Syracuse Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Axon, Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 26
26 Axon readers under contract; 14 went live about July 27, 2026, with 12 awaiting installation (Central Current, July 29, 2026). The earlier Flock deployment had 13 readers per Spectrum (Jan. 2026); all Flock cameras were removed by July 2026. - Contract
- Axon: $422,000 five-year total, about $422,000 (as reported by Spectrum News) · from March 1, 2026 · approved by Syracuse Common Council Feb. 2026 · 26 readers; agreement took effect March 1 per Spectrum; council approved in February per WAER (Spectrum News 1, July 23, 2026; WAER, March 24, 2026)
- Contract
- Flock Safety: 2024 contract; amount not stated · from 2024 · to March 2026 · The city ended this contract (WAER, March 24, 2026); the date of the council action is not given in that report. (WAER, March 24, 2026)
- Jan. 26, 2026 Common Council voted to remove a Flock reader at Headson Drive and Thompson Road, owned by the Town of DeWitt and on city property. Central Current had earlier reported SPD inadvertently opted into Flock's national sharing. (Spectrum News 1, Jan. 26, 2026)
- March 23, 2026 Common Council revoked the city's Flock agreement and gave Flock 60 days to remove its hardware; vote tally not reported. Councilor Jimmy Monto: "Our job is to make sure we are not tracking human beings." (Spectrum News 1, March 23, 2026; WAER, March 24, 2026; Central Current, June 19, 2026)
- June 18, 2026 Police moved to unplug the Flock readers after Flock missed the removal deadline. (Central Current, June 19, 2026)
- July 23, 2026 Spectrum reported all Flock cameras in Syracuse had been removed. (Spectrum News 1, July 23, 2026)
- July 27, 2026 Axon readers went live. CNY Central reported searches now need a report number and stated reason, with quarterly audits planned, and that Axon's public portal showed 6,903 suspended-registration hits by July 29. Assemblymember Pamela Hunter called the system "a constant, warrantless surveillance system." (Central Current, July 29, 2026; CNY Central, July 29, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- Retention period under Axon not stated in sources.
- Onondaga County Sheriff not checked.
- Some event dates here are inferred from weekday references (such as “Tuesday”) in news reports; confirm from meeting records.
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.