Schenectady Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Axon
- Cameras
- 14
14 new Axon Outpost readers installed Aug. 10-12, 2026, per WNYT; total network size not stated
- Aug. 14, 2026 Police said the new readers are Axon, not Flock. Data is kept 90 days and shared with the Capital Region Crime Analysis Center and Schenectady County law enforcement, and use will be audited. (WNYT, Aug. 14, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- Cost not stated. Schenectady County Sheriff not checked.
- Some event dates here are inferred from weekday references (such as “Tuesday”) in news reports; confirm from meeting records.
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.