Data center campus · Around West 11000 North / McCornick Road, northwest of Fillmore (county lists a Delta address, DAQ a Fillmore address), Millard County, Utah

Joule High-Performance Compute Campus

Approved as of Jan. 22, 2026

A phased AI data center campus with on-site gas power on about 4,000 acres of rezoned farmland northwest of Fillmore, permitted by Utah DAQ as six numbered sites. Also known as: Joule Capital Partners data center, Joule Site #1-#6.

Cite← Utah data centers
Beaver CountyBox Elder CountyCache CountyCarbon CountyDaggett CountyDavis CountyDuchesne CountyEmery CountyGarfield CountyGrand CountyIron CountyJuab CountyKane CountyMillard CountyMorgan CountyPiute CountyRich CountySalt Lake CountySan Juan CountySanpete CountySevier CountySummit CountyTooele CountyUintah CountyUtah CountyWasatch CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWeber CountyJoule High-Performance Compute Campus · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site4,000acres

Who is behind it

ProjectJoule High-Performance Compute CampusAlso: Joule Capital Partners data center, Joule Site #1-#6
Developer and teamJoule Capital Partners (through Joule Capital Partners, LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The Utah DAQ approval-order layer lists Joule Capital Partners Sites #1 through #6, all within about 4 km of one another northwest of Fillmore. (Utah Division of Air Quality (Utah DEQ ArcGIS), Oct. 2026)

  2. The Tribune and Grist reported six buildings, each powered by 69 Caterpillar gas generators, with construction slated for spring 2026. (The Salt Lake Tribune and Grist (republished by AOL via Stacker, March 11, 2026), Feb. 9, 2026)

  3. The Sanpete Messenger reported that Joule broke ground in November 2025. (Sanpete Messenger, Feb. 5, 2026)

  4. Utah DAQ issued Approval Order DAQE-AN162810001-26 for Joule's first site: 69 gas-fired generator engines, 69 diesel emergency engines and 69 absorption chillers; no public comments were received. (Utah Division of Air Quality, Jan. 22, 2026)

  5. Millard County commissioners said Joule and Creekstone got no special treatment or incentives and would supply their own power and water. (Utah Business, Nov. 5, 2025)

  6. Founders said the county had granted the CUP and that a 1.3 GW first phase would break ground in November. (Deseret News, Oct. 21, 2025)

  7. The county commission agenda set a public hearing and possible approval of the C-2 CUP amendment for the data center and generating facility. (Millard County Board of County Commissioners, Sept. 16, 2025)

  8. The planning commission unanimously recommended C-2 CUP #Z-2025-048 for a data center and generating facility at about 11000 N McCornick Road, with a six-building Phase 1 and 19 conditions, including construction by Dec. 31, 2027. (Millard County Planning Commission, Sept. 3, 2025)

  9. Joule, Caterpillar and Wheeler announced a gas-engine and battery package for a campus that could eventually reach 4 GW. (Power Engineering, Aug. 8, 2025)

  10. The Millard County Commission unanimously rezoned about 4,000 acres of Triple C Farms land for Joule. (ABC4, Aug. 5, 2025; KSL.com (republished by Deseret News), Aug. 15, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Coordinates are Site #1 from the DAQ approval order (UTM 12N 381,072 E, 4,338,012 N, NAD83, about 39.183,-112.377). A DAQ layer query lists Sites #1-#6 between about 39.17-39.21 N and 112.36-112.40 W, so they are treated as one campus.
  • The DAQ layer lists Sites #1-#6 under Approval Orders/NSR, but only the Site #1 order was opened; issue dates for #2-#6 are unconfirmed.
  • CUP condition 19: permit review by Dec. 31, 2026, with construction starting by Dec. 31, 2027.
  • The CUP approval by county commissioners is supported by the founders' statements (Deseret News) and the Sept. 16 agenda; the commission's minutes were not opened.

The full record

Status note
County rezone (Aug. 5, 2025) approved and CUP recommended by the planning commission (Sept. 3, 2025), with founders saying the county granted it; DAQ issued the air approval order for the first site Jan. 22, 2026. The Sanpete Messenger reported a November 2025 groundbreaking, while the Tribune/Grist said in February 2026 that construction was slated for spring.
Power note
Tribune/Grist: state applications indicate about 1 GW at the start, with public statements of more than 4 GW. Founders cite 1.3 GW in the first phase. The Site #1 approval order covers 69 gas engines of 2,531 kW each (about 175 MW), and the DAQ layer lists six numbered sites. The figure is generating capacity, not data center load, so no MW is counted for this campus.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.