Data center campus · 3199 Pilot Knob Road, Eagan, Dakota County, Minnesota

Former Unisys Eagan data center (Eagan Capital)

Stalled as of July 8, 2026

Unisys's former 32-acre data center site in Eagan, bought in 2025 by a Swervo-affiliated company for multi-tenant use, is held up by a denied permit and the city's moratorium, which the owner is challenging in court. Also known as: Unisys Eagan.

Cite← Minnesota data centers
Aitkin CountyAnoka CountyBecker CountyBeltrami CountyBenton CountyBig Stone CountyBlue Earth CountyBrown CountyCarlton CountyCarver CountyCass CountyChippewa CountyChisago CountyClay CountyClearwater CountyCook CountyCottonwood CountyCrow Wing CountyDakota CountyDodge CountyDouglas CountyFaribault CountyFillmore CountyFreeborn CountyGoodhue CountyGrant CountyHennepin CountyHouston CountyHubbard CountyIsanti CountyItasca CountyJackson CountyKanabec CountyKandiyohi CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLac qui Parle CountyLake CountyLake of the Woods CountyLe Sueur CountyLincoln CountyLyon CountyMahnomen CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMcLeod CountyMeeker CountyMille Lacs CountyMorrison CountyMower CountyMurray CountyNicollet CountyNobles CountyNorman CountyOlmsted CountyOtter Tail CountyPennington CountyPine CountyPipestone CountyPolk CountyPope CountyRamsey CountyRed Lake CountyRedwood CountyRenville CountyRice CountyRock CountyRoseau CountyScott CountySherburne CountySibley CountySt. Louis CountyStearns CountySteele CountyStevens CountySwift CountyTodd CountyTraverse CountyWabasha CountyWadena CountyWaseca CountyWashington CountyWatonwan CountyWilkin CountyWinona CountyWright CountyYellow Medicine CountyFormer Unisys Eagan data center (Eagan Capital) · Stalled
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area248,480sq ft
Site32acres

Who is behind it

ProjectFormer Unisys Eagan data center (Eagan Capital)Also: Unisys Eagan
Developer and teamEagan Capital LLC
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Eagan Capital filed a complaint asking the court to void the moratorium. The complaint argues that only the Public Utilities Commission can regulate electricity demand, that the city exceeded its authority, and that the ban is arbitrary; it seeks damages of more than $50,000. CBS reported the company has also challenged the permit denial in court. (MPR News, July 7, 2026; DatacenterDynamics, June 29, 2026; CBS Minnesota (WCCO), July 6, 2026; FOX 9, July 8, 2026)

  2. The council denied an interim use permit for the site. According to the city, staff had found trailer-mounted chillers installed and running without the required permits, and the council found the use was not allowed under current zoning. (MPR News, July 7, 2026; CBS Minnesota (WCCO), July 6, 2026)

  3. The council unanimously adopted a one-year moratorium, in effect until Feb. 17, 2027, on new data centers using more than 20 MW or within 500 feet of homes. (CBS Minnesota (WCCO), July 6, 2026; MPR News, July 7, 2026)

  4. Unisys sold the site to Eagan Capital LLC, an affiliate of Swervo Development, for $10 million. Documents cited by DCD said the buyer planned to lease it to several data center tenants. (DatacenterDynamics, Nov. 20, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • No MW figure has been reported. 248,480 sq ft is the total site size in a lease listing cited by DCD; DCD also gives 118,000 sq ft for the two-story building (raised floor). Status is set to stalled for the proposed reuse; whether any IT load is running now is not confirmed.
  • FOX 9 reported a hearing set for Aug. 12, 2026; no outcome or ruling was found. The court and case number were not given in sources opened.
  • Reports differ on which affiliated company applied for the chiller permit (Eagan Capital per MPR and CBS; Sun This Week names IronGate).

The full record

Status note
This is an existing data center building. In May 2026 the city denied an interim use permit for the site, and the owner sued in June 2026 to void the city's moratorium. No ruling was found.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.