Data center campus · Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant grounds, Lusby, Calvert County, Maryland

Amazon Web Services campus at Calvert Cliffs

Withdrawn as of Aug. 4, 2026

A multi-building Amazon data center plan next to the Calvert Cliffs nuclear plant, withdrawn in August 2026 after local opposition. Also known as: AWS Calvert Technology Center.

Cite← Maryland data centers
Allegany CountyAnne Arundel CountyBaltimore CountyBaltimore (city)Calvert CountyCaroline CountyCarroll CountyCecil CountyCharles CountyDorchester CountyFrederick CountyGarrett CountyHarford CountyHoward CountyKent CountyMontgomery CountyPrince George's CountyQueen Anne's CountySomerset CountySt. Mary's CountyTalbot CountyWashington CountyWicomico CountyWorcester CountyAmazon Web Services campus at Calvert Cliffs · Withdrawn
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area2,400,000sq ft

Who is behind it

ProjectAmazon Web Services campus at Calvert CliffsAlso: AWS Calvert Technology Center
Developer and teamAmazon Web Services
End userAmazon Web Services

The record, newest first

  1. The Board of County Commissioners unanimously approved a six-month data center moratorium. (WJLA (7News), Aug. 18, 2026)

  2. The county announced, and Amazon confirmed, that the company would not go forward with the site for now. (Maryland Matters, Aug. 4, 2026)

  3. Amazon Web Services submitted plans to Calvert County for data centers totaling about 2.4 million square feet at the nuclear plant site, according to a county planning document described by Maryland Matters. (Maryland Matters, Aug. 4, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Included without a reported MW figure because of its reported size (2.4 million square feet); the county record was not opened.
  • A separate Natelli Holdings proposal in Lusby was reported but no size was found; not listed.

The full record

Status note
Amazon withdrew the proposal in August 2026; Calvert County then adopted a six-month moratorium.
Power note
No power figure was reported; a county planning document described about 2.4 million square feet of data centers.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.