Data center campus · 200 Arlington Street, Chelsea, Suffolk County, Massachusetts

Massachusetts Information Technology Center (MITC)

Operating as of Sept. 5, 2025

A state-owned building in Chelsea, described in 2009 as the Commonwealth's primary data center, that the state says runs around the clock. Also known as: MITC.

Cite← Massachusetts data centers
Barnstable CountyBerkshire CountyBristol CountyDukes CountyEssex CountyFranklin CountyHampden CountyHampshire CountyMiddlesex CountyNantucket CountyNorfolk CountyPlymouth CountySuffolk CountyWorcester CountyMassachusetts Information Technology Center (MITC) · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found

Who is behind it

ProjectMassachusetts Information Technology Center (MITC)Also: MITC
Developer and teamCommonwealth of Massachusetts (DCAMM manages the building; EOTSS)
End userState agencies

The record, newest first

  1. The state's MITC page gives the Chelsea address and says the building operates 24 hours a day, every day. (Commonwealth of Massachusetts (mass.gov), Oct. 24, 2026)

  2. EOTSS's FY2026 chargeback models include an in-state co-location service at MITC. (Commonwealth of Massachusetts, EOTSS (mass.gov), Sept. 5, 2025)

  3. The FY2019 capital plan funded $500,000 for studies and work to improve use of MITC as office space. (Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Capital Investment Plan FY2019, 2018)

  4. Data Center Knowledge described the Chelsea facility as the state's primary data center when Springfield was chosen as the backup site. (Data Center Knowledge, Jan. 8, 2009)

Conflicts and open questions

  • No size or power figure for the data center floor was found.
  • The same chargeback document lists an in-state co-location service at Markley's Lowell data center.

The full record

Status note
The state's FY2026 chargeback document still lists a co-location service at MITC.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.