Data center project · King County, Washington
Equinix and Prologis data center power requests, Seattle City Light
Paused by moratorium · Three large data centers that Equinix and Prologis asked Seattle City Light to power, still pending when Seattle froze data center siting.
- Status
- Paused by moratorium · as of June 9, 2026
- Location
- Seattle (sites not disclosed) · King County
- Status note
- Seattle's June 9 emergency moratorium freezes siting of new data centers above 20 MVA; no source reports how it applies to these specific requests.
- Power
- Not reported
No figure per facility. The Seattle Times reported that the three facilities together could use 249 MW, so that combined figure is not listed as one project's power. - Developer and team
- Equinix; Prologis
- Utility
- Seattle City Light
- Evidence
- News reports; primary records not yet obtained
- Size class
- Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Updates, newest first
- June 9, 2026 The City Council unanimously passed an emergency moratorium on new data centers above 20 MVA, noting that four companies had sought power for five facilities with a combined maximum demand of 369 MW. (Seattle City Council, June 9, 2026)
- May 1, 2026 The Seattle Times reported the Equinix and Prologis requests (249 MW for three facilities) were still pending after two other requesters withdrew. (The Seattle Times (republished by The Spokesman-Review), May 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- Sites and the split between the two companies were not reported.
- No source confirms the companies filed land-use applications.
Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.