Data center project · DeSoto County, Mississippi
xAI / MZX Tech Stanton Road power plant (former Duke Energy site)
Under construction · The former Duke Energy plant site in Southaven, bought by xAI's subsidiary MZX Tech in July 2025, where dozens of portable gas turbines have run without state air permits to power Colossus 2 across the Tennessee line. Also known as: MZX Tech LLC Stanton Road Facility, xAI Southaven Power Plant, Colossus 2 power station, former Duke Energy / KGen Southaven plant.
- Status
- Under construction · as of Aug. 31, 2026
- Location
- Southaven · DeSoto County
- Status note
- Temporary turbines running while a permitted 41-turbine plant (about 1.2 GW) is built; under a July 2026 state order the temporary units retire unit by unit through July 14, 2027.
- Power
- Not reported
This is a power plant for a data center, so its generating capacity is not counted as data center load. Permanent plant: about 1.2 GW from 41 simple-cycle turbines (17 Solar Titan PGM-130 at 16.48 MW, 16 Solar Titan 350 at 35 MW, 8 ProEnergy 6000PE at 50 MW = 1,240 MW nameplate). Temporary fleet peaked at 69 units, about 1,776 MW nameplate / 1,702 MW expected local output per Agreed Order Appendix A; earlier figures were 18 units (~354-400 MW, 2025) and 27 units (~495 MW, early 2026). - Land
- 114.49 acres
- Investment
- Not disclosed; site deed reportedly recorded at $10
- Developer and team
- MZX Tech LLC (through xAI (now SpaceXAI) subsidiary; foreign LLC registered in MS, reported as Wyoming-based; MS registered agent Registered Agent Solutions, Inc. (Gulfport); principal address 2110 Ranch Road 620 S., Lakeway, TX); X.AI Corp. / SpaceXAI (through parent)
- End user
- xAI (SpaceXAI): Colossus 2 in Memphis (Whitehaven), and Southaven data centers
- Utility
- Behind-the-meter self-generation; site has lines to Memphis Light, Gas & Water and a Texas Gas pipeline connection; MZX holds transmission easements (July 2025)
- Water
- Temporary TM2500/FT8 units use demineralized water injection for NOx; permanent plant proposes no cooling towers
- Incentives
- None specific to the power site identified. Under a Dec. 2025 MOU with the city, MZX agreed to pay $3.46M for road work near the plant and data center.
- Evidence
- Primary public records
- Size class
- 50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Updates, newest first
- Oct. 19, 2026 Judge Debra M. Brown granted the United States intervention but denied dismissal; she called the appeal premature and gave the government until Oct. 23 to file its own pleading. xAI's motion to dismiss is still pending. (U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), Oct. 19, 2026)
- Oct. 15, 2026 Buyout offers through Burch Realty and Cushman & Wakefield confirmed, and some owners accepted. The mayor called them voluntary. (Mississippi Today, Oct. 15, 2026)
- Sept. 25, 2026 Letters from MZX Tech offering to buy nearby homes in exchange for releasing claims in the class action were reported. (Mississippi Free Press, Sept. 25, 2026)
- Sept. 18, 2026 The United States appealed to the Fifth Circuit, treating the judge's Aug. 24 remark that she intended to deny its motion as a ruling (No. 26-60806). (U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), Sept. 18, 2026; Justia Dockets (5th Cir.), Sept. 24, 2026)
- Aug. 31, 2026 The company said 11 temporary turbines had been shut down. (WMC Action News 5, Aug. 31, 2026)
- July 30, 2026 MDEQ and MZX signed Agreed Order 7739 26. In it the two agree the operation so far has not violated Mississippi air permitting requirements; it sets a retirement date for each unit (the 14 SMT-130s by Dec. 31, 2026, 13 of them past the 12-month limit; the rest within 12 months of arrival, the last by July 14, 2027) and requires biweekly reports and emissions testing. MZX cited supply-chain delays on the permanent turbines. (Mississippi Commission on Environmental Quality / MDEQ, July 30, 2026; Mississippi Today, July 31, 2026; WMC Action News 5, July 31, 2026)
- July 15, 2026 Final temporary turbines added, bringing the total to 69. The agreed order bars additions after this date. (Mississippi Commission on Environmental Quality / MDEQ, July 30, 2026)
- June 15, 2026 xAI moved to dismiss, saying it relied on the state's ruling that the turbines are mobile sources; a company declaration counted 59 temporary turbines. The Justice Department moved to intervene and dismiss, citing federal primacy and national security; it attached a May 29 letter in which Gov. Reeves asked the department to intervene and oppose the injunction. (U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), June 15, 2026; U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), June 15, 2026; U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), June 15, 2026; U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), June 15, 2026; Mississippi Free Press, June 16, 2026)
- June 8, 2026 Residents filed a noise class action, Haley et al. v. X.AI Corp. et al., No. 3:26-cv-00148, against xAI, SpaceX and MZX Tech. (ClassAction.org, June 29, 2026; Mississippi Today, June 9, 2026)
- May 6, 2026 The plaintiffs sought a preliminary injunction to stop the turbines (33 cited); an amended motion on June 12 cited 57 as of May 15. No ruling as of Oct. 20, 2026. (U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), May 6, 2026; U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (RECAP), June 12, 2026)
- April 14, 2026 The NAACP and its Mississippi State Conference sued X.AI Corp. and MZX Tech under the Clean Air Act in federal court in Oxford (No. 3:26-cv-74), alleging 27 turbines here needed state and federal permits. (U.S. District Court, N.D. Miss. (via CourtListener RECAP), April 14, 2026; Mississippi Today, April 15, 2026)
- April 9, 2026 SELC, for the NAACP, Young, Gifted & Green and Safe and Sound Coalition, requested an evidentiary hearing to contest the permit, alleging flawed modeling and missing offsets. No outcome found. (Southern Environmental Law Center (advocacy), April 9, 2026; Mississippi Today, April 10, 2026)
- March 11, 2026 PSD Air Construction Permit No. 0680-00119 issued to MZX Tech LLC. It expires if construction does not begin within 18 months. (Mississippi Environmental Quality Permit Board / MDEQ, March 11, 2026)
- March 10, 2026 Permit Board voted unanimously in Jackson, on primary election day, to approve the 41-turbine permit. (Mississippi Public Broadcasting, March 10, 2026; Mississippi Free Press, March 10, 2026)
- Feb. 17, 2026 MDEQ public hearing held in Southaven; no attendees spoke in support, per SELC. (Mississippi Today, Feb. 9, 2026; Southern Environmental Law Center (advocacy), March 10, 2026)
- Feb. 13, 2026 NAACP and its Mississippi conference (Earthjustice, SELC) served a 60-day Clean Air Act notice of intent to sue on xAI, MZX Tech and SpaceX, alleging the turbines are unpermitted stationary and major sources. (Earthjustice / SELC for NAACP, Feb. 13, 2026)
- Jan. 17, 2026 MDEQ noticed a Feb. 17 hearing on MZX's PSD application for a behind-the-meter plant of about 1.2 GW with 41 turbines. (DeSoto County News, Jan. 17, 2026)
- Dec. 18, 2025 Turbine count reached 27 after nine more were added. (Mississippi Today, Feb. 9, 2026; Mississippi Commission on Environmental Quality / MDEQ, July 30, 2026)
- Nov. 24, 2025 Residents' noise complaints reported. 18 turbines were running, and xAI planned 59 in all. The mayor called the noise mostly temporary construction noise and the environmental risk very low. (Mississippi Today, Nov. 24, 2025)
- Aug. 1, 2025 First temporary turbines (Solar SMT-130 units) brought on site, per MDEQ inventory; Mayor Musselwhite publicly welcomed the expansion and said the old Duke plant would run again. (Mississippi Commission on Environmental Quality / MDEQ, July 30, 2026; DeSoto Times-Tribune, Aug. 1, 2025)
- July 29, 2025 MDEQ letter treated the turbines as mobile sources outside stationary permitting if they stay portable and remain on site 12 months or less, and asked for NOx and PM2.5 controls. (Mississippi Commission on Environmental Quality / MDEQ, July 30, 2026; Mississippi Today, Nov. 24, 2025)
- July 18, 2025 MZX Tech's purchase of 114.49 acres at 2875 Stanton Road was reported; county records show a nominal $10 price. Sources disagree on the seller: Stanton Road Peak Properties LLC in one report, Julie M. James in others. (DeSoto County News, July 18, 2025; DatacenterDynamics, July 21, 2025; Bisnow, July 21, 2025)
- July 16, 2025 Transmission-line easement in favor of MZX Tech dated; xAI CFO listed as representative on the agreements. (DeSoto County News, July 18, 2025)
- May 16, 2025 MZX Tech LLC formed or registered, per Mississippi SOS foreign LLC application cited in NAACP notice (the notice body misstates the year as 2026). Not independently verified on SOS site. (Earthjustice / SELC for NAACP, Feb. 13, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- Entity spelled 'MZT Tech' in DCD/DeSoto Times and 'MZX Technology' in one notice; permit and order say MZX Tech LLC.
- Seller conflict: DeSoto County News says Stanton Road Peak Properties LLC; DCD and DeSoto Times say Julie (M.) James. The deed was not pulled.
- Mississippi SOS record not opened directly (site returned 403). Formation/registration date, Wyoming domicile and registered agent come from the NAACP notice and DeSoto County News.
- DeSoto Times gives the street number as 8275 Stanton Road in one story; the permit uses 2875 Stanton Road.
- Turbine counts by date: 18 (Aug–Nov 2025), 27 (Dec 2025–Feb 2026), 46–47 (May 2026), 57 (June 2026 filings), 69 (July 15, 2026), minus 11 by Aug. 31, 2026.
- Fox13 reported a Dec. 31, 2026 deactivation deadline. That date applies only to the 14 SMT-130 units; the other units retire through July 2027.
- Construction start on the permanent turbines is not documented beyond the company's statements. Coordinates are approximate.
- Still pending as of Oct. 20, 2026: the state permit appeal (evidentiary hearing), the preliminary injunction motion and xAI's motion to dismiss.
Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.