Data center project · Marion County, Oregon

Oakline at Mill Creek (Verrus), Salem

Proposed · A multi-building campus by Verrus, a developer founded by Sidewalk Infrastructure Partners, that lost a state land sale but filed a first phase on private land just before Salem moved to a moratorium. Also known as: Oakline at Millcreek, Alderstone, LLC.

← Oregon data centers
Baker CountyBenton CountyClackamas CountyClatsop CountyColumbia CountyCoos CountyCrook CountyCurry CountyDeschutes CountyDouglas CountyGilliam CountyGrant CountyHarney CountyHood River CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJosephine CountyKlamath CountyLake CountyLane CountyLincoln CountyLinn CountyMalheur CountyMarion CountyMorrow CountyMultnomah CountyPolk CountySherman CountyTillamook CountyUmatilla CountyUnion CountyWallowa CountyWasco CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyYamhill CountyOakline at Mill Creek (Verrus), Salem · Proposed
Status
Proposed · as of Aug. 11, 2026
Location
Mill Creek Corporate Center, southeast Salem · Marion County
Status note
A phase 1 site plan on private land was filed July 31, 2026 and was pending as of Aug. 1; Salem adopted a citywide data center moratorium in September, and whether it reaches this filing was not reported.
Power
Not reported
DCD reported phase 1 was set to offer dozens of megawatts; no number was given.
Floor area
600,000 sq ft
Combined footprint of the two phase 1 buildings in the city application.
Land
100.2 acres
W.Media reported the application covers 100.2 acres on three private lots; earlier reports used about 75 acres for the campus.
Investment
More than $5 billion projected for the campus (city); the application lists a $394 million valuation (as reported)
Developer and team
Verrus (through Alderstone, LLC)
Utility
Portland General Electric
Water
Verrus's CEO told OPB the design is mainly air-cooled and adds a small amount of water on the hottest days; the city said initial conversations pointed to a low-water-consumption design.
Incentives
The city says an enterprise zone request filed with the Marion County Assessor on May 27, 2026 was approved for three years; amount not stated.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.

Updates, newest first

  1. Sept. 2026 At a Monday-night hearing reported by KPTV on Sept. 22, the council adopted a citywide four-month data center moratorium, through Jan. 19, 2027. (KPTV (FOX 12), Sept. 22, 2026)
  2. Aug. 11, 2026 Verrus's CEO told OPB the company was still moving forward on phase 1 and expected review over the next couple of months. (OPB (Think Out Loud), Aug. 11, 2026)
  3. Aug. 3, 2026 Salem's council voted unanimously to start the moratorium process. (KATU, Aug. 3, 2026)
  4. July 31, 2026 Alderstone, LLC filed a land use application for two one-story buildings with a combined 600,000-square-foot footprint on 100.2 privately owned acres; the city says data centers are allowed in the site's zoning and review stays administrative. (City of Salem, Aug. 1, 2026; W.Media, Aug. 3, 2026; DatacenterDynamics, Aug. 4, 2026)
  5. July 30, 2026 Gov. Tina Kotek directed the Department of Administrative Services to end its contract to sell 32.23 state-owned acres at the Mill Creek Corporate Center to Verrus; the company said it was not consulted. (KATU, July 31, 2026; DatacenterDynamics, Aug. 3, 2026; DatacenterDynamics, Aug. 4, 2026)
  6. July 17, 2026 W.Media reported the city valued the planned three-building campus with a substation at $5.1 billion. (W.Media, July 17, 2026; KPTV (FOX 12), July 15, 2026)
  7. July 13, 2026 Salem's city manager announced the project at a council meeting after the city was released on July 8 from a non-disclosure agreement signed in March 2025. (City of Salem, Aug. 1, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage differs: about 75 acres (W.Media, KPTV, KATU, DCD) versus 100.2 acres on three private lots in the application as reported by W.Media; the 32-acre state parcel is no longer part of the filing.
  • OPB's interview figures on water use (up to 39 million gallons a year, from Salem Reporter) and jobs are the company's or another outlet's claims and were not checked.
  • The September vote date is not given here as a day: KPTV's Sept. 22 report says the council voted on a Monday night, and no city record was opened.

Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.