Data center campus · Near Interstate 10 and Read Boulevard, New Orleans East, Orleans County, Louisiana

MS Solar Grid Data proposal, New Orleans East

Paused by moratorium as of Jan. 28, 2026

A two-phase data center floated for New Orleans East that would have needed residential land rezoned; it prompted the city's 2026 data center pause.

Cite← Louisiana data centers
Acadia CountyAllen CountyAscension CountyAssumption CountyAvoyelles CountyBeauregard CountyBienville CountyBossier CountyCaddo CountyCalcasieu CountyCaldwell CountyCameron CountyCatahoula CountyClaiborne CountyConcordia CountyDe Soto CountyEast Baton Rouge CountyEast Carroll CountyEast Feliciana CountyEvangeline CountyFranklin CountyGrant CountyIberia CountyIberville CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyJefferson Davis CountyLafayette CountyLafourche CountyLaSalle CountyLincoln CountyLivingston CountyMadison CountyMorehouse CountyNatchitoches CountyOrleans CountyOuachita CountyPlaquemines CountyPointe Coupee CountyRapides CountyRed River CountyRichland CountySabine CountySt. Bernard CountySt. Charles CountySt. Helena CountySt. James CountySt. John the Baptist CountySt. Landry CountySt. Martin CountySt. Mary CountySt. Tammany CountyTangipahoa CountyTensas CountyTerrebonne CountyUnion CountyVermilion CountyVernon CountyWashington CountyWebster CountyWest Baton Rouge CountyWest Carroll CountyWest Feliciana CountyWinn CountyMS Solar Grid Data proposal, New Orleans East · Paused by moratorium
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectMS Solar Grid Data proposal, New Orleans East
Developer and teamMS Solar Grid Data
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The City Council adopted a one-year pause on data center licenses and approvals citywide while planners write zoning rules, after the New Orleans East proposal drew concern. (New Orleans City Council, Jan. 28, 2026; Verite News New Orleans, Jan. 28, 2026)

The full record

Status note
No application had been filed with the City Planning Commission; the City Council's one-year data center pause followed neighborhood objections.
Power note
Size not disclosed; may be under 50 MW.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.