Colorado Springs Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Axon, Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 90
90 Axon plate readers mounted on light posts across the city, which replaced 55 Flock cameras in March 2026. - Contract
- Flock Safety: period not stated · to April 2026 · Axios reported that the city ended its Flock contract in April 2026 and cited cost. (Axios Colorado Springs, Oct. 1, 2026)
- Contract
- Axon: period not stated · Amount and term were not found. (Colorado Politics, Sept. 30, 2026; KKTV 11 News, Feb. 9, 2026)
- Feb. 2026 Chief Adrian Vasquez said the city was close to tripling its plate-reader cameras, which are used by the department's real-time crime center. KKTV reported the switch would be from Flock to Axon. (KKTV 11 News, Feb. 9, 2026)
- March 2026 The city put up 90 Axon plate readers, replacing 55 Flock cameras. (Colorado Politics, Sept. 30, 2026; Axios Colorado Springs, Oct. 1, 2026)
- April 2026 The department's Flock contract ended. Axios reported that cost was the reason. (Axios Colorado Springs, Oct. 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
- The KKTV report of Feb. 9, 2026 says the department follows retention rules but does not state the period.
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.