Bellingham Police Department
- Status
- Ended or removed
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed. - Contract
- Flock Safety: · to Sept. 4, 2026 · Not renewed. (The Boston Globe, Aug. 26, 2026)
- Aug. 26, 2026 Police chief announced the department would not renew its Flock contract, citing pricing and transparency. (The Boston Globe, Aug. 26, 2026)
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Braintree Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed.
- July 2025 Named in an ACLU of Massachusetts list, reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025. (Boston 25 News, Oct. 21, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions- Vendor not specified in the list.
- Listed as unconfirmed: the only source is an ACLU of Massachusetts list, as reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025; no agency record of current use was found.
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.
Franklin Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed.
- July 2025 Named in an ACLU of Massachusetts list, reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025. (Boston 25 News, Oct. 21, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions- Vendor not specified in the list.
- Listed as unconfirmed: the only source is an ACLU of Massachusetts list, as reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025; no agency record of current use was found.
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.
Milton Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed.
- July 2025 Named in an ACLU of Massachusetts list, reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025. (Boston 25 News, Oct. 21, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions- Vendor not specified in the list.
- Listed as unconfirmed: the only source is an ACLU of Massachusetts list, as reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025; no agency record of current use was found.
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.
Quincy Police Department
- Status
- Use suspended
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed. WHDH reported more than 700,000 plates captured over a few weeks, with fewer than 200 investigated.
- Aug. 2026 A compliance audit found the department was part of nationwide sharing; access was then limited to the department's 47 investigators, per the police chief. (Boston 25 News, Sept. 9, 2026)
- Sept. 2026 City leaders voted to table Flock camera discussions to a later date; no vote count reported. (WHDH 7News, Sept. 9, 2026)
- Oct. 6, 2026 City Council scheduled discussion of the cameras and invited the police chief to explain their use. (Boston 25 News, Oct. 6, 2026)
- Oct. 19, 2026 Council took up two proposals: one adding oversight and transparency, and one ending the city's Flock contracts and removing the cameras. Outcome not found. (Boston 25 News, Oct. 19, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions- Audit month is relative: the Sept. 9, 2026 story says it was 'just last month.'
- Tabling vote date not given; reported Sept. 9, 2026.
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Sharon Police Department
- Status
- Ended or removed
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed. - Contract
- Flock Safety: · from Sept. 12, 2025 · to Sept. 12, 2026 · Not renewed. (Town of Sharon, MA, Sept. 3, 2026)
- June 23, 2026 Select Board voted unanimously to tell Flock the town would end its contract before Sept. 12, 2026. (Town of Sharon, MA, Sept. 3, 2026)
- Sept. 2026 The town said Flock crews had started taking down the cameras and related hardware. (Town of Sharon, MA, Sept. 3, 2026)
From agency records.
Stoughton Police Department
- Status
- Ended or removed
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed.
- Sept. 2026 The acting police chief said every Flock camera in town would come down by Oct. 1, with town workers set to start covering them with bags on Wednesday, Sept. 9 (reported Sept. 9, 2026). (WHDH 7News, Sept. 9, 2026; Boston 25 News, Sept. 9, 2026)
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Wellesley Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 1
One pole-mounted Flock reader at Route 9 East and Route 16. - Contract
- Flock Safety: year · from May 2025 · to May 2027 · Camera paid for with asset forfeiture money; Flock charges for hardware plus a yearly subscription. Trial began May 2025 and is planned to end May 2027. (The Swellesley Report, Aug. 5, 2026)
- May 2025 Police began a one-camera Flock trial planned to run until May 2027. (The Swellesley Report, Aug. 5, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions- Boston 25 (Sept. 17, 2026) lists Wellesley among communities that ended or declined to renew Flock agreements in 2026, with no detail; this conflicts with the Aug. 2026 local report of an ongoing trial.
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Weymouth Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count disclosed.
- July 2025 Named in an ACLU of Massachusetts list, reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025. (Boston 25 News, Oct. 21, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions- Vendor not specified in the list.
- Listed as unconfirmed: the only source is an ACLU of Massachusetts list, as reported by Boston 25, of departments using Flock or other plate readers as of July 2025; no agency record of current use was found.
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.