Data center campus · East side of Farmington near Biscayne Avenue and 225th Street West, on the former Fountain Valley golf course and Farmington school district land, Dakota County, Minnesota

Farmington Technology Park

Approved as of Sept. 17, 2026

Tract's campus of up to 12 data center buildings, about 2.5 million sq ft on roughly 348 acres in Farmington, holds city zoning and plat approval after nearly two years of suits by Castle Rock Township and a resident group.

Cite← Minnesota data centers
Aitkin CountyAnoka CountyBecker CountyBeltrami CountyBenton CountyBig Stone CountyBlue Earth CountyBrown CountyCarlton CountyCarver CountyCass CountyChippewa CountyChisago CountyClay CountyClearwater CountyCook CountyCottonwood CountyCrow Wing CountyDakota CountyDodge CountyDouglas CountyFaribault CountyFillmore CountyFreeborn CountyGoodhue CountyGrant CountyHennepin CountyHouston CountyHubbard CountyIsanti CountyItasca CountyJackson CountyKanabec CountyKandiyohi CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLac qui Parle CountyLake CountyLake of the Woods CountyLe Sueur CountyLincoln CountyLyon CountyMahnomen CountyMarshall CountyMartin CountyMcLeod CountyMeeker CountyMille Lacs CountyMorrison CountyMower CountyMurray CountyNicollet CountyNobles CountyNorman CountyOlmsted CountyOtter Tail CountyPennington CountyPine CountyPipestone CountyPolk CountyPope CountyRamsey CountyRed Lake CountyRedwood CountyRenville CountyRice CountyRock CountyRoseau CountyScott CountySherburne CountySibley CountySt. Louis CountyStearns CountySteele CountyStevens CountySwift CountyTodd CountyTraverse CountyWabasha CountyWadena CountyWaseca CountyWashington CountyWatonwan CountyWilkin CountyWinona CountyWright CountyYellow Medicine CountyFarmington Technology Park · Approved
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area2.5e+06sq ft
Site348acres

Who is behind it

ProjectFarmington Technology Park
Developer and teamTract (through MNLCO Farmington, LLC; MNLCO Farmington Two, LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. On a stipulation filed Sept. 15, the court dismissed the township's suit with prejudice and without costs or fees. Its preclusive effect is limited to the three parcels named in the complaint. (Minnesota District Court, Dakota County, First Judicial District, Sept. 17, 2026; Sun Thisweek Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), Sept. 24, 2026)

  2. A court order dismissed all five of the resident coalition's counts with prejudice after the coalition moved to end its suit, citing litigation costs. The coalition had asked that its two environmental counts be dismissed without prejudice. (Sun Thisweek Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), Sept. 24, 2026)

  3. The mayor said the city would not adopt a moratorium, since Tract already held rezoning and PUD approval; the city attorney said certain rights had vested with the plat approvals. (Sun Thisweek Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), Aug. 27, 2026)

  4. Tract closed on the former golf course land. Closing on the school district parcel was still pending. (Sun Thisweek Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), April 29, 2026)

  5. Judge Tracy Perzel denied the city's amended motion to dismiss the township's contract and declaratory claims (19HA-CV-25-992). She found the annexation agreement ambiguous on who controls commercial and industrial use after annexation, a fact question that could not be settled at that stage. (Minnesota District Court, Dakota County, First Judicial District, Nov. 10, 2025)

  6. The Castle Rock Township board voted unanimously to sue Farmington, arguing the approvals broke the 2017 orderly annexation agreement. The suit was filed in February 2025. (Sun Thisweek Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), Jan. 22, 2025; Sun Thisweek Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), Sept. 24, 2026)

  7. KSTP reported that a coalition of Farmington and Castle Rock residents had sued the city (19HA-CV-24-5838), arguing that notice was inadequate, environmental study was lacking and the city's agreement with Castle Rock Township was breached. (KSTP, Dec. 17, 2024; Minnesota District Court, Dakota County, First Judicial District, Sept. 17, 2026)

  8. The council approved its agreement with Tract 4-1. The final plat had been approved in November. (KSTP, Dec. 17, 2024)

  9. Tract presented a 348-acre, two-site campus to the planning commission and council, with about 205 developable acres, a rezoning with a PUD overlay, plats and an AUAR. It said it was working with Great River Energy and Dakota Electric on service. (City of Farmington, June 4, 2024)

  10. The Farmington school board voted to sell about 188 acres to Tract for $18 million. (Sun Thisweek Dakota County Tribune (Hometown Source), Jan. 22, 2025)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Acreage varies by source: 348 acres in Tract's 2024 presentation (about 205 developable); the school district sold 188 acres, and Sun This Week describes the annexed district land as nearly 200 acres.
  • Sun This Week (Jan. 2025) says a Dakota County judge issued an injunction on Nov. 29 [2024]. Neither court order opened mentions an injunction, so none is recorded here.
  • The coalition's filing date is not given in a source opened; the date used is KSTP's report.
  • Resident plaintiffs are not named here.

The full record

Status note
Rezoning, the PUD and the plat were approved in 2024. Both lawsuits against the city were dismissed with prejudice in September 2026. No building or site plan application has been made public.
Power note
No MW figure appears in any source opened. Tract's 2024 presentation cites an existing 345 kV transmission line on the site.
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.