Data center campus · Wells Draw Road, South Myton Bench, about 6 miles southwest of Myton, Duchesne County, Utah

Nine Mile Data Center

Approved as of April 27, 2026

A roughly $10 billion data center campus on about 960 acres near Myton, paired with a 400 MW gas plant and a solar plant from the same Energence Utah team. Also known as: Nine Mile Data, LLC, Wells Draw Data and Power Development, Uintah Basin Data Center.

Cite← Utah data centers
Beaver CountyBox Elder CountyCache CountyCarbon CountyDaggett CountyDavis CountyDuchesne CountyEmery CountyGarfield CountyGrand CountyIron CountyJuab CountyKane CountyMillard CountyMorgan CountyPiute CountyRich CountySalt Lake CountySan Juan CountySanpete CountySevier CountySummit CountyTooele CountyUintah CountyUtah CountyWasatch CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWeber CountyNine Mile Data Center · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site960acres

Who is behind it

ProjectNine Mile Data CenterAlso: Nine Mile Data, LLC, Wells Draw Data and Power Development, Uintah Basin Data Center
Developer and teamEnergence Utah (through Energence Utah, LLC)
Nine Mile Data (through Nine Mile Data, LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Acting as the appeal body, county commissioners voted 3-0 to deny the first appeal and then the remaining appeals, citing lack of standing. (Duchesne County Commission (Utah Public Notice Website), April 27, 2026)

  2. The county noticed an April 27 hearing on five resident appeals of the April 2 approvals, covering the data center and its companion gas, solar and water permits. (Duchesne County Commission (Utah Public Notice Website), April 15, 2026; Basin Now, April 24, 2026)

  3. County staff recommended approval with 12 conditions, and the planning commission unanimously approved the data center, gas plant and solar plant CUPs. (Duchesne County Community Development, April 2, 2026; Duchesne County Planning Commission (Utah Public Notice Website), April 2, 2026)

  4. Jones and DeMille Engineering filed a complete CUP application for the data center on behalf of Energence Utah; companion CUPs covered a gas plant and a solar plant. (Duchesne County Community Development, April 2, 2026; Duchesne County Community Development, April 2, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Coordinates are from the internal lead pointer, consistent with Section 19, T4S R2W USB&M, about 6 miles southwest of Myton (findings report); in Duchesne County.
  • Acreage: 960.32 (findings report parcels) and 879 total with about 475 for the data center (narrative).
  • The April 2 planning commission minutes list the parcel owner, Vaibhav Shree LLC, as the item name. Both sets of minutes are now cited from the county's postings on the Utah Public Notice Website: the April 2 minutes file is byte-identical to the copy on uintahbasindatacenter.com, and the April 27 approved (scanned) minutes match the third-party copy, which was the county's draft.
  • Construction start is given as 2026 in one place and 2027 in another (the narrative also names Elio Energy for the 2027 start), with operations targeted by 2029.

The full record

Status note
Planning commission approved the CUP on April 2, 2026, and county commissioners denied appeals on April 27, 2026.
Power note
No MW figure is given for the data center. The companion Wells Draw gas plant is 400 MW with 800-1,600 MWh of storage, and a solar plant was also permitted.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.