License-plate readers · Larimer

Larimer

Using license-plate readers · 4 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Adams CountyAlamosa CountyArapahoe CountyArchuleta CountyBaca CountyBent CountyBoulder CountyBroomfield CountyChaffee CountyCheyenne CountyClear Creek CountyConejos CountyCostilla CountyCrowley CountyCuster CountyDelta CountyDenver CountyDolores CountyDouglas CountyEagle CountyEl Paso CountyElbert CountyFremont CountyGarfield CountyGilpin CountyGrand CountyGunnison CountyHinsdale CountyHuerfano CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKiowa CountyKit Carson CountyLa Plata CountyLake CountyLarimer CountyLas Animas CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyMesa CountyMineral CountyMoffat CountyMontezuma CountyMontrose CountyMorgan CountyOtero CountyOuray CountyPark CountyPhillips CountyPitkin CountyProwers CountyPueblo CountyRio Blanco CountyRio Grande CountyRoutt CountySaguache CountySan Juan CountySan Miguel CountySedgwick CountySummit CountyTeller CountyWashington CountyWeld CountyYuma County

Estes Park Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
Count not documented
A 2013 article describes the system as two roof-mounted cameras linked to a laptop; how many vehicles carried it is not reported.
  1. March 2013 The department received a vehicle-mounted license plate reader system at no cost through its membership in a regional auto-theft task force funded by the Colorado Auto Theft Prevention Authority. (Estes Park News, March 20, 2013)
  2. July 2025 Police Chief Ian Stewart proposed leasing four fixed Flock cameras at town entry points, at $28,700 for the first year and $24,000 a year after; no approval was reported. (Source places the presentation the week before July 9, 2025.) (Estes Valley Voice, July 9, 2025)
  3. March 2026 The town had not authorized funds for a Flock system. (Estes Valley Voice, March 3, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • As of March 2026 the Estes Valley Voice reported the town had not authorized funds for a Flock system.
  • Current status of the 2013 mobile reader is unknown.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Fort Collins Police Services

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
15
City-owned Flock cameras when council ended the program (KUNC and Denver7, June 2026). KUNC reported 14 in February 2026, and a police spokesperson quoted by the Collegian also cited 14, while the Collegian itself says 15 were removed.
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · to April 9, 2027 · An April 30, 2026 police memo to council says the contract runs to April 9, 2027 and is fully paid through April 2027. Council directed staff on June 16, 2026 to begin terminating it. (City of Fort Collins, April 30, 2026; City of Fort Collins, June 16, 2026)
  1. Feb. 24, 2026 City Council held a work session on the Flock program; no action was taken. (KUNC, Feb. 25, 2026; City of Fort Collins, April 30, 2026)
  2. June 2026 Councilmember Anne Nelsen said the cameras had already been shut off after the vote. (Denver7, June 18, 2026)
  3. June 16, 2026 City Council voted 6-1 (Councilmember Chris Conway opposed) to stop Flock data collection immediately, begin ending the contract, remove the cameras, and hold off on any request for proposals for similar technology until a surveillance policy is finished. (City of Fort Collins, June 16, 2026; KUNC, June 19, 2026)
  4. July 2026 City staff told the Collegian in July 2026 that all 15 city plate-reader cameras had been removed. (The Rocky Mountain Collegian, Aug. 21, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Police said data was deleted after 30 days unless pulled for evidence, and regional sharing was limited to Colorado agencies.
  • The April 2026 memo says Flock was used in more than 100 cases through mid-April 2026, about half of which led to a citation or arrest.
  • Police Chief Jeff Swoboda said the department had used Flock for a little over a year.

From agency records.

Larimer County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
49
Automated license plate reader cameras installed across the county, as reported by Denver7 in August 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · from Jan. 1, 2026 · to Dec. 31, 2027 · Denver7 reports the office recently renewed its Flock contract to cover 2026 and 2027; the first agreement was signed in 2022 under the previous sheriff. Exact dates, amount and approving body not reported; start/end set to calendar years as stated. (Denver7, Aug. 3, 2026)
  1. 2022 The sheriff's office first signed an agreement with Flock Safety, under the sheriff who preceded John Feyen. (Denver7, Aug. 3, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Sheriff John Feyen said the office receives data from 86 in-state agencies and shares with more than 600 out-of-state agencies, and said the office does not share with ICE.
  • Feyen said an audit process reviews the data and the searches being run.
  • Denver7 links to the office's public Flock policy page.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Windsor Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
14
"LPR and other cameras" listed on the department's Flock transparency portal, read Oct. 30, 2026.
  1. Oct. 2026 The department's Flock transparency portal listed 14 cameras and 119 searches in the previous 30 days (read Oct. 30, 2026). (Flock Safety / Windsor Police Department, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Portal lists 30-day retention, 119 searches in the prior 30 days, and immigration enforcement among prohibited uses.
  • Portal shows access granted to hundreds of organizations, including some federal entities such as the U.S. Postal Inspection Service.

From agency records.

Statewide

  1. May 23, 2025 Gov. Jared Polis signed SB25-276. It extends existing limits on disclosing personal identifying information for federal immigration enforcement from state agencies to counties, cities and other local governments, with civil penalties for intentional violations. The bill text summary does not mention plate readers specifically. Local officials, such as Longmont's police chief, have cited Colorado's bar on sharing personal information for immigration enforcement in discussing plate-reader data. (Complete Colorado, June 9, 2025; ACLU of Colorado, date not shown; Colorado General Assembly, date not shown; Boulder Reporting Lab, Dec. 11, 2025)
  2. 2026 Colorado law currently lets government agencies keep plate-reader data for as long as three years, according to SB26-070 sponsor Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson (via Colorado Newsline) and CBS Colorado. Flock's default retention is 30 days, CBS Colorado reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; CBS Colorado, Sept. 22, 2025)
  3. Feb. 2026 The Senate Judiciary Committee advanced SB26-070 on a 5-2 vote, with Sens. John Carson and Dylan Roberts opposed. Colorado Newsline reported the vote as taking place on a Monday; its story is dated Feb. 24, 2026. The bill would have required a warrant for plate-reader database searches once three days had passed since a crime, blocked most sharing with out-of-state agencies, prohibited sale of historical data, required audits of who accesses the data, and limited retention to 30 days unless an active investigation needed more. Sponsor: Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson; co-sponsors Sen. Judy Amabile and Reps. Yara Zokaie and Kenny Nguyen. (Colorado Newsline, Feb. 24, 2026)
  4. April 2026 SB26-070 died on the Senate floor when, at its sponsors' request, it was laid over until July 4, after the session's end. Colorado Newsline reported the day as a Wednesday in a story dated April 29, 2026. Sen. Judy Amabile told Colorado Newsline that Gov. Polis had threatened to veto the bill if it kept the warrant requirement; the governor's office did not immediately respond to the outlet. Police, sheriffs, district attorneys and cities opposed the bill, Colorado Public Radio reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; Colorado Public Radio, April 30, 2026)

State agencies

Colorado State Patrol

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CSP-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock transparency portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the Colorado State Patrol among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. That shows access to a local network, not a CSP-run camera program.

From agency records.

Colorado Bureau of Investigation

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CBI-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the CBI among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. No information was found on CIAC's handling of plate-reader data.

From agency records.