Data center campus · Yorkville; northwest of Illinois Route 47 and Galena Road, south of Baseline Road, east of Ashe Road, Kendall County, Illinois

Project Cardinal

Approved as of Nov. 10, 2025

Pioneer Development's 14-building, roughly 1,037-acre data center campus on Yorkville's north side was approved by the city council in November 2025 and is being challenged in two lawsuits.

Cite← Illinois data centers
Adams CountyAlexander CountyBond CountyBoone CountyBrown CountyBureau CountyCalhoun CountyCarroll CountyCass CountyChampaign CountyChristian CountyClark CountyClay CountyClinton CountyColes CountyCook CountyCrawford CountyCumberland CountyDe Witt CountyDeKalb CountyDouglas CountyDuPage CountyEdgar CountyEdwards CountyEffingham CountyFayette CountyFord CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGallatin CountyGreene CountyGrundy CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHardin CountyHenderson CountyHenry CountyIroquois CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJersey CountyJo Daviess CountyJohnson CountyKane CountyKankakee CountyKendall CountyKnox CountyLake CountyLaSalle CountyLawrence CountyLee CountyLivingston CountyLogan CountyMacon CountyMacoupin CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMason CountyMassac CountyMcDonough CountyMcHenry CountyMcLean CountyMenard CountyMercer CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyMoultrie CountyOgle CountyPeoria CountyPerry CountyPiatt CountyPike CountyPope CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyRandolph CountyRichland CountyRock Island CountySaline CountySangamon CountySchuyler CountyScott CountyShelby CountySt. Clair CountyStark CountyStephenson CountyTazewell CountyUnion CountyVermilion CountyWabash CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWhite CountyWhiteside CountyWill CountyWilliamson CountyWinnebago CountyWoodford CountyProject Cardinal · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area1.7e+07sq ft
Site1,037acres

Who is behind it

ProjectProject Cardinal
Developer and teamPioneer Development, LLC
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. A neighbors' group, Preserve Our Yorkville & Community LLC, filed a second suit in Kendall County court (reported April 29) contending the rezoning was unreasonable and raising procedural objections about how information was made available to nearby residents. (WSPY News, April 29, 2026)

  2. The city council unanimously approved the planned unit development for 14 two-story data center buildings on about 1,037 acres. (Shaw Local (Kendall County Now), Nov. 14, 2025)

  3. A neighboring homeowner sued in Kendall County court, arguing the rezoning conflicted with the city's comprehensive plan, which designates the area for residential use; the developer's attorney later reported a tentative agreement with the city, but the case remained open in May 2026. (WSPY News, undated; WSPY News, undated; WSPY News, May 14, 2026)

  4. The city council tabled its vote on the project. (Shaw Local (Kendall County Now), Nov. 14, 2025)

  5. The Yorkville City Council held and closed the public hearing on the annexation agreement for the campus (case PZC 2025-08). (United City of Yorkville, June 10, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The city file lists 14 buildings totaling more than 17 million sq ft, two substations and a switchyard.
  • Shaw Local reports developer projections of $35 million to $70 million a year in school property taxes at full build-out; these are developer projections, not records.
  • Coordinates are approximate, from the road boundaries in the city case file.
  • The first suit's filing month is inferred: WSPY's undated article refers to the Nov. 10, 2025 vote and says the suit was filed the previous week.

The full record

Status note
Approved by the city council in November 2025; two lawsuits challenging the rezoning were still pending in Kendall County court as of May 2026.
Power note
The city case file lists two substations and a utility switchyard but no megawatt figure.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.