License-plate readers · Lafayette Parish

Lafayette Parish

Using license-plate readers · 7 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Acadia Parish CountyAllen Parish CountyAscension Parish CountyAssumption Parish CountyAvoyelles Parish CountyBeauregard Parish CountyBienville Parish CountyBossier Parish CountyCaddo Parish CountyCalcasieu Parish CountyCaldwell Parish CountyCameron Parish CountyCatahoula Parish CountyClaiborne Parish CountyConcordia Parish CountyDe Soto Parish CountyEast Baton Rouge Parish CountyEast Carroll Parish CountyEast Feliciana Parish CountyEvangeline Parish CountyFranklin Parish CountyGrant Parish CountyIberia Parish CountyIberville Parish CountyJackson Parish CountyJefferson Parish CountyJefferson Davis Parish CountyLafayette Parish CountyLafourche Parish CountyLaSalle Parish CountyLincoln Parish CountyLivingston Parish CountyMadison Parish CountyMorehouse Parish CountyNatchitoches Parish CountyOrleans Parish CountyOuachita Parish CountyPlaquemines Parish CountyPointe Coupee Parish CountyRapides Parish CountyRed River Parish CountyRichland Parish CountySabine Parish CountySt. Bernard Parish CountySt. Charles Parish CountySt. Helena Parish CountySt. James Parish CountySt. John the Baptist Parish CountySt. Landry Parish CountySt. Martin Parish CountySt. Mary Parish CountySt. Tammany Parish CountyTangipahoa Parish CountyTensas Parish CountyTerrebonne Parish CountyUnion Parish CountyVermilion Parish CountyVernon Parish CountyWashington Parish CountyWebster Parish CountyWest Baton Rouge Parish CountyWest Carroll Parish CountyWest Feliciana Parish CountyWinn Parish County

Broussard Police Department (City of Broussard)

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Crime Fighters of Louisiana
Cameras
16
16 cameras under an agreement with the Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Office, viewable at its Real Time Crime Center, per The Current; mentioned alongside the sheriff's Crime Fighters cameras, and not stated how many read plates.
Sources
The Current, 2026
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Current article shows no publication date or 2026 reference; status can move to active if its date is confirmed within the last 12 months.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Carencro Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Sources
The Current, 2026
Conflicts and open questions
  • Single source: The Current says the department has deployed plate readers; vendor, count and contract unknown. The article shows no publication date.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Duson Police Department (Town of Duson)

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Crime Fighters of Louisiana
Cameras
23
23 cameras under an agreement with the Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Office, viewable at its Real Time Crime Center, per The Current; mentioned alongside the sheriff's Crime Fighters cameras, and not stated how many read plates.
Sources
The Current, 2026
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Current article shows no publication date or 2026 reference; status can move to active if its date is confirmed within the last 12 months.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Office

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Crime Fighters of Louisiana
Cameras
168
About 168 Crime Fighters of Louisiana cameras in the parish, according to a 2024 contract cited by The Current; not stated how many read plates.
Contract
Crime Fighters of Louisiana: · from 2024 (The Current, 2026)
Sources
The Current, 2026
  1. 2024 The sheriff's office contracted with Crime Fighters of Louisiana for cameras in the parish, according to The Current. (The Current, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The sheriff's office runs a 24-hour Real Time Crime Center that takes in Flock, Crime Fighters and other camera feeds and coordinates with agencies in Acadia, St. Martin, St. Landry and Vermilion parishes, per The Current.
  • The Current reported standard retention of 30 days, with footage tied to a crime kept up to 60 months under sheriff policy.
  • The Current article shows no publication date; status can move to active if its date is confirmed within the last 12 months.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Lafayette Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
73
Flock plate readers under the department's contract with Flock, per The Current (article undated).
Sources
Flock Safety, Nov. 4, 2025; The Advocate, Feb. 14, 2026; The Current, 2026
  1. Nov. 4, 2025 The department's Flock transparency portal, last updated this date, listed 30-day retention, 611,552 vehicles detected and 35,693 hotlist hits in the previous 30 days, with NCIC and NCMEC Amber Alert hotlists. (Flock Safety, Nov. 4, 2025)
  2. Feb. 14, 2026 The department confirmed to The Advocate that it owns Flock plate-reader cameras and decides where they go; it did not give contract details or costs. (The Advocate, Feb. 14, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The Current reported officers must give a reason for each search and searches are subject to internal audit.

From agency records.

University of Louisiana at Lafayette Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
50
Flock cameras listed in the department's transparency portal, per The Current (undated) and The Vermilion (Mar. 2025). The Advocate (Feb. 2026) reported more than 20 cameras on the campus but did not say who owns them.
Sources
The Current, 2026; The Vermilion (UL Lafayette student newspaper), March 20, 2025; The Advocate, Feb. 14, 2026; University of Louisiana at Lafayette Police Department, date not shown
  1. April 2024 The university police department began using Flock, according to The Current. (The Current, 2026)
  2. March 20, 2025 The student newspaper reported the department operated 50 Flock readers with 30-day retention and, per its Flock portal, detected 211,105 vehicles in the prior 30 days. (The Vermilion (UL Lafayette student newspaper), March 20, 2025)
  3. Feb. 14, 2026 The Advocate reported that more than 20 cameras were installed across the UL Lafayette campus; it did not say who owns or runs them. (The Advocate, Feb. 14, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The department's website says it uses Flock to search after crimes and for real-time hotlist alerts, and links its Flock transparency portal.

From agency records.

Youngsville Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Sources
The Current, 2026
Conflicts and open questions
  • Single source: The Current says the department has deployed plate readers; vendor, count and contract unknown. The article shows no publication date.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. June 2015 The Legislature passed Senate Bill 250, which would have set up a statewide pilot program using automatic license plate recognition to find stolen vehicles and uninsured drivers. Gov. Bobby Jindal vetoed it, writing that the plate and location data would sit in a central database open to participating agencies and some private entities even when no violation was found, which he called "a fundamental risk to personal privacy." (Louisiana Legislature, June 2015; IDG News Service (via CIO.de), June 22, 2015)
  2. May 2016 SB 54 later died when the House and Governmental Affairs Committee voted 7-3 against it, according to the Associated Press. The plate-reader pilot never became law. (Associated Press (via Insurance Journal), May 26, 2016)
  3. May 10, 2016 A follow-up bill, SB 54 by Sen. Ronnie Johns, would have run plate-reader cameras in nine parishes to find uninsured drivers, with sheriffs working with district attorneys, a 60-day cap on keeping most data, and a Jan. 1, 2022, end date. The House Committee on the Administration of Criminal Justice voted 6-5 to defer it on May 10, 2016. (Louisiana Legislature, May 2016; WAFB, May 10, 2016)
  4. April 2017 A Louisiana State Police Troop D spokesman told KPLC that troopers use some plate-scanning technology and that agencies across the state use it. (KPLC, April 18, 2017)
  5. March 2023 The state Department of Transportation and Development has a separate permit form for automatic license plate cameras on its right-of-way (revised March 2023). The permit must be in the name of a law enforcement agency, and contractors may not hold it. DOTD staff must visit the site first, the cameras may not go on DOTD traffic signal equipment or draw power from it, and the agency must carry insurance and hold DOTD harmless. The form does not address how data is kept or shared. (Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, March 2023)
  6. 2024 Act 343 of the 2024 Regular Session added R.S. 14:57.1, which makes it a crime to intentionally vandalize, tamper with or destroy a "crime camera system." The law defines that term to include any license plate reader installed to watch for or deter illegal activity. The penalty is up to two years in prison, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. The statute covers damage to the equipment; it does not regulate how plate data is collected, kept or shared. (Louisiana Legislature, Aug. 1, 2024)
  7. Aug. 2026 State Rep. Danny McCormick, who represents District 1, said he intends to propose a bill banning Flock cameras in Louisiana. Until the Legislature meets again next spring, he wants DOTD to stop permitting the cameras, and he said he has filed public records requests with DOTD to learn who owns them. (KTBS 3, Aug. 5, 2026; KNOE, Aug. 12, 2026)
  8. Aug. 2026 A Louisiana State Police spokesman confirmed to KNOE that the agency uses Flock cameras. He said they help find vehicles tied to missing or endangered people and wanted persons, and that the agency does not discuss specific technologies or locations. (KNOE, Aug. 12, 2026)
  9. Aug. 2026 Louisiana lawmakers approved a 10-year, $192.6 million contract with Motorola that was not competitively bid; Gov. Jeff Landry's chief information officer said her office secured savings in the deal. About $54.4 million is for radios, license plate readers, body cameras and in-car video for State Police, Wildlife and Fisheries, Public Safety and Corrections, Probation and Parole, the Office of Juvenile Justice and the State Fire Marshal. The contract expires Aug. 13, 2036, depends on the Legislature funding it each year, and gives sheriffs and local agencies the same equipment discount as the state. (Louisiana Illuminator, Aug. 14, 2026)

State agencies

Louisiana State Police

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Motorola Solutions
Contract
Motorola Solutions: $192.6 million total · from Aug. 2026 · to Aug. 13, 2036 · approved by Louisiana Legislature (budget committee review); Landry administration negotiated (Louisiana Illuminator, Aug. 14, 2026)
Sources
KPLC, April 18, 2017; KNOE, Aug. 12, 2026; Louisiana Illuminator, Aug. 14, 2026
  1. April 2017 A Troop D spokesman said troopers use some plate-scanning technology. (KPLC, April 18, 2017)
  2. Aug. 2026 A State Police spokesman confirmed the agency uses Flock cameras to help find vehicles tied to missing or endangered people and wanted persons. (KNOE, Aug. 12, 2026)
  3. Aug. 2026 The state signed a 10-year Motorola contract that includes license plate readers, body cameras and in-car video for State Police and other state agencies. A State Police official said Motorola won on price after 2025 pilots with Motorola and Axon. (Louisiana Illuminator, Aug. 14, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The $192.6 million Motorola contract covers the statewide LWIN radio network ($138.2 million) and $54.4 million in police equipment; the article does not say how much of that is for plate readers or name the reader product.
  • The Illuminator article says the contract was signed on a Thursday without a calendar date; it expires Aug. 13, 2036. Date given as 2026-08.
  • No camera count or Flock contract amount found for State Police.
  • The Illuminator page showed no byline.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.