Data center campus · Apple Valley, between Flagstaff Ave., 150th St. (County Road 42), Pilot Knob Road and the planned 155th/153rd streets, Dakota County, Minnesota

Apple Valley Technology Park

Denied as of March 26, 2026

Oppidan and landowner Rockport LLC sought approval for five data center buildings totaling about 1 million sq ft on some 135 acres in Apple Valley; the city turned the plan down in early 2026. Also known as: AV Tech Park.

Cite← Minnesota data centers
Aitkin CountyAnoka CountyBecker CountyBeltrami CountyBenton CountyBig Stone CountyBlue Earth CountyBrown CountyCarlton CountyCarver CountyCass CountyChippewa CountyChisago CountyClay CountyClearwater CountyCook CountyCottonwood CountyCrow Wing CountyDakota CountyDodge CountyDouglas CountyFaribault CountyFillmore CountyFreeborn CountyGoodhue CountyGrant CountyHennepin CountyHouston CountyHubbard CountyIsanti CountyItasca CountyJackson CountyKanabec CountyKandiyohi CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLac qui Parle CountyLake CountyLake of the Woods CountyLe Sueur CountyLincoln CountyLyon CountyMahnomen CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMcLeod CountyMeeker CountyMille Lacs CountyMorrison CountyMower CountyMurray CountyNicollet CountyNobles CountyNorman CountyOlmsted CountyOtter Tail CountyPennington CountyPine CountyPipestone CountyPolk CountyPope CountyRamsey CountyRed Lake CountyRedwood CountyRenville CountyRice CountyRock CountyRoseau CountyScott CountySherburne CountySibley CountySt. Louis CountyStearns CountySteele CountyStevens CountySwift CountyTodd CountyTraverse CountyWabasha CountyWadena CountyWaseca CountyWashington CountyWatonwan CountyWilkin CountyWinona CountyWright CountyYellow Medicine CountyApple Valley Technology Park · Denied
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area1.022e+06sq ft
Site134acres

Who is behind it

ProjectApple Valley Technology ParkAlso: AV Tech Park
Developer and teamOppidan Investment Company
Rockport LLC
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The city council adopted a one-year pause on new data center proposals. (Blandin on Broadband (excerpting Sun Thisweek), July 18, 2026)

  2. Acting on the planning commission's recommendation, the council rejected the site plan, preliminary plan and conditional use permit. (DatacenterDynamics, March 30, 2026)

  3. Oppidan withdrew its rezoning application. (DatacenterDynamics, March 30, 2026)

  4. The council voted unanimously against Rockport's comprehensive plan amendment, pointing to water supply, sewer capacity and the property's role in the 2040 plan. (Sun Thisweek / Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), Jan. 26, 2026)

  5. The city held a public hearing; the plan needed a conditional use permit and a rezoning from sand and gravel to industrial. Rockport had submitted an AUAR in Dec. 2024, which the city approved. (DatacenterDynamics, Feb. 28, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage: DCD (2026) gives 134 acres; Sun Thisweek gives 135 acres on the east part of a 357-acre Rockport holding.
  • Building area: about 1,022,000 sq ft in five buildings plus about 66,000 sq ft of support structures (Sun Thisweek); DCD (2026) gives 1.05 million sq ft. DCD's 2025 story described seven buildings, five of them data centers.
  • Sun Thisweek says the comprehensive plan vote came on a Thursday before its Jan. 26, 2026 story, likely Jan. 22; the date is not stated.
  • The moratorium source is a blog excerpt of Sun Thisweek; the original Sun Thisweek page could not be opened. City records for the 2026 votes were not located; evidence is news only.

The full record

Status note
The city council denied the site plan, preliminary plan and conditional use permit after earlier denying the comprehensive plan change; the city then adopted a one-year data center moratorium.
Power note
DCD reported 250-300 MW (Mar. 2026); no record figure found.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.