Data center campus · Northern Gage County, near Adams, Firth and Cortland, Gage County, Nebraska

Tenaska land options, northern Gage County (possible Google data center and gas plant)

Paused by moratorium as of Sept. 16, 2026

Omaha-based Tenaska optioned more than 1,000 acres in northern Gage County for a power plant that could serve a data center, which Flatwater linked to a Google proposal for a gas-powered campus in southeast Nebraska. Also known as: Google-Tenaska southeast Nebraska proposal.

Cite← Nebraska data centers
Adams CountyAntelope CountyArthur CountyBanner CountyBlaine CountyBoone CountyBox Butte CountyBoyd CountyBrown CountyBuffalo CountyBurt CountyButler CountyCass CountyCedar CountyChase CountyCherry CountyCheyenne CountyClay CountyColfax CountyCuming CountyCuster CountyDakota CountyDawes CountyDawson CountyDeuel CountyDixon CountyDodge CountyDouglas CountyDundy CountyFillmore CountyFranklin CountyFrontier CountyFurnas CountyGage CountyGarden CountyGarfield CountyGosper CountyGrant CountyGreeley CountyHall CountyHamilton CountyHarlan CountyHayes CountyHitchcock CountyHolt CountyHooker CountyHoward CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyKearney CountyKeith CountyKeya Paha CountyKimball CountyKnox CountyLancaster CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyLoup CountyMadison CountyMcPherson CountyMerrick CountyMorrill CountyNance CountyNemaha CountyNuckolls CountyOtoe CountyPawnee CountyPerkins CountyPhelps CountyPierce CountyPlatte CountyPolk CountyRed Willow CountyRichardson CountyRock CountySaline CountySarpy CountySaunders CountyScotts Bluff CountySeward CountySheridan CountySherman CountySioux CountyStanton CountyThayer CountyThomas CountyThurston CountyValley CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWebster CountyWheeler CountyYork CountyTenaska land options, northern Gage County (possible Google data center and gas plant) · Paused by moratorium
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site1,000acres

Who is behind it

ProjectTenaska land options, northern Gage County (possible Google data center and gas plant)Also: Google-Tenaska southeast Nebraska proposal
Developer and teamTenaska
End userNot disclosed; Flatwater reported documents naming Google as the prospective data center owner in southeast Nebraska

The record, newest first

  1. Supervisors replaced it with a 12-month moratorium on data center permits while planners write rules, settling between the existing eight months and the 18 months recommended. (KLKN-TV, Sept. 16, 2026; Beatrice Daily Sun, Sept. 16, 2026)

  2. The county board approved an eight-month moratorium, KLKN later reported. (KLKN-TV, Sept. 3, 2026)

  3. After a four-hour hearing with about 200 people, the county's planning and zoning commission unanimously recommended an 18-month moratorium; a Tenaska developer said the company was an energy firm seeking large power customers, which could include data centers. (Courier Nebraska, June 17, 2026; KOLN 10/11 NOW, June 16, 2026)

  4. Flatwater Free Press reported documents shared at a private public power district meeting describing a Google data center of 1,000 to 3,000 MW powered by a Tenaska gas plant with carbon capture, and said Tenaska had optioned more than 2,600 acres in southeast Nebraska since December; Gage County supervisor Emily Haxby said Tenaska described a gas plant serving an industrial park in the county's northeast. (Flatwater Free Press, March 13, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Neither Google nor Tenaska confirmed the plan to Flatwater; Tallgrass Energy, named in the documents as a gas supplier, denied any partnership. The link between the Google proposal and the Gage County land is from reporting, not from a filing.
  • Acreage: Courier Nebraska reported more than 1,000 acres; Supervisor Haxby said she understood Tenaska might seek 1,000 to 3,000 acres.

The full record

Status note
No permit application has been filed; the county board adopted a 12-month moratorium on data center permits Sept. 16, 2026.
Power note
Documents described by Flatwater put the Google proposal's data center at 1,000 to 3,000 MW, but they did not name a site; no figure has been tied to this land in a public record.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.