Data center campus · 3901 Great Plains Drive, Fargo, Cass County, North Dakota

Dakota Carrier Network Great Plains Data Center

Operating as of Oct. 26, 2026

Dakota Carrier Network's 23,180 sq ft carrier-neutral Great Plains colocation data center in Fargo, in use since 2006 and enlarged with a hardened Tier III addition in 2017-2018; DCN is owned by 15 local telecommunications companies. Also known as: DCN Great Plains.

Cite← North Dakota data centers
Adams CountyBarnes CountyBenson CountyBillings CountyBottineau CountyBowman CountyBurke CountyBurleigh CountyCass CountyCavalier CountyDickey CountyDivide CountyDunn CountyEddy CountyEmmons CountyFoster CountyGolden Valley CountyGrand Forks CountyGrant CountyGriggs CountyHettinger CountyKidder CountyLaMoure CountyLogan CountyMcHenry CountyMcIntosh CountyMcKenzie CountyMcLean CountyMercer CountyMorton CountyMountrail CountyNelson CountyOliver CountyPembina CountyPierce CountyRamsey CountyRansom CountyRenville CountyRichland CountyRolette CountySargent CountySheridan CountySioux CountySlope CountyStark CountySteele CountyStutsman CountyTowner CountyTraill CountyWalsh CountyWard CountyWells CountyWilliams CountyDakota Carrier Network Great Plains Data Center · Operating
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area23,180sq ft

Who is behind it

ProjectDakota Carrier Network Great Plains Data CenterAlso: DCN Great Plains
Developer and teamDakota Carrier Network
End userColocation (Border States Electric was named anchor tenant of the 2017 expansion)

The record, newest first

  1. DCN's services page markets the 23,180 sq ft Great Plains Data Center in Fargo for carrier-neutral colocation, alongside its Bismarck site. (Dakota Carrier Network, Oct. 26, 2026)

  2. Telecompetitor reported the addition connects to DCN's existing Fargo facility built in 2006 and that DCN customers included about 160 banks. (Telecompetitor, Aug. 23, 2017)

  3. DCN announced a $5 million, 14,000 sq ft Tier III addition at 3901 Great Plains Drive, built to withstand 200 mph winds, with Border States Electric as anchor tenant and completion by the end of 2018. (InForum (Fargo Forum), Aug. 16, 2017)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Operating enterprise/colocation site; MW not published. Small.
  • Coordinates approximate, placed in south Fargo; the street address was not geocoded against a parcel.
  • Square footage is DCN's current total; InForum's 2017 figure (14,000 sq ft) was for the addition alone.

The full record

Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.