Data center campus · Private land about 7 miles northeast of Newcastle, Iron County, Utah

Red Butte Energy and Data Center Campus

Paused by moratorium as of May 26, 2026

BrightNight's proposed data center campus with on-site gas, solar and storage near Newcastle, paused by Iron County's moratorium. Also known as: Red Butte Data Center.

Cite← Utah data centers
Beaver CountyBox Elder CountyCache CountyCarbon CountyDaggett CountyDavis CountyDuchesne CountyEmery CountyGarfield CountyGrand CountyIron CountyJuab CountyKane CountyMillard CountyMorgan CountyPiute CountyRich CountySalt Lake CountySan Juan CountySanpete CountySevier CountySummit CountyTooele CountyUintah CountyUtah CountyWasatch CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWeber CountyRed Butte Energy and Data Center Campus · Paused by moratorium
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site2,564acres

Who is behind it

ProjectRed Butte Energy and Data Center CampusAlso: Red Butte Data Center
Developer and teamBrightNight
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. County officials said BrightNight still wants to build its approved solar component but may not pursue the data center at the site. (St. George News, Aug. 30, 2026)

  2. The county's 180-day moratorium put the incomplete Red Butte application on hold. (The Salt Lake Tribune, May 26, 2026; Iron County Planning, June 2026)

  3. The county deemed the application incomplete. (Iron County Planning, June 2026)

  4. BrightNight described a roughly 2,600-acre campus with up to 10 buildings, about 500 permanent jobs and a phased 300 MW-to-1.5 GW build. (St. George News / Cedar City News, May 13, 2026)

  5. BrightNight submitted the Red Butte data center application to Iron County. (Iron County Planning, June 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Coordinates were set about 7 miles northeast of Newcastle, following BrightNight's description. The internal lead pointer (37.61,-113.64), which lies southwest of Newcastle, does not match and was not used.
  • Acreage: 2,564 (Tribune) and about 2,600 total with about 1,700 developed (St. George News).
  • St. George News (Aug. 30) reported the county planner said BrightNight still wants to build an approved solar component; no newer report on the data center was found.

The full record

Status note
Application submitted May 4, 2026, deemed incomplete May 22, and on hold under the county's 180-day moratorium; officials are unsure whether BrightNight will pursue the data center at this site.
Power note
Phased 300 MW, then 750 MW, and potentially 1.5 GW at full build-out, depending on customers (company). The figure is generating capacity, not data center load, so no MW is counted for this campus.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.