Data center campus · Cannon Falls, on land north of town between U.S. 52 and Rochester Boulevard, annexed from Randolph Township, Dakota County, Minnesota

Cannon Falls Technology Park

Approved as of Nov. 5, 2025

Tract won Cannon Falls approval in Nov. 2025 for a data center campus of roughly 240-250 acres on land annexed from Randolph Township, with power from Dakota Electric and water use capped at 43 million gallons a year. Also known as: Tract Cannon Falls.

Cite← Minnesota data centers
Aitkin CountyAnoka CountyBecker CountyBeltrami CountyBenton CountyBig Stone CountyBlue Earth CountyBrown CountyCarlton CountyCarver CountyCass CountyChippewa CountyChisago CountyClay CountyClearwater CountyCook CountyCottonwood CountyCrow Wing CountyDakota CountyDodge CountyDouglas CountyFaribault CountyFillmore CountyFreeborn CountyGoodhue CountyGrant CountyHennepin CountyHouston CountyHubbard CountyIsanti CountyItasca CountyJackson CountyKanabec CountyKandiyohi CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLac qui Parle CountyLake CountyLake of the Woods CountyLe Sueur CountyLincoln CountyLyon CountyMahnomen CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMcLeod CountyMeeker CountyMille Lacs CountyMorrison CountyMower CountyMurray CountyNicollet CountyNobles CountyNorman CountyOlmsted CountyOtter Tail CountyPennington CountyPine CountyPipestone CountyPolk CountyPope CountyRamsey CountyRed Lake CountyRedwood CountyRenville CountyRice CountyRock CountyRoseau CountyScott CountySherburne CountySibley CountySt. Louis CountyStearns CountySteele CountyStevens CountySwift CountyTodd CountyTraverse CountyWabasha CountyWadena CountyWaseca CountyWashington CountyWatonwan CountyWilkin CountyWinona CountyWright CountyYellow Medicine CountyCannon Falls Technology Park · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site239acres

Who is behind it

ProjectCannon Falls Technology ParkAlso: Tract Cannon Falls
Developer and teamTract
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. A statewide tracker listed the project as ongoing, with construction expected to stretch over about 10 years. (Courier (couriermn.com), Sept. 15, 2026)

  2. Post Bulletin reported that site work was expected to start in spring 2026, with the campus running about three years after approval, and that no lawsuit had been filed. (Post Bulletin, undated)

  3. With the full council present, members voted 4-2 on the conditional use permit again, to make sure the process was followed, and 4-2 to approve the development agreement with Tract. Post Bulletin reported the rezoning to general industrial was approved as well. (City of Cannon Falls, Nov. 5, 2025; Post Bulletin, Nov. 2025)

  4. The council's consent agenda listed resolutions on industrial rezoning, a conditional use permit for data centers, substations, transmission lines and building height, the Tract final PUD, variances and the preliminary plat. (City of Cannon Falls, Oct. 21, 2025; KSTP, Oct. 21, 2025)

  5. At a joint work session, officials reviewed water phasing, the water tower charge, an estimate of about $30 million in city tax revenue over 20 years, and the approval calendar. (City of Cannon Falls, Oct. 9, 2025)

  6. The state's municipal boundary office accepted the orderly annexation (OA-1924) of 238.68 acres in Randolph Township, Dakota County, into Cannon Falls. (Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, Municipal Boundary Adjustments, Sept. 15, 2025)

  7. The city annexed the land from Randolph Township; the township agreed to the transfer. (KTTC, Aug. 26, 2025; DatacenterDynamics, Sept. 9, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • County: the annexation record places the land in Randolph Township, Dakota County; the city of Cannon Falls itself is in Goodhue County, and DCD tags the project Goodhue while noting part of the land is in Dakota County.
  • Acreage: 238.68 in the annexation record; about 240 (DCD, KTTC); more than 250 (KSTP); 253 in other reports. Range 239-253.
  • Jobs: about 250 permanent at full buildout (KSTP).
  • The 1.75 million sq ft figure in the draft came from a development tracking service and is not used.
  • Investment: more than $30 billion over 20 years (city work session, KSTP). No end user is named. No record of construction starting was found; recheck.

The full record

Status note
The council approved the conditional use permit and the development agreement with Tract on Nov. 5, 2025. Site work was expected in spring 2026; the city's schedule estimated the first building permit in late 2028. No record of construction starting was found.
Power note
No MW figure found.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.