St. Louis County Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- Count not documented
No count found. A 2022 radio report says the county planned Flock 'Falcon' cameras at about $25,000 each per Councilman Tim Fitch.
- May 2022 97.1 FM Talk reported St. Louis County would use Flock Safety Falcon cameras as a crime-fighting tool; Councilman Tim Fitch put the cost at about $25,000 per camera. Dated by month: report published May 24, 2022. (97.1 FM Talk (Audacy) / The Mark Reardon Show, May 24, 2022)
- Sept. 2026 County Executive Sam Page issued Executive Order No. 4 directing the Department of Transportation and Public Works to audit plate readers, including Flock cameras, on county property or rights-of-way, and to review county agreements with municipalities for protections on how data is used, accessed, retained and shared. Dated by month: STLPR (Sept. 25, 2026) says the order was signed Friday. (St. Louis Public Radio, Sept. 25, 2026)
- Oct. 5, 2026 Asked about department policy on Flock cameras, County Police Chief Juan Cox told STLPR the department was 'already on board' with the governor's executive order and called for legislation with guardrails. (St. Louis Public Radio, Oct. 5, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions- The County Executive's order covers readers on county property and rights-of-way, which can include municipal cameras.
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.
Hazelwood Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 11
11 LPR and other cameras on Flock transparency portal (updated Sept. 21, 2025). STLPR (Sept. 2026): 10 city-budgeted Flock cameras plus access to two HOA cameras and one private business camera.
- 2023 Hazelwood's Flock contract began in 2023; the department has used plate readers since 2011, per Lt. Shane Parrish on STLPR. (St. Louis Public Radio (St. Louis on the Air), Sept. 14, 2026)
- Sept. 21, 2025 Flock portal showed 30-day retention, 231 searches and 285,466 vehicles detected in the prior 30 days; immigration and traffic enforcement listed as prohibited uses. (Flock Safety, Sept. 21, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions- Department audits users monthly (STLPR, Sept. 14 and 25, 2026).
From agency records.
Chesterfield Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 11
11 LPR and other department cameras plus 37 private cameras shared, per Flock transparency portal updated Sept. 20, 2025.
- Sept. 20, 2025 Flock portal showed 30-day retention, 266 searches, 438,174 vehicles detected and 9,951 hotlist hits in the prior 30 days; hotlist sources listed as NCIC, NCMEC Amber Alert, REJIS and MULES (MSHP). (Flock Safety, Sept. 20, 2025)
From agency records.
Webster Groves Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 6
6 LPR and other cameras per Flock transparency portal updated Aug. 6, 2025.
- Aug. 6, 2025 Flock portal showed 30-day retention, 135 searches and 277,331 vehicles detected in the prior 30 days. (Flock Safety, Aug. 6, 2025)
From agency records.
Maplewood Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- Count not documented
Count not reported.
- Sept. 2026 City council revisited Flock use at the request of Ward 3 Councilmember Nick Homa (raised in February). Police reported Flock assisted 54 cases in 2024, 24 in 2025 and 30 so far in 2026, said data is used only for major crimes and critical incidents, and said three administrators audit searches monthly. Mayor Barry Greenberg said the city does not want its cameras used to help ICE. No vote reported. Dated by month: KMOV (Sept. 8, 2026) says the council met Tuesday. (KMOV (First Alert 4), Sept. 8, 2026)
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
University City Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- Count not documented
Count not reported.
- 2026 A $200,000 Flock contract extension slated for a City Council vote earlier in 2026 was pulled from the agenda at Councilman John Tieman's request. Police say plate readers have assisted hundreds of investigations and the department's website says it has no ICE integration. (St. Louis Public Radio / The Midwest Newsroom, Sept. 22, 2026; KCUR / The Midwest Newsroom, Sept. 23, 2026)
Conflicts and open questions- Status reflects police statements of current use reported Sept. 2026; contract term and end date not found.
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Shrewsbury Police Department
- Status
- Using license-plate readers
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 8
Eight Flock camera systems under the contract reauthorized in January 2024 (Webster-Kirkwood Times). - Contract
- Flock Safety: $20,000 year · from Jan. 2024 · approved by Shrewsbury Board of Aldermen, January 2024 · Five-year contract, $2,500 per camera per year. Dated by month: the Times (Jan. 29, 2024) says the board met Tuesday. (Webster-Kirkwood Times, Jan. 29, 2024)
- Jan. 2024 Board of Aldermen reauthorized Flock cameras: eight systems, $20,000 a year for five years. Vote count not reported. Dated by month: Webster-Kirkwood Times (Jan. 29, 2024) says the board met Tuesday. (Webster-Kirkwood Times, Jan. 29, 2024)
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Ballwin Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 2
Two solar-powered cameras on Manchester Road proposed in a May 2021 staff report; no current count found. - Contract
- Flock Safety: $10,500 unspecified · from May 2021 · approved by Recommended by Police Chief Douglas Schaeffler in staff report dated May 10, 2021; approval record not found · Two-year pilot lease including installation, pole and cell service; the report does not say whether $10,500 covers the full term or one year. Competing quotes: Vigilant $8,836, Brite $36,082. (City of Ballwin Police Department, May 10, 2021)
- May 10, 2021 Staff report recommended a two-year, $10,500 Flock pilot for two cameras at the city limits on Manchester Road. (City of Ballwin Police Department, May 10, 2021)
- Aug. 2024 Post-Dispatch listed Ballwin among St. Louis-area cities using plate readers. (GovTech (republishing St. Louis Post-Dispatch), Aug. 12, 2024)
From agency records.
Sunset Hills Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Flock Safety
- Cameras
- 2
Two cameras approved in 2022 (Call Newspapers). - Contract
- Flock Safety: $6,500 one-time · from April 2022 · approved by Sunset Hills Board of Aldermen, June 14, 2022 (agreement) · Cameras bought in April 2022 for $6,500 total; board approved the agreement June 14. (Call Newspapers, June 28, 2022)
- June 14, 2022 Board of Aldermen approved the Flock agreement for two cameras. (Call Newspapers, June 28, 2022)
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Brentwood Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
The Post-Dispatch (Aug. 2024) lists Brentwood among St. Louis-area cities using plate readers, without a vendor or count.
- Aug. 2024 Post-Dispatch listed Brentwood among St. Louis-area cities using plate readers. (GovTech (republishing St. Louis Post-Dispatch), Aug. 12, 2024)
Reported by news outlets; agency records not yet obtained.
Bridgeton Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
Not reported.
- Aug. 2024 Post-Dispatch listed Bridgeton among St. Louis-area cities using plate readers. (GovTech (republishing St. Louis Post-Dispatch), Aug. 12, 2024)
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.
Eureka Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
Not reported.
- Aug. 2024 Post-Dispatch listed Eureka among St. Louis-area cities using plate readers. (GovTech (republishing St. Louis Post-Dispatch), Aug. 12, 2024)
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.
St. Ann Police Department
- Status
- Program documented, current use unconfirmed
- Vendors
- Vendor not named in source
- Cameras
- Count not documented
Not reported.
- Aug. 2024 Post-Dispatch listed St. Ann among St. Louis-area cities using plate readers. (GovTech (republishing St. Louis Post-Dispatch), Aug. 12, 2024)
Secondhand report; not yet confirmed with the agency.