License-plate readers · St. Louis

St. Louis

Removing or limiting cameras · 2 agencies documented

← Statewide map
Aitkin CountyAnoka CountyBecker CountyBeltrami CountyBenton CountyBig Stone CountyBlue Earth CountyBrown CountyCarlton CountyCarver CountyCass CountyChippewa CountyChisago CountyClay CountyClearwater CountyCook CountyCottonwood CountyCrow Wing CountyDakota CountyDodge CountyDouglas CountyFaribault CountyFillmore CountyFreeborn CountyGoodhue CountyGrant CountyHennepin CountyHouston CountyHubbard CountyIsanti CountyItasca CountyJackson CountyKanabec CountyKandiyohi CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLac qui Parle CountyLake CountyLake of the Woods CountyLe Sueur CountyLincoln CountyLyon CountyMahnomen CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMcLeod CountyMeeker CountyMille Lacs CountyMorrison CountyMower CountyMurray CountyNicollet CountyNobles CountyNorman CountyOlmsted CountyOtter Tail CountyPennington CountyPine CountyPipestone CountyPolk CountyPope CountyRamsey CountyRed Lake CountyRedwood CountyRenville CountyRice CountyRock CountyRoseau CountyScott CountySherburne CountySibley CountySt. Louis CountyStearns CountySteele CountyStevens CountySwift CountyTodd CountyTraverse CountyWabasha CountyWadena CountyWaseca CountyWashington CountyWatonwan CountyWilkin CountyWinona CountyWright CountyYellow Medicine County

Duluth Police Department

Status
Removing or limiting cameras
Vendors
Flock Safety, Vendor not named in source
Cameras
60
About 60 squad-mounted (mobile) readers covering most of the patrol fleet, per the chief in August 2026; vendor of the mobile readers not stated. The separate nine fixed Flock cameras were offline and their contract expired Sept. 7, 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · to Sept. 7, 2026 · A one-year trial of nine fixed Flock cameras, paid with a state Auto Theft Prevention Program grant that reserved $30,000 to buy and install them. On Aug. 3, 2026 police told Flock they would not renew. (Duluth News Tribune, Aug. 13, 2026; FOX 9, Aug. 11, 2026)
  1. 2011 Department first received funding to put license plate readers in two squad cars. (Duluth News Tribune, Aug. 13, 2026)
  2. Dec. 5, 2017 Outside auditor (FRSecure) letter found the department's ALPR system compliant with Minn. Stat. 13.824, with 60-day data retention. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Dec. 5, 2017)
  3. Aug. 3, 2026 Police notified Flock that the department would not renew its grant-funded stationary camera contract. (Duluth News Tribune, Aug. 13, 2026; FOX 9, Aug. 11, 2026)
  4. Aug. 12, 2026 The chief told the Duluth News Tribune on Aug. 12 that all of the department's fixed Flock cameras were offline; police had earlier reported that six of the nine had been stolen or damaged since June. He said the cameras proved easy targets for vandals and thieves and the department had no money to keep them going once the one-year grant ran out. (Duluth News Tribune, Aug. 13, 2026; Northern News Now, Aug. 27, 2026)
  5. Sept. 7, 2026 The nine-camera Flock trial ran out. Police said the squad-car readers stay in service and the city might later hire a different company for fixed readers. (Duluth News Tribune, Aug. 13, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Status 'reducing': fixed Flock cameras ended Sept. 7, 2026; mobile readers continue in use per the chief.
  • 2026 events dated from reporting before the expiration date; removal of the fixed cameras not separately confirmed.
  • Northern News Now said the six cameras were stolen or vandalized in June and July 2026; KSTP reported at least five were stolen and one damaged. Exact dates not reported.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

St. Louis County Sheriff's Office

Status
Ended or removed
Vendors
Flock Safety
Cameras
10
Fixed Flock cameras at peak (county page and BCA list as reported by WDIO); seven were installed at launch in December 2023; Flock portal showed nine as of Jan. 2025. System reported off in August 2026.
Contract
Flock Safety: period not stated · from Dec. 1, 2023 · to Aug. 10, 2026 · Pilot project; end date per Northern News Now. (St. Louis County, Minnesota (GovDelivery), Jan. 26, 2024; Northern News Now (KBJR), Aug. 27, 2026)
  1. Dec. 1, 2023 Sheriff's office began using seven fixed ALPR cameras; release said each search requires a stated reason and is logged. (St. Louis County, Minnesota (GovDelivery), Jan. 26, 2024; St. Louis County, Minnesota, date not shown)
  2. Jan. 22, 2025 Flock transparency portal (last update) listed nine cameras and 30-day retention. (Flock Safety, Jan. 22, 2025)
  3. April 28, 2025 Office appears on the BCA list of agencies using license plate readers (copy in a Mankato council packet). (City of Mankato (reproducing Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension list), April 28, 2025)
  4. Aug. 10, 2026 The Flock contract ended. Northern News Now reported the sheriff gave community concerns, limited success in rural areas and the cost of replacing stolen cameras (about $1,000 apiece) as reasons. The station reported the system was turned off and that removing the cameras was now up to Flock. (Northern News Now, Aug. 27, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions
  • County web page still describes the cameras as installed (no date on page); treat as out of date.
  • Physical removal of cameras not confirmed.
  • Whether the office uses any squad-mounted readers was not found.
  • Northern News Now reported five of the county's 10 Flock cameras were stolen in summer 2026; exact dates not reported.

Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.

Statewide

  1. 2015 Minn. Stat. § 13.824 enacted (2015 c 67, s 3); later amended in 2021 (1st Spec. Sess.) and 2024 (c 127). It limits what ALPRs may collect, requires destruction of non-investigative data within 60 days, limits sharing to qualifying law-enforcement agencies, requires a public log of use and list of fixed locations, requires a biennial independent audit filed with the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and others within 30 days, requires written authorization and an active-investigation basis for access, and bars tracking an investigative subject without a warrant or exigent circumstances. (Enactment year only; month not checked.) (Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, date not shown)
  2. 2015 Subdivision 8 requires agencies to notify the BCA within 10 days of installing or using an ALPR (including fixed locations); the BCA keeps a public list of agencies and reader locations unless a location is classified as security information. (Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, date not shown)
  3. Nov. 20, 2025 The Legislative Commission on Data Practices took public testimony on ALPR and body-camera reporting requirements. (Legislative Coordinating Commission, Nov. 20, 2025)
  4. Dec. 11, 2025 The commission's members discussed ALPR and body-camera reporting requirements and potential statutory updates. (Legislative Coordinating Commission, Dec. 11, 2025; Legislative Coordinating Commission, Dec. 11, 2025)
  5. March 12, 2026 HF 4205 (Tabke) introduced: it would tighten ALPR data restrictions, centralize ALPR data in the BCA, and regulate private-entity ALPR use; referred to House Judiciary Finance and Civil Law with no further action shown. (Minnesota Legislature / Revisor of Statutes, March 12, 2026)
  6. March 23, 2026 Senate companion SF 4739 (Verbeten) introduced and referred to Judiciary and Public Safety; no further action shown. Its text would amend § 13.824 and add related provisions elsewhere in state law. (Minnesota Legislature / Revisor of Statutes, March 23, 2026; Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, March 19, 2026)
  7. July 2026 A Star Tribune investigation published in July 2026 (exact date not confirmed) reported that law enforcement agencies inside and outside Minnesota searched plate-reader data from Twin Cities suburbs for civil immigration enforcement. Sahan Journal said the investigation found about 30 state, county and federal agencies ran such searches on cameras in at least eight suburbs between November 2025 and March 2026. MPR News reported hundreds of such searches, mostly on Fridley's cameras. The Minneapolis City Council bulletin said the investigation reported that federal immigration agencies such as ICE could access Flock data. In October 2026 the Star Tribune said the searches took place during Operation Metro Surge. (Sahan Journal, Aug. 18, 2026; MPR News, Aug. 17, 2026; City of Minneapolis, Oct. 1, 2026; Government Technology (TNS / Minnesota Star Tribune), Aug. 4, 2026; Government Technology (TNS / Minnesota Star Tribune), Oct. 26, 2026; FOX 9, Aug. 14, 2026)
  8. Oct. 30, 2026 The BCA public list, checked Oct. 30, 2026, names 117 agencies that reported using ALPR or devices with ALPR capability. The page shows no 'last updated' date. (Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown)

State agencies

Minnesota State Patrol

Status
Program documented, current use unconfirmed
Vendors
PIPS Technology
Cameras
6
ALPR systems on patrol vehicles at the 2024 audit.
Sources
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, date not shown
  1. Feb. 27, 2024 Audit (Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2023) reported six active ALPR systems on patrol vehicles and no stationary units; it reviewed the PIPS Technology BOSS system. (Minnesota Legislative Reference Library (filed audit), Feb. 27, 2024)
Conflicts and open questions
  • Still on the BCA public list (no fixed locations) as of Oct. 30, 2026; no 2025-2026 audit located.

From agency records.