License-plate readers · Weld

Weld

Using license-plate readers · 6 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Adams CountyAlamosa CountyArapahoe CountyArchuleta CountyBaca CountyBent CountyBoulder CountyBroomfield CountyChaffee CountyCheyenne CountyClear Creek CountyConejos CountyCostilla CountyCrowley CountyCuster CountyDelta CountyDenver CountyDolores CountyDouglas CountyEagle CountyEl Paso CountyElbert CountyFremont CountyGarfield CountyGilpin CountyGrand CountyGunnison CountyHinsdale CountyHuerfano CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKiowa CountyKit Carson CountyLa Plata CountyLake CountyLarimer CountyLas Animas CountyLincoln CountyLogan CountyMesa CountyMineral CountyMoffat CountyMontezuma CountyMontrose CountyMorgan CountyOtero CountyOuray CountyPark CountyPhillips CountyPitkin CountyProwers CountyPueblo CountyRio Blanco CountyRio Grande CountyRoutt CountySaguache CountySan Juan CountySan Miguel CountySedgwick CountySummit CountyTeller CountyWashington CountyWeld CountyYuma County

Brighton Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Axon
Cameras
Count not documented
The 2021 contract outfits 25 marked patrol cars with two dash cameras each and includes automatic license plate reading. The number of ALPR units is not stated.
Contract
Axon: $2,700,000 total · from June 2021 · approved by City Council · A 10-year Axon contract for the Officer Safety Program 7+, covering body cameras, Tasers, cloud storage and in-car dash cameras paired with automatic license plate reading. The ALPR cost is not broken out. The city's June 2021 release describes a Tuesday vote while being dated Wednesday, June 2, so the exact approval date is unclear. No source confirms the contract remains in force or that the ALPR feature is used today. (City of Brighton, June 2, 2021)
  1. June 2021 City Council voted 7-0 to approve a $2.7 million, 10-year Axon contract that includes patrol-car dash cameras with automatic license plate reading. The city's release is dated June 2, 2021 but calls the meeting day Tuesday. (City of Brighton, June 2, 2021)
Conflicts and open questions
  • CBS Colorado reported in September 2025 that Brighton refused its open-records request for Flock sharing data. Whether Brighton also uses Flock is unconfirmed; see unresolved and leads.

From agency records.

Erie Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
24
24 Flock cameras owned by the department, in use since 2022. The Flock portal last updated May 20, 2025 also lists 24.
Contract
Flock Safety: $67,000 year · About $67,000 is in the proposed 2027 budget. The contract is expected to come up for renewal in 2027. (Yellow Scene Magazine, Oct. 21, 2026)
  1. May 20, 2025 Erie's Flock portal listed 24 owned cameras and 30-day retention. (Flock Safety / Erie Police Department, May 20, 2025)
  2. Oct. 8, 2026 The town held a town hall on the Flock cameras. No formal decision was made. (Yellow Scene Magazine, Oct. 21, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Erie shares data with other Colorado agencies but no longer takes part in the nationwide network. Retention was shortened from 30 days to seven.
  • The portal lists immigration enforcement among barred uses.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Longmont Police Department (Longmont Public Safety)

Status
Use suspended
Vendors
Axon, Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
Longmont removed its 15 fixed Flock cameras. The city said Sept. 17, 2026 that it has delayed deploying 15 replacement Axon cameras.
Contract
Axon: period not stated · from 2026 · Signed in spring 2026, replacing Flock. Amount and term not found. (City of Longmont, Sept. 17, 2026; Boulder Reporting Lab, Oct. 8, 2026)
  1. Dec. 9, 2025 City Council voted 5-1 to immediately pause all sharing of Longmont's Flock data, and directed staff to research what ending the contract would require. (Boulder Reporting Lab, Dec. 11, 2025)
  2. 2026 Longmont Public Safety signed an agreement with Axon for plate-reader technology to replace Flock (spring 2026, per Boulder Reporting Lab). (City of Longmont, Sept. 17, 2026; Boulder Reporting Lab, Oct. 8, 2026)
  3. Sept. 17, 2026 The city said it had taken down its 15 fixed Flock cameras and was holding back the 15 Axon replacements until it finishes reviewing its policies, audit rules and data-sharing practices; it also noted pending state legislation. (City of Longmont, Sept. 17, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Status is 'suspended' because no plate-reader cameras are operating: the Flock cameras are gone and the Axon rollout is delayed. The city has not said the Axon agreement was canceled.

From agency records.

Firestone Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
19
Flock cameras owned by the department, per its utilization plan updated November 2025.
  1. Nov. 2025 The department updated its Flock camera utilization plan, signed by Chief David C. Angelo. (Town of Firestone Police Department, Nov. 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Plan says data is for law-enforcement use only and will not be sold; hotlists include NCIC, NCMEC Amber Alerts and CCIC.

From agency records.

Greeley Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Rekor Systems, Leonardo (ELSAG)
Cameras
19
15 Rekor cameras plus 4 ELSAG readers (2 fixed, 2 mobile) as of March 2026, per the city's ALPR page. The page maps Flock camera sites but gives no Flock count, so the total is a floor.
  1. June 6, 2023 Greeley police said they were deploying plate readers that notify officers immediately when a stolen vehicle passes. (City of Greeley, June 6, 2023)
  2. March 2026 The city's ALPR page listed 15 Rekor cameras and 4 ELSAG readers in use, alongside a map of Flock camera sites. (City of Greeley / Greeley Police Department, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Retention: 21 days for Flock and Rekor data; 1 year for ELSAG data, which is managed by the Colorado State Patrol.
  • Rekor data is not shared with other agencies; ELSAG data is shared with Colorado law enforcement; Flock data may be shared only for law-enforcement purposes, with outside sharing documented.
  • The city lists immigration enforcement among prohibited uses.

From agency records.

Windsor Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
14
"LPR and other cameras" listed on the department's Flock transparency portal, read Oct. 30, 2026.
  1. Oct. 2026 The department's Flock transparency portal listed 14 cameras and 119 searches in the previous 30 days (read Oct. 30, 2026). (Flock Safety / Windsor Police Department, date not shown)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Portal lists 30-day retention, 119 searches in the prior 30 days, and immigration enforcement among prohibited uses.
  • Portal shows access granted to hundreds of organizations, including some federal entities such as the U.S. Postal Inspection Service.

From agency records.

Statewide

  1. May 23, 2025 Gov. Jared Polis signed SB25-276. It extends existing limits on disclosing personal identifying information for federal immigration enforcement from state agencies to counties, cities and other local governments, with civil penalties for intentional violations. The bill text summary does not mention plate readers specifically. Local officials, such as Longmont's police chief, have cited Colorado's bar on sharing personal information for immigration enforcement in discussing plate-reader data. (Complete Colorado, June 9, 2025; ACLU of Colorado, date not shown; Colorado General Assembly, date not shown; Boulder Reporting Lab, Dec. 11, 2025)
  2. 2026 Colorado law currently lets government agencies keep plate-reader data for as long as three years, according to SB26-070 sponsor Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson (via Colorado Newsline) and CBS Colorado. Flock's default retention is 30 days, CBS Colorado reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; CBS Colorado, Sept. 22, 2025)
  3. Feb. 2026 The Senate Judiciary Committee advanced SB26-070 on a 5-2 vote, with Sens. John Carson and Dylan Roberts opposed. Colorado Newsline reported the vote as taking place on a Monday; its story is dated Feb. 24, 2026. The bill would have required a warrant for plate-reader database searches once three days had passed since a crime, blocked most sharing with out-of-state agencies, prohibited sale of historical data, required audits of who accesses the data, and limited retention to 30 days unless an active investigation needed more. Sponsor: Sen. Lynda Zamora Wilson; co-sponsors Sen. Judy Amabile and Reps. Yara Zokaie and Kenny Nguyen. (Colorado Newsline, Feb. 24, 2026)
  4. April 2026 SB26-070 died on the Senate floor when, at its sponsors' request, it was laid over until July 4, after the session's end. Colorado Newsline reported the day as a Wednesday in a story dated April 29, 2026. Sen. Judy Amabile told Colorado Newsline that Gov. Polis had threatened to veto the bill if it kept the warrant requirement; the governor's office did not immediately respond to the outlet. Police, sheriffs, district attorneys and cities opposed the bill, Colorado Public Radio reported. (Colorado Newsline, April 29, 2026; Colorado Public Radio, April 30, 2026)

State agencies

Colorado State Patrol

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CSP-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock transparency portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the Colorado State Patrol among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. That shows access to a local network, not a CSP-run camera program.

From agency records.

Colorado Bureau of Investigation

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
Count not documented
No CBI-owned plate-reader program or count was found.
  1. Nov. 27, 2025 Listed among organizations with access to Boulder PD's Flock data. (Flock Safety / Boulder Police Department, Nov. 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Boulder PD Flock portal (updated Nov. 27, 2025) lists the CBI among the organizations with access to Boulder's Flock data. No information was found on CIAC's handling of plate-reader data.

From agency records.