License-plate readers · Jefferson

Jefferson

Using license-plate readers · 6 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Adams CountyAlamosa CountyArapahoe CountyArchuleta CountyBaca CountyBent CountyBoulder CountyBroomfield CountyChaffee CountyCheyenne CountyClear Creek CountyConejos CountyCostilla CountyCrowley CountyCuster CountyDelta CountyDenver CountyDolores CountyDouglas CountyEagle CountyEl Paso CountyElbert CountyFremont CountyGarfield CountyGilpin CountyGrand CountyGunnison CountyHinsdale CountyHuerfano CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKiowa CountyKit Carson CountyLa Plata CountyLake CountyLarimer CountyLas Animas CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyMesa CountyMineral CountyMoffat CountyMontezuma CountyMontrose CountyMorgan CountyOtero CountyOuray CountyPark CountyPhillips CountyPitkin CountyProwers CountyPueblo CountyRio Blanco CountyRio Grande CountyRoutt CountySaguache CountySan Juan CountySan Miguel CountySedgwick CountySummit CountyTeller CountyWashington CountyWeld CountyYuma County

Westminster Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not reported.
  1. Sept. 2025 Westminster released Flock sharing data in response to a CBS Colorado records request and allowed nationwide searches at the time. (CBS Colorado, Sept. 22, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • In September 2025, CBS Colorado reported that Westminster provided Flock sharing data in response to a records request and allowed nationwide searches.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Arvada Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No dated count. An undated Westword article, citing Flock, said Arvada had 16 Flock cameras. The city page points readers to the Flock transparency portal for the number.
  1. Oct. 2026 The city's ALPR page, viewed in October 2026, says the department uses plate readers from several vendors, including Flock. It lists 30-day retention and bars immigration-enforcement use. (City of Arvada, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The city's ALPR page is undated; the 2026-10 date is when it was viewed.

From agency records.

Edgewater Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
6
Six plate-reading cameras around the city, as of September 2025.
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · from 2023 · A five-year contract signed in 2023 that replaced an earlier plate-reader system. (Edgewater Echo, Sept. 8, 2025)
  1. July 2025 The city stopped sharing its Flock data nationally. It still shares with Colorado agencies. The date is approximate (about a month before Aug. 19). (Edgewater Echo, Sept. 8, 2025)
  2. Aug. 19, 2025 The council reached consensus to continue the 2023 Flock contract and revisit the matter at a future work session. No formal vote was taken. (Edgewater Echo, Sept. 8, 2025)
  3. 2026 Westword reported that Edgewater has a Flock contract. (Westword, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Westword reported in 2026 that Edgewater has a Flock contract.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Golden Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
11
11 Flock cameras, according to Colorado Politics and the Denver Gazette in October 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: $27,500 year · from 2023 · to July 2028 · The city pays Flock $27,500 a year, and the contract runs through July 2028. Golden has used Flock since 2023. (Colorado Politics, Oct. 12, 2026; Denver Gazette, Oct. 14, 2026)
  1. Oct. 2026 Councilmembers Sandra Knecht and Emily Kurzinski proposed ending the Flock contract and creating a citywide framework for surveillance technology and data. At a Tuesday council meeting, the council made no decision and asked staff to report back on the legal and contract consequences of ending it. (Colorado Politics, Oct. 12, 2026; Denver Gazette, Oct. 14, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Police Chief Michele Wagner's memo says the department amended its Flock policy to add audits, limit data sharing and keep data 30 days.
  • Both articles give the meeting day only as Tuesday. The nearest Tuesday was Oct. 13, 2026, which is not confirmed.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
25
Denver7 reported 25 cameras in unincorporated Jefferson County in February 2025. The sheriff's current Flock page does not give a count.
  1. 2024 Denver7 reported the office used the cameras in 238 cases in 2024, described as its first year with Flock. (Denver7, Feb. 17, 2025)
  2. 2026 The sheriff's Flock policy page (copyright 2026) describes Flock cameras at fixed locations across the county, 30-day retention, and a ban on use for immigration enforcement. (Jefferson County Sheriff's Office, date not shown)
  3. 2026 Westword reported that unincorporated Jefferson County has a Flock contract. (Westword, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The office's Flock page (copyright 2026) gives 30-day retention and limits access to approved Colorado agencies. It bars use of the data for immigration enforcement and for traffic enforcement based only on an ALPR alert.
  • Westword reported in 2026 that unincorporated Jefferson County has a Flock contract.

From agency records.

Lakewood Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Count not reported. Westword said the city did not answer a request for the total.
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · Westword reported that the contract reaches its one-year mark in early 2027 and that renewal talks were expected in January. (Westword, date not shown)
  1. Aug. 10, 2026 The City Council's public comment site received more than 100 comments on the Flock contract. Westword said none of the 120 comments supported the cameras. (Westword, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Westword article is undated. It says the contract reaches its one-year mark in early 2027, which places the Aug. 10 comments in 2026.
  • Councilmember Jeslin Shahrezaei asked for a session to learn more before the renewal talks.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. May 23, 2025 Gov. Jared Polis signed SB25-276. It extends existing limits on disclosing personal identifying information for federal immigration enforcement from state agencies to counties, cities and other local governments, with civil penalties for intentional violations. The bill text summary does not mention plate readers specifically. Local officials, such as Longmont's police chief, have cited Colorado's bar on sharing personal information for immigration enforcement in discussing plate-reader data. (Complete Colorado, June 9, 2025; ACLU of Colorado, date not shown; Colorado General Assembly, date not shown; Boulder Reporting Lab, Dec. 11, 2025)
  2. 2026 Colorado law currently lets government agencies keep plate-reader data for as long as three years, according to SB26-070 sponsor Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson (via Colorado Newsline) and CBS Colorado. Flock's default retention is 30 days, CBS Colorado reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; CBS Colorado, Sept. 22, 2025)
  3. Feb. 2026 The Senate Judiciary Committee advanced SB26-070 on a 5-2 vote, with Sens. John Carson and Dylan Roberts opposed. Colorado Newsline reported the vote as taking place on a Monday; its story is dated Feb. 24, 2026. The bill would have required a warrant for plate-reader database searches once three days had passed since a crime, blocked most sharing with out-of-state agencies, prohibited sale of historical data, required audits of who accesses the data, and limited retention to 30 days unless an active investigation needed more. Sponsor: Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson; co-sponsors Sen. Judy Amabile and Reps. Yara Zokaie and Kenny Nguyen. (Colorado Newsline, Feb. 24, 2026)
  4. April 2026 SB26-070 died on the Senate floor when, at its sponsors' request, it was laid over until July 4, after the session's end. Colorado Newsline reported the day as a Wednesday in a story dated April 29, 2026. Sen. Judy Amabile told Colorado Newsline that Gov. Polis had threatened to veto the bill if it kept the warrant requirement; the governor's office did not immediately respond to the outlet. Police, sheriffs, district attorneys and cities opposed the bill, Colorado Public Radio reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; Colorado Public Radio, April 30, 2026)

State agencies

Colorado State Patrol

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CSP-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock transparency portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the Colorado State Patrol among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. That shows access to a local network, not a CSP-run camera program.

From agency records.

Colorado Bureau of Investigation

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CBI-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the CBI among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. No information was found on CIAC's handling of plate-reader data.

From agency records.