Data center project · Marion County, Indiana

Sabey Data Centers Decatur Township campus

Approved · The Metropolitan Development Commission approved Sabey's $4 billion, 130-acre campus in Decatur Township over months of objections from nearby residents.

← Indiana data centers
Adams CountyAllen CountyBartholomew CountyBenton CountyBlackford CountyBoone CountyBrown CountyCarroll CountyCass CountyClark CountyClay CountyClinton CountyCrawford CountyDaviess CountyDearborn CountyDecatur CountyDeKalb CountyDelaware CountyDubois CountyElkhart CountyFayette CountyFloyd CountyFountain CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGibson CountyGrant CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHarrison CountyHendricks CountyHenry CountyHoward CountyHuntington CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJay CountyJefferson CountyJennings CountyJohnson CountyKnox CountyKosciusko CountyLaGrange CountyLake CountyLaPorte CountyLawrence CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMiami CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyNewton CountyNoble CountyOhio CountyOrange CountyOwen CountyParke CountyPerry CountyPike CountyPorter CountyPosey CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyRandolph CountyRipley CountyRush CountyScott CountyShelby CountySpencer CountySt. Joseph CountyStarke CountySteuben CountySullivan CountySwitzerland CountyTippecanoe CountyTipton CountyUnion CountyVanderburgh CountyVermillion CountyVigo CountyWabash CountyWarren CountyWarrick CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWells CountyWhite CountyWhitley CountySabey Data Centers Decatur Township campus · Approved
Status
Approved · as of March 18, 2026
Approved by
Indianapolis Metropolitan Development Commission
Variances for a $4 billion, 130-acre data center campus in Decatur Township, March 18, 2026
Because the petition sought variances rather than a rezoning, the City-County Council could not call it down. Vote count not reported. (WFYI (Indiana Public Media), March 19, 2026; WRTV, April 3, 2026)
Location
Decatur Township, near Kentucky Avenue and Camby Road, southwest Indianapolis · Marion County
Floor area
1,000,000 sq ft
Land
130 acres
Investment
$4 billion
Developer and team
Sabey Data Centers
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.

Updates, newest first

  1. Aug. 19, 2026 The project is exempt from Indianapolis's new data center moratorium because it was already approved. (Mirror Indy, Aug. 19, 2026)
  2. March 18, 2026 The Metropolitan Development Commission approves variances for the campus. Because it came as variances rather than a rezoning, the council could not call it down. (WFYI (Indiana Public Media), March 19, 2026; WRTV, April 3, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The 1 million sq ft figure is WRTV's 'more than 1 million square feet'.
  • MW not disclosed. A Mirror Indy story on a Sabey tax abatement could not be loaded (rate-limited), so abatement details were not verified.

Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.