Data center campus · Yorkville; south of Galena Road, west of Eldamain Road, Kendall County, Illinois

Project Steel

Approved as of March 24, 2026

The Yorkville City Council approved annexation, a planned unit development and a development agreement for a 16-building, 550-acre data center campus called Project Steel in March 2026.

Cite← Illinois data centers
Adams CountyAlexander CountyBond CountyBoone CountyBrown CountyBureau CountyCalhoun CountyCarroll CountyCass CountyChampaign CountyChristian CountyClark CountyClay CountyClinton CountyColes CountyCook CountyCrawford CountyCumberland CountyDe Witt CountyDeKalb CountyDouglas CountyDuPage CountyEdgar CountyEdwards CountyEffingham CountyFayette CountyFord CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGallatin CountyGreene CountyGrundy CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHardin CountyHenderson CountyHenry CountyIroquois CountyJackson CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJersey CountyJo Daviess CountyJohnson CountyKane CountyKankakee CountyKendall CountyKnox CountyLake CountyLaSalle CountyLawrence CountyLee CountyLivingston CountyLogan CountyMacon CountyMacoupin CountyMadison CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMason CountyMassac CountyMcDonough CountyMcHenry CountyMcLean CountyMenard CountyMercer CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyMoultrie CountyOgle CountyPeoria CountyPerry CountyPiatt CountyPike CountyPope CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyRandolph CountyRichland CountyRock Island CountySaline CountySangamon CountySchuyler CountyScott CountyShelby CountySt. Clair CountyStark CountyStephenson CountyTazewell CountyUnion CountyVermilion CountyWabash CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWhite CountyWhiteside CountyWill CountyWilliamson CountyWinnebago CountyWoodford CountyProject Steel · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site550acres

Who is behind it

ProjectProject Steel
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The city council approved annexation, the planned unit development and the development agreement over at least one alderman's no vote. (WSPY News, March 25, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • WSPY does not name the developer; the vote date is inferred from the article's reference to a Tuesday meeting before its March 25, 2026 publication.
  • Coordinates approximate, from the reported road boundaries.

The full record

Power note
No megawatt figure reported.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.