the Assembly and died in the Senate. (New York State Senate (Open Legislation), Jan. 8, 2025; New York State Senate, Jan. 8, 2025)
  5. April 1, 2026 A10808 (Assemblymember Pamela Hunter) and its Senate companion S9890 (Sen. Michelle Hinchey, introduced April 13) introduced. They would limit government ALPR use to listed purposes, require deletion of plate data within 48 hours with exceptions, bar sharing outside New York State government except in listed cases, require a warrant for private plate data, and give a private right of action with $1,000 liquidated damages. Both remain in committee. (New York State Senate (Open Legislation), April 1, 2026; New York State Senate, April 13, 2026)
  6. May 15, 2026 S10419 (Sen. Kristen Gonzalez) introduced, a Senate version of the Municipal Police Training Council minimum-standards approach; referred to Consumer Protection. (New York State Senate, May 15, 2026)
  7. June 4, 2026 A563A (Paulin) / S10227 (Cooney) passed the Senate 60-0, having passed the Assembly Jan. 12, 2026. It requires non-law-enforcement and non-government users of ALPRs to adopt and post a policy based on a Department of State standard. It does not cover police. The legislature's site showed no delivery to the governor, signature or veto as of Oct. 17, 2026. (New York State Senate (Open Legislation), Jan. 8, 2025; New York State Senate, May 7, 2026)
  8. July 11, 2026 DCJS opened a new round of about $75 million in LETECH grants (part of a $100 million package) for agencies outside New York City, with license plate readers among eligible purchases, per Hoodline. Applications were due Sept. 2; contracts are expected to run Jan. 1, 2027 through Dec. 31, 2028. Spectrum News reported $100 million available this year. (Hoodline, July 11, 2026; Spectrum News 1, Aug. 10, 2026)
  9. Aug. 25, 2026 The Surveillance Technology Oversight Project (S.T.O.P.) and LatinoJustice PRLDEF released a report using Flock audit logs. It found New York officers had logged Flock searches with reasons such as "Immigration (civil/administrative)" or "Wanted by ICE." Nassau County police, Beacon, Glen Cove and Cheektowaga were named for explicit immigration-related searches. State Police, the New York State Intelligence Center and Lancaster police were named for search patterns the authors read as possible undisclosed immigration searches. Recommendations: a statewide 48-hour retention limit, search documentation sent to the Attorney General, searches limited to felonies, stolen vehicles and missing persons, and no sharing with ICE. (StateScoop, Aug. 25, 2026; Surveillance Technology Oversight Project and LatinoJustice PRLDEF, date not shown)
  10. Aug. 25, 2026 StateScoop reported that the state budget's Local Cops, Local Crimes Act bars local police from formal or informal arrangements to help federal immigration enforcement. It does not name license plate readers; the report's authors argue Flock searches done for ICE could fall under it. The S.T.O.P. report says the Attorney General's Office of Immigrant Trust enforces the law. (StateScoop, Aug. 25, 2026; Surveillance Technology Oversight Project and LatinoJustice PRLDEF, date not shown)
  11. Sept. 15, 2026 WCAX reported that New York has no state law governing ALPR use. North Country legislators from both parties (Assemblyman Michael Cashman, Sen. Dan Stec) said rules are needed. (WCAX, Sept. 15, 2026)
  12. Oct. 5, 2026 Sen. Chuck Schumer sent Flock Safety a letter asking who can search its network, how much vehicle data it holds and what prevents misuse, with answers requested by Oct. 16. No New York agency was named. (FingerLakes1.com, Oct. 5, 2026)

State agencies

New York State Police

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No camera count found; the only record is search activity on Flock's network
  1. March 24, 2025 Per Flock audit logs cited by S.T.O.P./LatinoJustice and StateScoop, a search at the New York State fusion center labeled with a DHS agent reference was followed about an hour later by a State Police officer's search of the same plate, logged as "Investigation." (StateScoop, Aug. 25, 2026; Surveillance Technology Oversight Project and LatinoJustice PRLDEF, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Shows State Police users can search Flock's network. It does not show whether State Police own or lease ALPR cameras. No State Police ALPR policy or contract was found; FOIL needed.
  • StateScoop says Executive Order 170 bars state agencies from helping federal civil immigration enforcement, including through license plate readers.

Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.

New York State Intelligence Center (state fusion center)

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No camera count; search activity only
  1. March 24, 2025 Flock audit logs show a search at the fusion center labeled "SWB 25-03-01 DHS Agent," per StateScoop's account of the S.T.O.P. report. (StateScoop, Aug. 25, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Newburgh's police chief limited the state Crime Analysis Center's access to the city's Flock data on April 14, 2026 (see newburgh-police). The Crime Analysis Center network and the Intelligence Center are separate entities; this was not verified further.

Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.