CyrusOne Sangamon County data center
A roughly 600 MW, $500 million CyrusOne campus on 280 acres of farmland southwest of Springfield, approved 17-10 by the Sangamon County Board and challenged in court by neighbors. Also known as: CyrusOne Talkington Township.
Who is behind it
The record, newest first
A hearing on the motion to dismiss was postponed; property records still showed no sale of the 280 acres. (Illinois Times, Oct. 9, 2026)
The county defended the approval in court, arguing the suit should be dismissed with prejudice. (Illinois Times, Sept. 22, 2026)
Nearby residents sued the county and County Board to overturn the approval; CyrusOne is named as a necessary party. (Illinois Times, July 16, 2026)
CyrusOne signed a state incentive MOU with DCEO requiring at least $500 million in investment, as reported. (Illinois Times, July 16, 2026)
The County Board approved the zoning request 17-10 with one abstention. (NPR Illinois, April 7, 2026; Data Center Dynamics, April 9, 2026)
The County Board voted 15-13 to table the conditional use permit after public comment. (NPR Illinois (via Northern Public Radio), March 23, 2026)
The County Board chair postponed zoning action so residents could learn more; the local Sierra Club chapter asked for a 180-day moratorium. (NPR Illinois, Nov. 4, 2025)
Plans for a CyrusOne campus of up to six buildings on 280 acres in Talkington Township became public, with construction targeted for 2026. (Illinois Times, Oct. 17, 2025)
The Sangamon County Board unanimously changed its zoning code to allow data centers as a conditional use in agricultural districts. (Illinois Times, Oct. 17, 2025; Illinois Times, July 16, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- Building counts differ: six 250,000 sq ft buildings (Illinois Times, Oct. 2025) vs. four buildings of about 450,000 sq ft (Illinois Times, June 2026; DCD also gives four). sqft left empty.
- Coordinates approximate, placed near Thayer and Clark roads about 14 miles southwest of Springfield.
- Evidence is reported: several outlets, but no county resolution or DCEO record was opened. The circuit case number was not stated in the articles opened.
- An Aug. 2025 electric will-serve letter from the Rural Electric Convenience Cooperative named Diamond Core Datacenter rather than CyrusOne; Diamond Core had signed a 2024 letter of intent for the same land. Whether CyrusOne took over that option is unclear (Illinois Times, Oct. 9, 2026).
The full record
- Status note
- Conditional use approved by the County Board; a resident lawsuit seeking to overturn it is pending in circuit court, and county records showed the land still unsold as of Oct. 9, 2026.
- Power note
- Reported as about 600 MW at full buildout (Illinois Times, NPR Illinois); later reports give about 630 MW (Illinois Times) and up to 634 MW (DCD). Total power at buildout, not stated as IT load.
- Evidence
- News reports; primary records not yet obtained
- Size class
- 50 MW or more (tracker scope)