License-plate readers · Cook County

Cook County

Using license-plate readers · 13 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Adams CountyAlexander CountyBond CountyBoone CountyBrown CountyBureau CountyCalhoun CountyCarroll CountyCass CountyChampaign CountyChristian CountyClark CountyClay CountyClinton CountyColes CountyCook CountyCrawford CountyCumberland CountyDe Witt CountyDeKalb CountyDouglas CountyDuPage CountyEdgar CountyEdwards CountyEffingham CountyFayette CountyFord CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGallatin CountyGreene CountyGrundy CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHardin CountyHenderson CountyHenry CountyIroquois CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJersey CountyJo Daviess CountyJohnson CountyKane CountyKankakee CountyKendall CountyKnox CountyLake CountyLaSalle CountyLawrence CountyLee CountyLivingston CountyLogan CountyMacon CountyMacoupin CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMason CountyMassac CountyMcDonough CountyMcHenry CountyMcLean CountyMenard CountyMercer CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyMoultrie CountyOgle CountyPeoria CountyPerry CountyPiatt CountyPike CountyPope CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyRandolph CountyRichland CountyRock Island CountySaline CountySangamon CountySchuyler CountyScott CountyShelby CountySt. Clair CountyStark CountyStephenson CountyTazewell CountyUnion CountyVermilion CountyWabash CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWhite CountyWhiteside CountyWill CountyWilliamson CountyWinnebago CountyWoodford County

Chicago Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Motorola Solutions
Cameras
433
433 active readers, fixed and on patrol cars, as of April 2022 (Sun-Times); no newer count found.
Contract
Motorola Solutions: $500,000 · from Jan. 2015 · approved by Chicago Public Building Commission Jan. 2015 · Vigilant Solutions (now Motorola Solutions) license plate recognition software and database services, listed under OEMC; In These Times, Feb. 2015. (In These Times, Feb. 20, 2015)
  1. Jan. 8, 2019 CPD showed the first of 200 new squad cars with plate readers, aiming for six per district; about 40 cars had them at the time. (NBC Chicago, Jan. 8, 2019)
  2. April 20, 2022 The Sun-Times reported 433 active CPD readers, about 200 million plates logged in 2019, more than $723,000 paid to Vigilant for software and database access in 2019 and 2020, and a 2020 policy deleting data after 365 days unless tied to a crime. (Chicago Sun-Times, April 20, 2022)
  3. Aug. 27, 2026 A CPD spokesperson said the department has no active Flock contract; the Sun-Times reported CPD has used plate readers since at least 2006 and keeps data for one year. (Chicago Sun-Times, Aug. 27, 2026)
  4. Sept. 23, 2026 Ald. Matthew Martin (47th) introduced an order asking the city's public safety administration to audit every vendor supplying plate readers to the city for TRUST Act compliance; it was referred to committee. (Chicago City Council (via Chicago Councilmatic), Sept. 23, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Sun-Times reported in August 2026 that Motorola Solutions has supplied plate readers to CPD; Vigilant (now part of Motorola) also provided software and database access.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Cook County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
71
71 deployed as of May 2026; the approved expansion brings the total to 145.
Contract
Flock Safety: · from 2022 · Emergency contract with Flock Group that began with 25 cameras. (Chicago Tribune (via GovTech), May 14, 2026)
Contract
Flock Safety: $900,000 · from May 1, 2026 · to April 30, 2028 · approved by Cook County Board of Commissioners May 14, 2026 · Contract no. 2517-03181 with Insight Public Sector, which buys Flock services through a national purchasing cooperative; runs May 1, 2026 to April 30, 2028 with two one-year renewal options. The full board approved it May 14, 2026. The 13-3 vote, with Vasquez, Anaya and Stamps opposed, came in the Criminal Justice Committee on May 13. (Chicago Tribune (via GovTech), May 14, 2026; Cook County (Legistar), May 14, 2026)
  1. Sept. 16, 2015 CBS Chicago reported nine sheriff's cars carried plate readers, in use for five years, at about $3,000 to $6,000 per camera. (CBS Chicago, Sept. 16, 2015)
  2. May 14, 2026 The county board approved Sheriff Tom Dart's plate-reader expansion; his office cited a 30-day deletion policy and said 210 agencies can reach its data. (Chicago Tribune (via GovTech), May 14, 2026; Cook County (Legistar), May 14, 2026)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Evanston Police Department

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
19
19 Flock cameras before deactivation.
Contract
Flock Safety: · to Sept. 26, 2025 · Termination notice sent; effective Sept. 26, 2025. (City of Evanston, Aug. 26, 2025)
  1. 2025 The city covered its Flock cameras with bags late in 2025 while waiting for the company to remove them, per 404 Media. (404 Media, May 28, 2026)
  2. Aug. 26, 2025 The city switched off all 19 Flock cameras, citing the Secretary of State audit, and sent Flock a termination notice effective Sept. 26, 2025. (City of Evanston, Aug. 26, 2025)

From agency records.

Oak Park Police Department

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
8
Eight Flock cameras.
Contract
Flock Safety: · from June 2024 · to Aug. 6, 2025 · approved by Oak Park Village Board June 4, 2024 · Two-year renewal approved 4-3; canceled Aug. 5, 2025. (Wednesday Journal, June 5, 2024; Wednesday Journal, Aug. 7, 2025)
  1. May 20, 2025 A Citizen Police Oversight Committee report covering the second half of 2024 counted 2 stops from Flock data (4 arrests, 2 guns recovered) and searches on 48 incidents; cameras in use since 2022. (Wednesday Journal, May 20, 2025)
  2. Aug. 5, 2025 The village board voted to cancel the Flock contract, rejecting a 90-day pause; cameras stopped recording at 6:43 p.m. on Aug. 6. (Wednesday Journal, Aug. 7, 2025)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Arlington Heights Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
35
35 fixed Flock cameras (March 2026).
Contract
Flock Safety: $110,843 two years · to 2027 · approved by Arlington Heights Village Board March 2, 2026 · Two-year renewal through summer 2027, with penalties of $22,000 to $70,000 per incident of unauthorized access or disclosure by Flock, retroactive to May-June 2025. Unanimous. (Daily Herald, March 2, 2026)
  1. June 2025 Police turned off outside agencies' access to village Flock data after the Mount Prospect findings; the village said its data was included in a statewide search. (Daily Herald, June 17, 2025)
  2. March 2026 A police official told the board officers ran about 1,200 searches and received nearly 31,000 alerts in one recent month. (Daily Herald, Aug. 2, 2026)
  3. March 2, 2026 Trustees unanimously approved the renewal with financial penalties for data misuse, which the Daily Herald called a first in Illinois. (Daily Herald, March 2, 2026)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Mount Prospect Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
24
23 fixed cameras and 1 portable camera at the 2023 approval; no later count found.
Contract
Flock Safety: · from March 2023 · approved by Mount Prospect Village Board March 21, 2023 · Two-year agreement, approved unanimously; first-year costs paid from federal asset seizure funds. (Village of Mount Prospect Police Department, March 30, 2023; Village of Mount Prospect, date not shown)
  1. March 21, 2023 The village board approved a two-year Flock agreement for 23 fixed and 1 portable camera, with 30-day data retention. (Village of Mount Prospect Police Department, March 30, 2023)
  2. June 2025 Police opted out of Flock's National Lookup, canceled sharing with agencies that broke Illinois law, and cut off all out-of-state agencies. (Village of Mount Prospect, date not shown; Daily Herald, June 17, 2025)
  3. June 11, 2025 A Secretary of State audit of village data found a May 9, 2025 search by a Johnson County, Texas, sheriff's office and 262 nationwide searches citing immigration. The village says the plate was not found on its cameras and no village data went to Texas. (Village of Mount Prospect, date not shown; Associated Press (via 6abc), June 13, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Current use inferred from the village's portal describing ongoing restricted in-state sharing.

From agency records.

Rolling Meadows Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No count found.
  1. Aug. 25, 2026 The city scheduled a public session on its Flock cameras, with the council to decide later whether to keep them or end the contract. (Daily Herald, Aug. 19, 2026; Daily Herald, July 30, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Outcome of the council decision not found.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Park Ridge Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
8
Eight cameras at the 2023 purchase.
Contract
Flock Safety: $23,000 · from 2023 · approved by Park Ridge City Council (Committee of the Whole) Feb. 21, 2023 · Committee approval; a later council vote was expected. (Chicago Tribune (via GovTech), Feb. 28, 2023)
Contract
Flock Safety: $24,000 · from July 2026 · Renewal reported by the Sun-Times. (Chicago Sun-Times, Aug. 27, 2026)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Harvey Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No count found.
  1. July 2026 Harvey announced a partnership with Flock covering plate readers, gunshot detection and video cameras. (Chicago Sun-Times, Aug. 27, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Contract amount and approval not found; status based on announcement.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Forest Park Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Motorola Solutions
Cameras
Count not documented
No count found.
  1. April 5, 2024 A detective accepted more than 200 data-sharing requests, which later gave federal immigration authorities access to the department's plate data, according to the village. (Forest Park Review, Sept. 5, 2025)
  2. Sept. 5, 2025 The Secretary of State reported the sharing; Motorola Solutions shut off the access and the village said it would review its protocols. (Forest Park Review, Sept. 5, 2025; Chicago Sun-Times, Aug. 27, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Forest Park Review refers to ICE in one place and CBP in another; the Sun-Times says CBP.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Des Plaines Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
10
10 cameras in the 2023 plan.
Contract
Flock Safety: $61,300 · from 2023 · approved by Des Plaines City Council Feb. 2023 · Two-year test program; approved at a Tuesday meeting before a Feb. 22, 2023 report. (Daily Herald, Feb. 22, 2023)
  1. Feb. 2023 The council approved 10 Flock cameras for a two-year trial; data kept 30 days and not used for traffic enforcement. (Daily Herald, Feb. 22, 2023)
Conflicts and open questions
  • No source found on renewal after the two-year trial.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Oak Lawn Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
42
40 stationary and 2 mobile readers (July 2022).
  1. July 19, 2022 Police said they would install 40 stationary and two mobile readers paid for with seized drug money. (FOX 32 Chicago, July 19, 2022)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

North Riverside Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
7
Seven Falcon cameras.
Contract
Flock Safety: $24,950 upfront; $19,700 year (subscription) · from 2022 · approved by North Riverside Village Board Oct. 3, 2022 · Unanimous; formal RFP waived. (Riverside-Brookfield Landmark, Oct. 11, 2022)

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. Jan. 1, 2020 The Tamara Clayton Expressway Camera Act took effect, creating the Illinois State Police plate-reader program on Cook County expressways. It is named for a woman shot on I-57 near Cicero Avenue on Feb. 4, 2019. (Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026)
  2. June 6, 2022 Gov. JB Pritzker signed an extension of the expressway camera program; the state police page lists $20 million from the IDOT Road Fund tied to that extension. (Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026)
  3. Aug. 11, 2023 Gov. Pritzker approved HB 3326 (Public Act 103-0540), effective Jan. 1, 2024. It bars plate-reader users from sharing data with any jurisdiction to investigate or enforce laws restricting reproductive or other lawful health care or allowing detention based on immigration status, requires out-of-state police to sign a written declaration before getting Illinois plate data, and treats the data as confidential. Capitol News Illinois reported the law sets no specific penalties. (Illinois General Assembly, Aug. 11, 2023; Capitol News Illinois, Aug. 27, 2025)
  4. March 2025 U.S. District Judge Martha Pacold dismissed Scholl v. Illinois State Police, a suit by two Cook County residents filed in late May 2024 against the state police, the governor and the attorney general, finding the expressway plate readers do not trigger Fourth Amendment scrutiny. (Date: the Monday before an April 4, 2025 report.) (WBEZ / Chicago Sun-Times, June 3, 2024; Chicago Sun-Times (via NPR Illinois), April 4, 2025)
  5. June 11, 2025 The Secretary of State's office met with Mount Prospect police and audited the village's Flock data, finding a May 9, 2025 nationwide search by a Johnson County, Texas, sheriff's office and 262 searches citing immigration between mid-January and April 2025. (Village of Mount Prospect, date not shown; Associated Press (via 6abc), June 13, 2025)
  6. June 12, 2025 Secretary of State Alexi Giannoulias asked the attorney general to review the Mount Prospect case and announced an audit system for compliance with the 2023 law. At his request Flock blocked 62 out-of-state agencies and began flagging 'abortion' and 'immigration' in search requests. (Associated Press (via 6abc), June 13, 2025)
  7. June 30, 2025 HB 3339 was signed, adding Lee, Ogle and Whiteside to the 20 counties already authorized for state police expressway cameras, allowing use in human-trafficking and involuntary-servitude investigations, and exempting camera images from FOIA. It took effect immediately. (Illinois Senate Democratic Caucus, June 30, 2025; Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026)
  8. Aug. 25, 2025 Giannoulias said an audit of a sample of 12 law enforcement agencies found Flock lacked proper data-sharing safeguards and had run a pilot giving U.S. Customs and Border Protection access to Illinois camera data. He ordered Flock to cut off that access; Flock paused its federal pilot programs nationwide. (NBC Chicago, Aug. 25, 2025; Capitol News Illinois, Aug. 27, 2025)
  9. Aug. 27, 2025 Capitol News Illinois counted about 90 Illinois police departments confirmed as Flock users; disclosures from 14 of them listed more than 461 Illinois agencies and 551 out-of-state agencies with access to their data. (Capitol News Illinois, Aug. 27, 2025)
  10. Sept. 5, 2025 Giannoulias reported that an audit found Forest Park police plate data from Motorola Solutions readers had been shared with federal immigration authorities, and directed Motorola to turn off sharing with federal agencies. (Forest Park Review, Sept. 5, 2025)
  11. Feb. 10, 2026 Rep. Kelly Cassidy introduced HB 5151, the Automated License Plate Recognition System Act, later sponsored by Rep. Nicolle Grasse. It would require police to delete plate data not tied to an investigation, court order or case within three days and would bar using the data to track people at protests, people seeking lawful health care, or for immigration enforcement. (Shaw Local, May 29, 2026)
  12. Sept. 29, 2026 A Seventh Circuit panel (Chief Judge Michael Brennan, Judges Rebecca Taibleson and Amy St. Eve) heard the appeal in the Scholl case. (Courthouse News Service, Sept. 29, 2026)

State agencies

Illinois State Police

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Motorola Solutions, Flock Safety
Cameras
808
808 installed statewide per the ISP transparency page (2026); Courthouse News reported 807, including 402 in Cook County (Sept. 2026). The state police pay Flock for access to its network but run no Flock cameras.
Contract
Motorola Solutions: · from June 28, 2024 · to Dec. 15, 2027 · approved by Illinois State Police June 28, 2024 · Motorola Solutions is the primary vendor (Vehicle Manager system); contract value not stated on the page. (Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026)
Contract
Flock Safety: about $50,000 year · Access to Flock data only; ISP operates no Flock cameras and shares no data with Flock, per Capitol News Illinois. (Capitol News Illinois, Aug. 27, 2025)
  1. Dec. 14, 2022 ISP and IDOT signed an intergovernmental agreement providing $22.5 million from the IDOT Road Fund; about 300 cameras were on Cook County expressways by December 2022. (Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026)
  2. June 30, 2025 FY2025 annual report: 160 cameras installed during the year (largest share, 54, in Peoria County); 2,759,896,140 detections, 75,760,878 hits and 469,787 inquiries. (Illinois State Police, 2025)
  3. July 2025 At least one site installed in each of the 21 counties named in law, per the ISP transparency page. (Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026)
  4. Feb. 2026 About $10.6 million appropriated for new installations in Bureau, Champaign, Grundy, Henry, Kendall, LaSalle, Madison, Rock Island and Winnebago counties. (Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026)
  5. June 30, 2026 FY2026 annual report: 190 cameras installed during the year (48 in Cook County), 3.38 billion detections, 94.8 million hits and 958,482 investigative searches; Cook County installation cost $1,710,529.00 and annual maintenance $531,552.31. (Illinois State Police, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Data kept up to 90 days, then deleted automatically (ISP transparency page).
  • ISP says sharing with federal agencies such as the FBI and HSI was previously in place and has been removed.
  • FY2026 report end date assumed as end of state fiscal year (June 30, 2026); the document states no period dates.
  • Flock is listed as a vendor only because ISP buys access to Flock's network (about $50,000 a year); ISP runs no Flock cameras (Capitol News Illinois).

From agency records.

Illinois State Toll Highway Authority

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
22
12 in Cook County and 10 in Winnebago County under the expressway camera program; no new installations reported in 2025-2026.
  1. 2022 The Tollway, working with ISP but outside the IDOT grant, installed 12 plate-reader cameras in Cook County and 10 in Winnebago County. ISP reports show no Tollway additions since December 2022. (Date inferred; the sources give no install date.) (Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 2026; Illinois State Police, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Listed on the ISP transparency page and in the FY2026 report (0 new installations). Whether the cameras remain in service is not stated.

From agency records.