Data center project · Johnson County, Kansas

Project Pilot (Beale Infrastructure), De Soto

Under construction · A four-building campus under construction in De Soto that grew from 1.14 million to about 2.9 million square feet after its 2025 city approval. Also known as: Project Pilot, Mount Sunflower Properties.

← Kansas data centers
Allen CountyAnderson CountyAtchison CountyBarber CountyBarton CountyBourbon CountyBrown CountyButler CountyChase CountyChautauqua CountyCherokee CountyCheyenne CountyClark CountyClay CountyCloud CountyCoffey CountyComanche CountyCowley CountyCrawford CountyDecatur CountyDickinson CountyDoniphan CountyDouglas CountyEdwards CountyElk CountyEllis CountyEllsworth CountyFinney CountyFord CountyFranklin CountyGeary CountyGove CountyGraham CountyGrant CountyGray CountyGreeley CountyGreenwood CountyHamilton CountyHarper CountyHarvey CountyHaskell CountyHodgeman CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJewell CountyJohnson CountyKearny CountyKingman CountyKiowa CountyLabette CountyLane CountyLeavenworth CountyLincoln CountyLinn CountyLogan CountyLyon CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMcPherson CountyMeade CountyMiami CountyMitchell CountyMontgomery CountyMorris CountyMorton CountyNemaha CountyNeosho CountyNess CountyNorton CountyOsage CountyOsborne CountyOttawa CountyPawnee CountyPhillips CountyPottawatomie CountyPratt CountyRawlins CountyReno CountyRepublic CountyRice CountyRiley CountyRooks CountyRush CountyRussell CountySaline CountyScott CountySedgwick CountySeward CountyShawnee CountySheridan CountySherman CountySmith CountyStafford CountyStanton CountyStevens CountySumner CountyThomas CountyTrego CountyWabaunsee CountyWallace CountyWashington CountyWichita CountyWilson CountyWoodson CountyWyandotte CountyProject Pilot (Beale Infrastructure), De Soto · Under construction
Status
Under construction · as of April 2026
Location
103rd Street and Edgerton Road (northwest corner), De Soto, south of K-10 and west of the Panasonic plant · Johnson County
Status note
Construction began in April 2026; the first phase is expected to finish in 2028.
Power
Not reported
No power figure in the sources reviewed.
Floor area
2,900,000 sq ft
Land
300 acres
Investment
$700 million as reported in August 2025; about $3 billion (also reported as $3.1 billion) after the 2026 expansion
Developer and team
Beale Infrastructure (through Mount Sunflower Properties LLC)
End user
Not disclosed
Utility
Evergy, Water District No. 7 and the City of De Soto (DCD listed all three as utility providers without saying which serves what)
Water
Beale says it will use a closed-loop, air-cooled system filled once.
Incentives
City of De Soto (City Council, August 2025): industrial revenue bonds carrying property and sales tax exemptions, a development agreement and stated intent for 10-year abatements per building; the Johnson County Post reported a payment-in-lieu-of-taxes schedule tied to square footage that Beale says would yield $163 million to the city and $78 million to USD 232.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.

Updates, newest first

  1. July 23, 2026 The city administrator told KSHB the development agreement approved in August 2025 does not cap building size and the enlarged plan fit existing zoning. (KSHB 41, July 23, 2026)
  2. June 18, 2026 Beale held a public open house in De Soto as residents objected that the project had grown from the designs shown in 2025. (Johnson County Post, July 7, 2026)
  3. April 2026 Beale began construction after the planning commission approved a site plan that more than doubled the building area to about 2.9 million square feet in four buildings. (Johnson County Post, July 7, 2026)
  4. Aug. 21, 2025 The De Soto City Council approved the project with industrial revenue bonds, a development agreement and planned property tax abatements, according to trade and business press. (DatacenterDynamics, Aug. 26, 2025; Ingram's, Aug. 26, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage is reported as 290 acres (DCD, Ingram's, 2025) and 300 acres (Johnson County Post, KCUR, 2026).
  • Investment is reported as $700 million (DCD, 2025), about $3 billion (Johnson County Post, July 2026) and $3.1 billion (KCUR, May 2026; Johnson County Post, June 2026); the figures describe different project scopes.
  • Ingram's reported the IRB authorization as up to $50 billion; that ceiling was not checked against the city ordinance.
  • City council ordinance, vote count and IRB documents were not opened for this review.

Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.