License-plate readers · Arapahoe

Arapahoe

Using license-plate readers · 4 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Adams CountyAlamosa CountyArapahoe CountyArchuleta CountyBaca CountyBent CountyBoulder CountyBroomfield CountyChaffee CountyCheyenne CountyClear Creek CountyConejos CountyCostilla CountyCrowley CountyCuster CountyDelta CountyDenver CountyDolores CountyDouglas CountyEagle CountyEl Paso CountyElbert CountyFremont CountyGarfield CountyGilpin CountyGrand CountyGunnison CountyHinsdale CountyHuerfano CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKiowa CountyKit Carson CountyLa Plata CountyLake CountyLarimer CountyLas Animas CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyMesa CountyMineral CountyMoffat CountyMontezuma CountyMontrose CountyMorgan CountyOtero CountyOuray CountyPark CountyPhillips CountyPitkin CountyProwers CountyPueblo CountyRio Blanco CountyRio Grande CountyRoutt CountySaguache CountySan Juan CountySan Miguel CountySedgwick CountySummit CountyTeller CountyWashington CountyWeld CountyYuma County

Arapahoe County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
25
25 Flock cameras were in place in July 2025, from a pilot that began in 2024. Commissioners approved up to 17 more starting in 2026; the sheriff's office said not all 17 may be needed, so the final number was not set.
Contract
Flock Safety: $127,000 year · from Jan. 1, 2026 · approved by Board of County Commissioners · On July 1, 2025, the board approved a one-year extension of the Flock contract and up to 17 more cameras. The estimated 2026 cost for all cameras was $127,000. The new cameras carried a $62,500 initial cost and up to $52,000 a year in upkeep. Forfeiture funds were paying for the cameras at the time, and the office had also asked for money from voter-approved Measure 1A. The measure passed with one no vote, from Commissioner Jessica Campbell; the full tally was not reported. (Colorado Politics, July 1, 2025; FOX31 KDVR, July 2, 2025)
  1. 2024 The county signed its first Flock agreement, a 25-camera pilot. (FOX31 KDVR, July 2, 2025)
  2. July 1, 2025 County commissioners voted to extend the Flock contract by a year and add up to 17 cameras. Commissioner Jessica Campbell voted no, citing cost-sharing questions with partners such as Centennial and privacy concerns. (Colorado Politics, July 1, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • A sheriff's office captain told Colorado Politics in July 2025 that the data cannot be shared with ICE and that only law enforcement can access it.
  • Centennial contracts with the sheriff's office for policing. Campbell named the City of Centennial as a possible cost-sharing partner.
  • The 'start' date reflects the extension year (2026) and is not a confirmed contract date. No source was found for a 2027 renewal.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Aurora Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
100
In October 2025, Chief Todd Chamberlain said there were about 100 Flock systems. An undated Westword article, citing Flock, gave about 114. In October 2026, 12 cameras at five high schools were turned off.
Contract
Flock Safety: $65,000 period not stated · Colorado Politics put the cost of the contract for the high-school cameras at about $65,000. It did not say what period or which cameras the figure covers. (Colorado Politics, Oct. 8, 2026)
  1. 2025 APD put Flock cameras on Aurora Public Schools and Cherry Creek School District campuses. (Colorado Politics, Oct. 8, 2026)
  2. Oct. 2025 Chief Todd Chamberlain said the department had about 100 Flock systems and hoped to add more. (FOX31 KDVR (via Yahoo News), Oct. 27, 2025)
  3. May 2026 At Cherry Creek Schools' request, APD removed the cameras on that district's campuses. (Colorado Politics, Oct. 8, 2026)
  4. Oct. 2026 Several council members asked for the change, and APD turned off 12 Flock cameras in the parking lots of five Aurora high schools. Chamberlain said Flock would take them down within three weeks unless the school board started its own contract. (Colorado Politics, Oct. 8, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The source gives the shutoff day only as Tuesday. The article was published Oct. 8, 2026.
  • In October 2025, the chief said the city had used plate-reader technology for about ten years.
  • Aurora spans Arapahoe, Adams and Douglas counties.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Englewood Police Department

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
12
The city's Flock transparency page lists 10 fixed and 2 mobile (flex) ALPR cameras, plus a trailer with three video cameras that has no plate-reading function.
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · approved by City Council · On Sept. 8, 2026, the council voted to end the Flock contract. Amount and term were not found. (Colorado Politics, Sept. 25, 2026)
  1. March 17, 2026 After the March 17 council meeting, a council member asked staff for the cost of terminating the city's Flock contract, including legal costs. (City of Englewood, March 16, 2026)
  2. Sept. 8, 2026 City Council voted to end the Flock contract. A separate vote on an Axon contract failed 3-3. (Colorado Politics, Sept. 25, 2026)
  3. Oct. 2026 The city's Flock transparency page, viewed in October 2026, listed 10 fixed and 2 mobile ALPR cameras, 30-day retention and searches limited to Colorado agencies. (City of Englewood Police Department, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Removal of the cameras is not confirmed.
  • According to the transparency page, only Colorado agencies can search Englewood images, federal agencies have no direct access, and data is purged after 30 days.
  • The transparency page is undated; the 2026-10 date is when it was viewed, and the page does not mention the September vote.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Greenwood Village Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Rekor Systems
Cameras
16
Council approved 2 readers in 2020, and 14 more were installed after a July 17, 2023 study session. The total of 16 is derived from those figures.
  1. 2020 City Council approved two ALPRs. (City of Greenwood Village, date not shown)
  2. July 17, 2023 After a council study session, the city installed 14 more ALPRs. (City of Greenwood Village, date not shown)
  3. Oct. 2026 The city's ALPR page, viewed in October 2026, describes the Rekor program and its 21-day retention policy. (City of Greenwood Village, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The city page names Rekor Systems as the vendor and gives 21-day retention. It does not mention Flock.
  • The city page is undated. Active status rests on the page currently describing the program in the present tense.

From agency records.

Statewide

  1. May 23, 2025 Gov. Jared Polis signed SB25-276. It extends existing limits on disclosing personal identifying information for federal immigration enforcement from state agencies to counties, cities and other local governments, with civil penalties for intentional violations. The bill text summary does not mention plate readers specifically. Local officials, such as Longmont's police chief, have cited Colorado's bar on sharing personal information for immigration enforcement in discussing plate-reader data. (Complete Colorado, June 9, 2025; ACLU of Colorado, date not shown; Colorado General Assembly, date not shown; Boulder Reporting Lab, Dec. 11, 2025)
  2. 2026 Colorado law currently lets government agencies keep plate-reader data for as long as three years, according to SB26-070 sponsor Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson (via Colorado Newsline) and CBS Colorado. Flock's default retention is 30 days, CBS Colorado reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; CBS Colorado, Sept. 22, 2025)
  3. Feb. 2026 The Senate Judiciary Committee advanced SB26-070 on a 5-2 vote, with Sens. John Carson and Dylan Roberts opposed. Colorado Newsline reported the vote as taking place on a Monday; its story is dated Feb. 24, 2026. The bill would have required a warrant for plate-reader database searches once three days had passed since a crime, blocked most sharing with out-of-state agencies, prohibited sale of historical data, required audits of who accesses the data, and limited retention to 30 days unless an active investigation needed more. Sponsor: Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson; co-sponsors Sen. Judy Amabile and Reps. Yara Zokaie and Kenny Nguyen. (Colorado Newsline, Feb. 24, 2026)
  4. April 2026 SB26-070 died on the Senate floor when, at its sponsors' request, it was laid over until July 4, after the session's end. Colorado Newsline reported the day as a Wednesday in a story dated April 29, 2026. Sen. Judy Amabile told Colorado Newsline that Gov. Polis had threatened to veto the bill if it kept the warrant requirement; the governor's office did not immediately respond to the outlet. Police, sheriffs, district attorneys and cities opposed the bill, Colorado Public Radio reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; Colorado Public Radio, April 30, 2026)

State agencies

Colorado State Patrol

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CSP-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock transparency portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the Colorado State Patrol among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. That shows access to a local network, not a CSP-run camera program.

From agency records.

Colorado Bureau of Investigation

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CBI-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the CBI among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. No information was found on CIAC's handling of plate-reader data.

From agency records.