Data center campus · 35 Congress St. (Shetland Park), Salem, Essex County, Massachusetts

Prime Group data center (Shetland Park, Salem)

Denied as of Sept. 16, 2026

An AI computing fit-out in a Salem office complex lost its building permit after revised plans showed 6 MW of generators, and the city then barred data centers by ordinance. Also known as: low-latency inference point.

Cite← Massachusetts data centers
Barnstable CountyBerkshire CountyBristol CountyDukes CountyEssex CountyFranklin CountyHampden CountyHampshire CountyMiddlesex CountyNantucket CountyNorfolk CountyPlymouth CountySuffolk CountyWorcester CountyPrime Group data center (Shetland Park, Salem) · Denied
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area12,690sq ft

Who is behind it

ProjectPrime Group data center (Shetland Park, Salem)Also: low-latency inference point
Developer and teamPrime Group Holdings
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The City Council unanimously approved a zoning change that defines data centers and bars them in the city. (The Salem News (via GovTech), Oct. 12, 2026)

  2. The Zoning Board of Appeals unanimously upheld the revocation, finding the use was not a business or professional office. (GBH News, Sept. 16, 2026; Boston.com, Sept. 18, 2026)

  3. Revised plans filed June 29 grew the project to 12,690 square feet with 6 MW of generators and chilled-water tanks; the building commissioner then revoked the permit. (Boston.com, Sept. 18, 2026; GBH News, Sept. 16, 2026)

  4. Salem issued a permit for an 8,691 square foot interior fit-out with a 1 MW generator. (Boston.com, Sept. 18, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Included as a notable smaller contested project.
  • The developer says it is not a data center; it is unclear whether it will appeal the ZBA decision in court.

The full record

Status note
Smaller contested project: the zoning board upheld revocation of its building permit.
Power note
Revised plans showed 6 MW of generators; the facility's load is not stated.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.