License-plate readers · Hennepin

Hennepin

Using license-plate readers · 23 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Aitkin CountyAnoka CountyBecker CountyBeltrami CountyBenton CountyBig Stone CountyBlue Earth CountyBrown CountyCarlton CountyCarver CountyCass CountyChippewa CountyChisago CountyClay CountyClearwater CountyCook CountyCottonwood CountyCrow Wing CountyDakota CountyDodge CountyDouglas CountyFaribault CountyFillmore CountyFreeborn CountyGoodhue CountyGrant CountyHennepin CountyHouston CountyHubbard CountyIsanti CountyItasca CountyJackson CountyKanabec CountyKandiyohi CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLac qui Parle CountyLake CountyLake of the Woods CountyLe Sueur CountyLincoln CountyLyon CountyMahnomen CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMcLeod CountyMeeker CountyMille Lacs CountyMorrison CountyMower CountyMurray CountyNicollet CountyNobles CountyNorman CountyOlmsted CountyOtter Tail CountyPennington CountyPine CountyPipestone CountyPolk CountyPope CountyRamsey CountyRed Lake CountyRedwood CountyRenville CountyRice CountyRock CountyRoseau CountyScott CountySherburne CountySibley CountySt. Louis CountyStearns CountySteele CountyStevens CountySwift CountyTodd CountyTraverse CountyWabasha CountyWadena CountyWaseca CountyWashington CountyWatonwan CountyWilkin CountyWinona CountyWright CountyYellow Medicine County

Bloomington Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Axon
Contract
Axon: period not stated · approved by City Council · Multi-year Axon package agreement approved unanimously Oct. 12, 2026; total just over $22 million invoiced over 10 years for all Axon tools; it maintains existing ALPR systems. ALPR share not stated. (Sun Current (hometownsource.com), Oct. 19, 2026)
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Sept. 6, 2025 LOGIS biennial audit found the department in compliance with § 13.824. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Sept. 6, 2025)
  2. Oct. 12, 2026 City Council unanimously approved an expanded Axon agreement that keeps the department's existing plate-reader systems; the chief said he chose not to use Flock because of its data-sharing rules. (Sun Current (hometownsource.com), Oct. 19, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list shows two fixed reader locations (8100 24th Ave. S. and 1700 American Blvd. E.).

From agency records.

Brooklyn Center Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
9
Active stationary Flock units at the Oct. 2025 audit.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Oct. 28, 2025 First audit of the Flock system (operational Aug. 1, 2023 to July 30, 2025) reported 9 active stationary units and no mobile units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 28, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Audit date is two days outside the 12-month window; BCA public list (current) still shows 10 fixed locations.

From agency records.

Brooklyn Park Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Axon
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. April 2026 Star Tribune reported the department let its Flock contract expire and now contracts with Axon for readers without the data-sharing function (article republished April 7, 2026; expiry date not stated). (Minnesota Star Tribune (via GovTech), April 7, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list still lists eight fixed locations for the department as of Oct. 30, 2026; whether those are the former Flock sites or Axon devices is not stated.
  • Axon camera count not stated.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Champlin Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Axon
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Oct. 22, 2025 Flock audit (Oct. 1, 2023 to July 31, 2025) reported 6 active stationary/flex Flock devices. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 22, 2025)
  2. Oct. 28, 2025 Axon audit (same period) reported approximately 14 active Axon mobile units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 28, 2025)
  3. April 2026 Star Tribune reported Champlin planned to discuss its license plate cameras after residents raised privacy concerns (republished April 7, 2026). (Minnesota Star Tribune (via GovTech), April 7, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA list shows six fixed locations.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Corcoran Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
9
Active stationary Flock units at the 2026 audit.
  1. May 30, 2026 Flock audit (July 1, 2024 to April 30, 2026) reported 9 active stationary units and no squad-mounted units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), May 30, 2026)

From agency records.

Crystal Police Department

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
6
Flock cameras removed in September 2026.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Sept. 2026 FOX 9 reported that in early September 2026 Crystal had taken down all six of its Flock readers and was sending them back to the company (exact date not given). (FOX 9, Sept. 30, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Crystal is not on the BCA public list as of Oct. 30, 2026.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Eden Prairie Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. July 11, 2025 LOGIS biennial ALPR audit found the department in compliance. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), July 11, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list (current as of Oct. 30, 2026) includes the department with one fixed location (8080 Mitchell Road); no dated record within the last 12 months was found.
  • Vendor not named.

From agency records.

Edina Police Department

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
23
Cameras owned, per Edina's Flock transparency portal (last updated May 7, 2025); the Oct. 2025 audit counted 18 active stationary units.
Sources
City of Edina, date not shown; Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown; Sahan Journal, Aug. 18, 2026
  1. Oct. 15, 2025 First audit of the new Flock system (operational Oct. 1, 2023 to July 31, 2025) found 18 active stationary units and no mobile units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 15, 2025)
  2. Aug. 5, 2026 Sahan Journal reported three Flock cameras in Edina were spray-painted. (Sahan Journal, Aug. 18, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • An undated city FAQ says ICE has no access to Edina's Flock data and the police chief does not recommend suspending the cameras.
  • BCA public list says fixed locations are withheld under § 13.824, subd. 8(b).
  • The latest dated record found is the October 2025 audit, covering use through July 31, 2025, just outside the 12-month window, so current use is unconfirmed here.
  • Edina police told the Star Tribune in early August 2026 that its cameras "have been vandalized a few times" (GovTech reprint, Aug. 4, 2026).

From agency records.

Hennepin County Sheriff's Office

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety, Axon
Cameras
4
Stationary Flock readers counted by the 2025 audit; the audit separately counted about 32 Axon readers on patrol vehicles.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Oct. 21, 2025 Independent audit of the Flock system (period June 1, 2023 to July 31, 2025) found the office compliant with § 13.824 and counted 4 active stationary Flock readers. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 21, 2025)
  2. Oct. 28, 2025 Independent audit of the Axon system (same period) found the office compliant; it counted approximately 32 active Axon readers on patrol vehicles and no stationary Axon units, and said the Axon readers had been in place for less than two years. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 28, 2025)
  3. Oct. 1, 2026 Minneapolis City Council voted 9-4 on a nonbinding resolution asking Hennepin County and the University of Minnesota to end use of Flock cameras located in Minneapolis. (City of Minneapolis, Oct. 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list includes the office and lists one fixed reader location (Penn Avenue at 40th Street, Minneapolis).
  • No Hennepin County Board action on the response to the Minneapolis resolution was found.
  • As background to the Oct. 1, 2026 resolution, the city bulletin cited a July 2026 Star Tribune investigation reporting that federal immigration agencies such as ICE could access Flock camera data. The bulletin did not say whether the sheriff's office's data was involved.

From agency records.

Hopkins Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
14
13 fixed plus one Flex device at the Jan. 2026 audit.
  1. Jan. 20, 2026 Flock audit (operational Jan. 1, 2024 to Dec. 31, 2025) reported 14 devices (13 fixed, one Flex). (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Jan. 20, 2026)

From agency records.

MSP Airport Police (Metropolitan Airports Commission)

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list includes the agency with fixed readers on Terminal 1 roadways (4300 Glumack Drive) and the Terminal 2 inbound roadway (7150 Humphrey Drive). No 2025-2026 audit or dated record located.

From agency records.

Maple Grove Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. May 22, 2026 LOGIS biennial ALPR audit attested; retention settings were confirmed at no more than 60 days. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), May 22, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list includes the department with no fixed locations listed.
  • Vendor not named in the audit.

From agency records.

Minneapolis Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Cameras
30
Count of fixed reader locations listed for MPD on the BCA public list (Oct. 30, 2026); not a confirmed device count.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Feb. 23, 2026 Office of City Auditor's biennial ALPR audit (scope Jan. 1, 2023 to Dec. 31, 2024) was presented to the city's Audit Committee; it found MPD complies with state ALPR requirements and made two best-practice recommendations (third-party review of vendor assessment reports; formal approval of ALPR operating procedures). (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Feb. 23, 2026)
  2. Oct. 1, 2026 City bulletin on the council's Flock resolution stated the City of Minneapolis does not own or operate Flock Safety cameras. (City of Minneapolis, Oct. 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • The city audit does not name the plate-reader vendor; the city says it does not own or operate Flock cameras.
  • Audit transmittal to the Legislative Commission on Data Practices is dated March 4, 2026.

From agency records.

Minnetonka Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Vendor not named in source
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown; Flock Safety (agency transparency portal), May 7, 2025
  1. June 5, 2026 LOGIS biennial ALPR audit attested. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), June 5, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list shows 15 fixed locations for Minnetonka.
  • Vendor not named in the audit; Edina's Flock portal lists Minnetonka PD among agencies with access to Edina data, which suggests but does not establish a Flock account.

From agency records.

Plymouth Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
16
14 fixed Flock readers plus 2 Flock Flex mobile readers per the November 2025 audit.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Nov. 12, 2025 Independent audit (period March 30, 2024 to Sept. 30, 2025) reported 14 stationary Flock readers and two Flock Flex mobile readers, with 30-day retention. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Nov. 12, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list shows 16 fixed locations for Plymouth.
  • FOX 9 reported on Aug. 14, 2026 that Plymouth police had surrounded a family the system flagged, an incident FOX 9 described as a mistake. The report gave no date or other details.

From agency records.

Richfield Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
8
Stationary Flock units at the time of the May 2026 audit.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. May 21, 2026 First Flock audit (operational April 1, 2024 to March 31, 2026) reported 8 stationary Flock units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), May 21, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list shows 10 fixed locations.

From agency records.

Robbinsdale Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Axon, Flock Safety
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Oct. 23, 2025 Flock audit (Nov. 1, 2023 to Sept. 30, 2025) reported two active stationary Flock units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 23, 2025)
  2. Jan. 29, 2026 Axon ALPR audit (Jan. 1, 2024 to Dec. 31, 2025) reported 11 active mobile Axon units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Jan. 29, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA list says two fixed locations are withheld under § 13.824 subd. 8(b).

From agency records.

South Lake Minnetonka Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
4
Stationary Flock units at the April 2026 audit.
Sources
Minnesota Star Tribune (via GovTech), April 7, 2026
  1. April 10, 2026 First Flock audit (Jan. 1, 2024 to Dec. 31, 2025) reported 4 stationary units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), April 10, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Star Tribune (republished April 7, 2026) reported Shorewood's council shut off its only license plate reader pending an audit; SLMPD serves Shorewood, but the article does not say which agency operates that reader.

From agency records.

St. Louis Park Police Department

Status
Using license-plate readers
Vendors
Flock Safety
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. July 10, 2025 LOGIS ALPR audit executive summary filed. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), July 10, 2025)
  2. March 4, 2026 Police Advisory Commission discussed the department's Flock readers; minutes report investigative searches in February 2026 and say the council would weigh suspending use or data sharing at an April 6 study session. (City of St. Louis Park, March 4, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list shows 13 fixed location entries (some with two devices).
  • Outcome of the April 6, 2026 council study session not found.

From agency records.

University of Minnesota Police Department (Twin Cities)

Status
Removing or limiting cameras
Vendors
Flock Safety, Axon
Cameras
10
Active stationary Flock units at the Oct. 2025 audit; separately about 29 mobile Axon units.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Oct. 15, 2025 Flock audit (Sept. 1, 2023 to Aug. 31, 2025) reported 10 active stationary units and no mobile Flock units. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 15, 2025)
  2. Oct. 16, 2025 Axon audit reported about 29 active mobile Axon units, operational since March 11, 2025. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Oct. 16, 2025)
  3. Sept. 2026 FOX 9 reported UMPD agreed in mid-September 2026 to remove one Flock camera near Cedar and Riverside after neighborhood objections. (FOX 9, Sept. 30, 2026)
  4. Oct. 1, 2026 Minneapolis City Council's nonbinding resolution asked the University to end use of Flock cameras located in Minneapolis. (City of Minneapolis, Oct. 1, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • BCA public list shows 13 fixed locations, mostly on the Minneapolis campus. St. Paul campus portion is in Ramsey County.
  • As background to the Oct. 1, 2026 resolution, the city bulletin cited a July 2026 Star Tribune investigation reporting that federal immigration agencies such as ICE could access Flock camera data. The bulletin did not say whether University data was involved.

From agency records.

Statewide

  1. 2015 Minn. Stat. § 13.824 enacted (2015 c 67, s 3); later amended in 2021 (1st Spec. Sess.) and 2024 (c 127). It limits what ALPRs may collect, requires destruction of non-investigative data within 60 days, limits sharing to qualifying law-enforcement agencies, requires a public log of use and list of fixed locations, requires a biennial independent audit filed with the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and others within 30 days, requires written authorization and an active-investigation basis for access, and bars tracking an investigative subject without a warrant or exigent circumstances. (Enactment year only; month not checked.) (Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, date not shown)
  2. 2015 Subdivision 8 requires agencies to notify the BCA within 10 days of installing or using an ALPR (including fixed locations); the BCA keeps a public list of agencies and reader locations unless a location is classified as security information. (Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, date not shown)
  3. Nov. 20, 2025 The Legislative Commission on Data Practices took public testimony on ALPR and body-camera reporting requirements. (Legislative Coordinating Commission, Nov. 20, 2025)
  4. Dec. 11, 2025 The commission's members discussed ALPR and body-camera reporting requirements and potential statutory updates. (Legislative Coordinating Commission, Dec. 11, 2025; Legislative Coordinating Commission, Dec. 11, 2025)
  5. March 12, 2026 HF 4205 (Tabke) introduced: it would tighten ALPR data restrictions, centralize ALPR data in the BCA, and regulate private-entity ALPR use; referred to House Judiciary Finance and Civil Law with no further action shown. (Minnesota Legislature / Revisor of Statutes, March 12, 2026)
  6. March 23, 2026 Senate companion SF 4739 (Verbeten) introduced and referred to Judiciary and Public Safety; no further action shown. Its text would amend § 13.824 and add related provisions elsewhere in state law. (Minnesota Legislature / Revisor of Statutes, March 23, 2026; Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, March 19, 2026)
  7. July 2026 A Star Tribune investigation published in July 2026 (exact date not confirmed) reported that law enforcement agencies inside and outside Minnesota searched plate-reader data from Twin Cities suburbs for civil immigration enforcement. Sahan Journal said the investigation found about 30 state, county and federal agencies ran such searches on cameras in at least eight suburbs between November 2025 and March 2026. MPR News reported hundreds of such searches, mostly on Fridley's cameras. The Minneapolis City Council bulletin said the investigation reported that federal immigration agencies such as ICE could access Flock data. In October 2026 the Star Tribune said the searches took place during Operation Metro Surge. (Sahan Journal, Aug. 18, 2026; MPR News, Aug. 17, 2026; City of Minneapolis, Oct. 1, 2026; Government Technology (TNS / Minnesota Star Tribune), Aug. 4, 2026; Government Technology (TNS / Minnesota Star Tribune), Oct. 26, 2026; FOX 9, Aug. 14, 2026)
  8. Oct. 30, 2026 The BCA public list, checked Oct. 30, 2026, names 117 agencies that reported using ALPR or devices with ALPR capability. The page shows no 'last updated' date. (Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown)

State agencies

Minnesota State Patrol

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
PIPS Technology
Cameras
6
ALPR systems on patrol vehicles at the 2024 audit.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Feb. 27, 2024 Audit (Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2023) reported six active ALPR systems on patrol vehicles and no stationary units; it reviewed the PIPS Technology BOSS system. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Feb. 27, 2024)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Still on the BCA public list (no fixed locations) as of Oct. 30, 2026; no 2025-2026 audit located.

From agency records.