Data center campus · 100 Bigelow Street, Holyoke, Hampden County, Massachusetts

Massachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center (MGHPCC)

Operating as of Oct. 24, 2026

A 90,000-square-foot university research computing center in Holyoke's canal district, run by a consortium of five Massachusetts universities and powered largely by municipal hydro. Also known as: MGHPCC.

Cite← Massachusetts data centers
Barnstable CountyBerkshire CountyBristol CountyDukes CountyEssex CountyFranklin CountyHampden CountyHampshire CountyMiddlesex CountyNantucket CountyNorfolk CountyPlymouth CountySuffolk CountyWorcester CountyMassachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center (MGHPCC) · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area90,000sq ft
Site8.6acres
IT load10MW

Who is behind it

ProjectMassachusetts Green High Performance Computing Center (MGHPCC)Also: MGHPCC
Developer and teamMGHPCC consortium (Boston University, Harvard, MIT, Northeastern, University of Massachusetts)
End userMember universities' research computing

The record, newest first

  1. The MGHPCC website describes the Holyoke center's computing, storage and network resources in present tense. (MGHPCC, Oct. 24, 2026)

  2. Members announced an expansion of more than $5 million to add room for several thousand servers, using options built into the original design. (MGHPCC, Sept. 7, 2022)

  3. Gov. Deval Patrick and university leaders attended the ribbon-cutting; the center offered 10 MW for computing. (Boston University (HIC), Nov. 27, 2012)

  4. The center described a $95 million, roughly 90,000-square-foot building on 8.6 acres with about 10 MW for computers, due to open in November. (MGHPCC, July 9, 2012)

  5. The consortium's board chose the former Mastex Industries site in Holyoke's Canal District, subject to agreements with Holyoke Gas & Electric, the city and the state. (MGHPCC, Aug. 9, 2010)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Yale appears on the MGHPCC site as a partner in some places but not others.

The full record

Status note
The consortium's website describes active research computing at the Holyoke center.
Power note
The center said in 2012 it would have about 10 MW for computing plus 2-3 MW for the rest of the building (roughly 12-13 MW in all); no later figure was found after the 2022 expansion.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.