License-plate readers · Baldwin County

Baldwin County

Using license-plate readers · 6 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Autauga CountyBaldwin CountyBarbour CountyBibb CountyBlount CountyBullock CountyButler CountyCalhoun CountyChambers CountyCherokee CountyChilton CountyChoctaw CountyClarke CountyClay CountyCleburne CountyCoffee CountyColbert CountyConecuh CountyCoosa CountyCovington CountyCrenshaw CountyCullman CountyDale CountyDallas CountyDeKalb CountyElmore CountyEscambia CountyEtowah CountyFayette CountyFranklin CountyGeneva CountyGreene CountyHale CountyHenry CountyHouston CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyLamar CountyLauderdale CountyLawrence CountyLee CountyLimestone CountyLowndes CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMarengo CountyMarion CountyMarshall CountyMobile CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPerry CountyPickens CountyPike CountyRandolph CountyRussell CountyShelby CountySt. Clair CountySumter CountyTalladega CountyTallapoosa CountyTuscaloosa CountyWalker CountyWashington CountyWilcox CountyWinston County

Baldwin County Sheriff's Office

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
Count not documented
A Feb. 2019 NewsRadio 710 (Mobile) item, summarizing an NBC 15 report, said some deputies had plate readers mounted on the front and rear of their vehicles. No count or vendor.
Sources
NewsRadio 710 (iHeart, Mobile), Feb. 13, 2019
  1. Feb. 2019 Some deputies were using vehicle-mounted license plate readers, per a NewsRadio 710 item citing NBC 15. (NewsRadio 710 (iHeart, Mobile), Feb. 13, 2019)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Nothing found within the last 12 months. Source is a short radio-station write-up of a TV report; original NBC 15 story not located.

Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.

Daphne Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Vendor not named in source
Cameras
4
Four leased Flock cameras (added 2025); department has used other LPRs since about March 2023 (count not given). Gulf Coast Media (Oct. 26, 2026) said only two of the four were working.
Contract
Flock Safety: $3,500 year · from 2025 (Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026; FOX10 (WALA), Oct. 28, 2026)
Sources
FOX10 (WALA), Oct. 28, 2026; Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026
  1. March 2023 Department began using license plate readers, per Chief Brian Gulsby (approximate date). (Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026)
  2. July 2026 Flock cameras were cut down by vandals; FOX10 said all four were cut down and two were cut down again after replacement, leaving police without them for several months. Gulf Coast Media cited vandalism in July and storm damage. Chief Gulsby said the outage could have slowed recovery of a missing person with dementia who was later found on an undamaged camera. (Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026; FOX10 (WALA), Oct. 28, 2026)
  3. Oct. 12, 2026 Chief Gulsby asked the city's Public Safety Committee for four more Flock cameras at $3,500 per camera per year; needs council and mayoral approval. FOX10 reported Mayor Robin LeJeune would not make a deal right away. (Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026; FOX10 (WALA), Oct. 28, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • A 30-day audit showed 49 Flock searches (robbery, stolen vehicle, endangered and wanted persons, domestic violence). Retention is seven days. Gulsby said the readers do not use facial recognition and denied that data is sold. Department is adding surveillance cameras near the readers to deter vandalism.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Fairhope Police Department

Status
Checked: no program found
Vendors
Cameras
Count not documented
Mayor Sherry Sullivan said the city has no cameras on city property (Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026); the sheriff or state agencies could place cameras on county or state roads inside city limits.
Sources
Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026
Conflicts and open questions
  • Recorded as none on the mayor's statement.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Foley Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
25
25 LPRs per Gulf Coast Media (Oct. 26, 2026); number that are Flock not specified; retention not specified. Chief Kevin Carnley said the city uses multiple camera vendors.
Sources
Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026; Gulf Shores News, Jan. 9, 2026
  1. Jan. 2026 City council voted to buy and install nine more city cameras in phase two of its Public Safety Systems Improvement capital project; the story does not say whether they read plates. (Gulf Shores News, Jan. 9, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Foley LPR count comes from a single news roundup; seek city records for vendor and contract.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Gulf Shores Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
87
87 Flock cameras per NBC 15 (Aug. 18, 2026) and Gulf Coast Media (Oct. 26, 2026); WEAR (Aug. 27, 2026) said 'over 80'; Gulf Shores News (Mar. 19, 2026) said 83. Council approved 80 camera locations in Sept. 2025. ALDOT's active-permit list (updated Sept. 3, 2026) shows one approved permanent LPR permit for Gulf Shores PD on AL 180.
Contract
Flock Safety: $304,000 total · from Sept. 8, 2025 · approved by Gulf Shores City Council (Resolution 7029) (OBA (obawebsite.com), Sept. 10, 2025; Gulf Shores News, Sept. 2, 2025)
Sources
Alabama Department of Transportation, Sept. 3, 2026; Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026; Gulf Shores News, March 19, 2026; Gulf Shores News, Sept. 2, 2025; NBC 15 (WPMI), Aug. 18, 2026; OBA (obawebsite.com), Sept. 10, 2025; WEAR-TV, Aug. 27, 2026
  1. Sept. 2, 2025 Gulf Shores council agenda listed an agreement with Flock Safety for 80 license plate reader camera locations, $305,000, to be deployed during 2026. (Gulf Shores News, Sept. 2, 2025)
  2. Sept. 8, 2025 Council approved Resolution 7029 for 80 cameras for plate recognition and live viewing at $304,000, paid from the asset forfeiture fund (per OBA; meeting date as reported). (OBA (obawebsite.com), Sept. 10, 2025)
  3. Dec. 2025 Installation began, per Police Chief Dan Netemeyer; Gulf Shores News reported the initial installation cost as $330,000 from asset forfeiture. (Gulf Shores News, March 19, 2026)
  4. Aug. 27, 2026 Chief Netemeyer said the department would launch a Flock transparency portal in the coming weeks; WEAR reported the contract renews yearly with the city budget, and Flock had held a training on misuse safeguards with police and city officials that week. (WEAR-TV, Aug. 27, 2026)
  5. Oct. 26, 2026 Gulf Coast Media reported more than 51 million reads since February, 30-day data retention, and a council renewal vote expected later in 2026. (Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Gulf Shores News reported the system is connected with more than 700 agencies nationwide.
  • Residents spoke against the cameras at council meetings (NBC 15, Aug. 2026). Renewal vote not yet found; check Sept.-Oct. 2026 council minutes.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Orange Beach Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
16
16 Flock LPRs with 30-day retention, per Gulf Coast Media (Oct. 26, 2026). In July 2025 the city added four cameras after testing one.
Contract
Flock Safety: $81,000 total · from July 1, 2025 · approved by Orange Beach City Council (1819 News, July 2, 2025)
Sources
1819 News, July 2, 2025; Gulf Coast Media, Oct. 26, 2026
  1. July 1, 2025 Council approved, without discussion and with two members absent, four more Flock cameras plus software for $81,000 after testing one camera. Finance Director Ford Handley said, "We've seen benefits from it." (1819 News, July 2, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Vote date inferred from 1819 News reference to 'Tuesday's meeting' in a July 2, 2025 story.
  • A Lagniappe podcast transcript claimed 87 Orange Beach cameras; not used (see leads).

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. May 22, 2020 ALDOT opened comment on rules allowing police plate readers on state rights-of-way; Sen. Arthur Orr (R-Decatur) said he would file legislation to limit government use. (BirminghamWatch (from Alabama Daily News), May 22, 2020)
  2. April 15, 2021 SB2 (2021), Orr's bill limiting law enforcement plate-reader use, setting confidentiality, destruction of data and criminal penalties, was amended in Senate Judiciary; it passed the Senate but died in the House. NBC 15 reported it would have required destruction after 30 months. (LegiScan, April 15, 2021; WSFA via WBRC, Aug. 27, 2026; NBC 15 (WPMI), Aug. 24, 2026)
  3. March 17, 2022 Alabama Justice Information Commission rules (Ala. Admin. Code ch. 265-X-6, authority Code of Ala. §41-9-620) took effect: plate-reader data only for criminal justice or public safety purposes; moved to an agency-controlled repository within 24 hours; access and dissemination logs; written public agency policy required before use; retention no more than five years unless tied to an active case (with ALEA notice); vendors must sign an ALEA CJIS security agreement; ALEA audits at least every three years, with access suspended after 90 days of noncompliance; plate, time, location and ORI to go to a State LPR Registry within 48 hours once ALEA establishes it. (Alabama Administrative Code (Alabama Justice Information Commission), March 17, 2022)
  4. Feb. 1, 2023 ALDOT permit requirement for public safety sensors on its right-of-way took full effect; unpermitted devices became removable encroachments. (Alabama Department of Transportation, Jan. 1, 2023)
  5. 2026 The Alabama Sheriffs Association posted support for Flock and similar plate readers, saying agencies should have policies to protect the data (FOX10, Aug. 2, 2026; exact post date not given). FOX10 (Aug. 2, 2026) said the post went up that week. (FOX10 (WALA), Aug. 2, 2026)
  6. Aug. 24, 2026 Sen. Arthur Orr said he plans a 2027 bill: shorter retention (six months to a year), a warrant to access data with emergency exceptions, and tougher penalties for misuse. Later (Sept. 3) he said a statewide ban, stricter limits (retention from two weeks or 30 days up to a year; law-enforcement-only access), or the status quo were options, and called ALDOT's rules minimal. Sen. Robert Stewart (D-Selma) also backs changes. Prefiled bills expected after the Nov. 3, 2026 election; session begins in February 2027. (NBC 15 (WPMI), Aug. 24, 2026; WSFA via WBRC, Aug. 27, 2026; ABC 33/40, Sept. 3, 2026)
  7. Sept. 1, 2026 Rep. Rick Rehm (R-District 85) floated a full ban or tighter data rules; Sen. Donnie Chesteen said the Senate will likely take up the issue early in the session. Gov. Kay Ivey's office had not responded. (WTVY (via FOX10), Sept. 1, 2026)
  8. Sept. 18, 2026 Spectrum News reported no specific Alabama statute governs plate readers and cited an Alabama Policy Institute estimate of close to 2,800 Flock cameras in the state. (Spectrum News, Sept. 18, 2026)
  9. Sept. 22, 2026 ALDOT records obtained by WPMI/ABC 33/40 showed 872 public-safety sensors approved on state rights-of-way statewide; records did not show retention, access, vendor or safeguards. (ABC 33/40, Sept. 22, 2026)

State agencies

Alabama Department of Transportation

Status
Checked: no program found
Vendors
Cameras
Count not documented
Permitting authority; no source shows ALDOT operating plate readers. ABC 33/40 (Sept. 22, 2026) reported ALDOT records show 872 public-safety sensors approved for other agencies on state rights-of-way (430 in central Alabama).
Sources
ABC 33/40, Sept. 22, 2026; Alabama Department of Transportation, Jan. 1, 2023; Alabama Department of Transportation, Sept. 3, 2026; Alabama Department of Transportation, Oct. 31, 2026; BirminghamWatch (from Alabama Daily News), May 22, 2020
  1. May 22, 2020 ALDOT proposed rules letting city, county and state law enforcement place plate readers and other 'public safety sensors' on its rights-of-way; three-year permits, no fee, use limited to law enforcement/public safety, no monetizing data; comments due May 29, 2020. (BirminghamWatch (from Alabama Daily News), May 22, 2020)
  2. Feb. 1, 2023 Unpermitted sensors on ALDOT right-of-way without a submitted application became unlawful encroachments subject to removal (deadline to apply Jan. 31, 2023). Applicants need an ORI and an ALEA CJIS vendor verification permit for each LPR vendor. (Alabama Department of Transportation, Jan. 1, 2023)
  3. Sept. 3, 2026 Active-application list updated; in this region it shows approved LPR permits for Gulf Shores PD and Pine Hill PD and pending LPR applications for Atmore, Brewton, Grove Hill, Semmes and Spanish Fort police. (Alabama Department of Transportation, Sept. 3, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • ALDOT's permit page links ALEA/AJIC rule chapter 265-X-6. The FAQ sets no retention period.

From agency records.

Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (CJIS Division)

Status
Checked: no program found
Vendors
Cameras
Count not documented
No source found showing ALEA operates its own readers. Under AJIC rule chapter 265-X-6 the ALEA CJIS Division is to keep a State LPR Registry, audit capturing agencies at least every three years and report each year to the commission; vendors must sign an ALEA CJIS security agreement. ALDOT's permit FAQ requires an ALEA CJIS vendor verification permit for each LPR vendor. In 2020 ALEA said it had no plans to use ALDOT property for sensors.
Sources
Alabama Administrative Code (Alabama Justice Information Commission), March 17, 2022; Alabama Department of Transportation, Jan. 1, 2023; BirminghamWatch (from Alabama Daily News), May 22, 2020
  1. March 17, 2022 AJIC rule chapter 265-X-6 took effect, giving ALEA CJIS the registry, audit and annual-report duties. (Alabama Administrative Code (Alabama Justice Information Commission), March 17, 2022)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Whether the State LPR Registry has been established is not known (records request).

From agency records.