Data center project · Johnson County, Kansas
Project Heartland (DAMAC Digital), Logistics Park Kansas City
Approved · A Dubai-based company's data center in an existing logistics building where data centers are a permitted use. Also known as: Project Heartland.
- Status
- Approved · as of Sept. 24, 2026
- Location
- 31800 W. 196th St., Logistics Park Kansas City, Edgerton · Johnson County
- Status note
- The council overturned the planning commission's denial of the site plan and later approved the final plat.
- Power
- Not reported
No power figure in the city record or reporting reviewed. - Land
- 54 acres
- Investment
- $700 million (KSHB) to $860 million (Johnson County Post); not stated in the city record reviewed
- Developer and team
- DAMAC Digital Solutions Kansas LLC
- Utility
- Evergy
- Water
- DAMAC told the city it will use closed-loop cooling.
- Incentives
- The city says DAMAC requested no abatement; the existing building's 10-year abatement expires in 2027 and was not extended.
- Evidence
- Primary public records
- Size class
- Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Updates, newest first
- Sept. 24, 2026 The council approved the final plat after the planning commission recommended it on Sept. 8. (City of Edgerton, Sept. 24, 2026)
- July 16, 2026 The City Council overturned the denial at a special meeting. (City of Edgerton, Sept. 24, 2026)
- June 9, 2026 The planning commission denied the final site plan after resident opposition. (City of Edgerton, Sept. 24, 2026; KSHB 41, June 10, 2026)
- May 12, 2026 The planning commission approved a preliminary plat and tabled the final site plan. (City of Edgerton, Sept. 24, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- A citizen petition to ban 'high impact' data centers in Edgerton is before the Johnson County District Court (see moratoriums).
- Investment differs between KSHB ($700 million, June 2026) and the Johnson County Post ($860 million, June 2026).
Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.