Data center campus · Former Technical High School site, Elliot Street, downtown Springfield (no street number found), Hampden County, Massachusetts

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Springfield Data Center

Operating as of Sept. 5, 2025

The state government's backup data center, built on the 2.2-acre former Technical High School site next to the federal courthouse in downtown Springfield. Also known as: EOTSS Springfield data center.

Cite← Massachusetts data centers
Barnstable CountyBerkshire CountyBristol CountyDukes CountyEssex CountyFranklin CountyHampden CountyHampshire CountyMiddlesex CountyNantucket CountyNorfolk CountyPlymouth CountySuffolk CountyWorcester CountyCommonwealth of Massachusetts Springfield Data Center · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site2.2acres

Who is behind it

ProjectCommonwealth of Massachusetts Springfield Data CenterAlso: EOTSS Springfield data center
Developer and teamCommonwealth of Massachusetts (Information Technology Division, now EOTSS)
End userState agencies and some non-state co-location customers

The record, newest first

  1. EOTSS's FY2026 chargeback models (effective July 1, 2025) include in-state and non-state co-location services at the Springfield data center, for which the state says it has set rates. (Commonwealth of Massachusetts, EOTSS (mass.gov), Sept. 5, 2025)

  2. The state lists substantial completion in February 2013, with about 11,500 square feet of computer room in phase one, shell space for a second phase, a Tier III N+1 design and a LEED Gold target. (Commonwealth of Massachusetts (mass.gov), Oct. 24, 2026)

  3. Officials broke ground; The Reminder reported a $110 million, 148,000-square-foot building meant to help merge 183 state data centers into two. (The Reminder, June 28, 2010)

  4. The state picked the former Springfield Technical High School as the site for a facility to back up its primary data center in Chelsea; Data Center Knowledge reported a $76 million, 114,000-square-foot plan. (Data Center Knowledge, Jan. 8, 2009)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Reported cost and size figures differ: $76 million and 114,000 sq ft (2009) versus $110 million and 148,000 sq ft (2010).
  • The Reminder spells the street Eliot and the state spells it Elliot; no street number was found, so coordinates are approximate for the Elliot Street site.

The full record

Status note
The state's FY2026 chargeback document still offers co-location at the Springfield data center.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.