Data center project · Shelby County, Ohio
AWS Sidney data center campus
Approved · Amazon's planned seven-building campus on Sidney's south side won a long-term property tax exemption from the city in October 2025 and has begun early site work. Also known as: Project Galaxy.
- Status
- Approved · as of Oct. 5, 2026
- Approved by
- Sidney City Council (Ohio)
30-year, 100% tax abatement for Amazon Data Services, paired with $50 million in payments in lieu of taxes, Oct. 2025
The city says the Sidney City School District Board of Education approved the abatement first and council gave final approval. Vote count not reported. (WHIO, Oct. 29, 2025; DatacenterDynamics, Oct. 31, 2025; City of Sidney, Oct. 5, 2026) - Approved by
- Sidney City Council (Ohio)
Water and sewer service agreement and infrastructure development agreement (Resolutions 26-26 and 27-26), 2026
The exact dates were not given on the page opened. The site plan is reviewed administratively by the Zoning Code Administrator (Community Development Director) and was still under staff review; the Planning Commission does not review it. (City of Sidney, Oct. 5, 2026) - Location
- North side of Millcreek Road, west of Vandemark Road, Sidney · Shelby County
- Status note
- City incentive, utility and infrastructure agreements are approved; the site plan was still under city staff review and early site work (tree clearing, test pits) had begun in March 2026.
- Power
- Not reported
No power figure published by the city. - Investment
- $3 billion (city and company figure); seven buildings in phases over about four years
- Developer and team
- Amazon Web Services
- End user
- Amazon Web Services
- Utility
- AES Ohio; Amazon says it will fund needed transmission and distribution work
- Water
- City water, capped at 1.0 million gallons per day; the city estimates about 4.6 million gallons a year and Amazon about 5 million
- Incentives
- Community Reinvestment Area exemption from Sidney City Council: 30 years per building, none past tax year 2065; $50 million in payments in lieu of taxes over 15 years, split $25 million to the city and $25 million to Sidney City Schools; Amazon to contribute up to $8 million toward Millcreek Road reconstruction
- Evidence
- Primary public records
- Size class
- Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Updates, newest first
- Sept. 17, 2026 A $100,000 community fund tied to the project opened with the Community Foundation of Shelby County. (City of Sidney, Oct. 5, 2026)
- April 27, 2026 City presented the water and sewer service agreement; council later approved it and an infrastructure development agreement (Resolutions 26-26 and 27-26). (City of Sidney, Oct. 5, 2026)
- March 2026 Tree clearing and test-pit work started on the site, according to the city. (City of Sidney, Oct. 5, 2026)
- Oct. 31, 2025 Sidney City Council approved the incentive agreements, including a 30-year, 100% abatement paired with $50 million in payments in lieu of taxes; a residents' watch group had formed in opposition. (DatacenterDynamics, Oct. 31, 2025; City of Sidney, Oct. 5, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- The council vote date and tally for Resolutions 80-25 to 82-25 are not shown on the city FAQ; the Oct. 31, 2025 date is the reporting date.
- Acreage was not given in the sources opened.
Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.