Data center campus · ranch land near Hachita and Playas, southern Grant County, Grant County, New Mexico

Site Layer 1 (Grant County)

Paused by moratorium as of Oct. 22, 2026

A conceptual data center on up to 8,000 acres near Hachita, first described with gas generation and later as a solar and battery project, now under a county moratorium.

Cite← New Mexico data centers
Bernalillo CountyCatron CountyChaves CountyCibola CountyColfax CountyCurry CountyDe Baca CountyDoña Ana CountyEddy CountyGrant CountyGuadalupe CountyHarding CountyHidalgo CountyLea CountyLincoln CountyLos Alamos CountyLuna CountyMcKinley CountyMora CountyOtero CountyQuay CountyRio Arriba CountyRoosevelt CountySan Juan CountySan Miguel CountySandoval CountySanta Fe CountySierra CountySocorro CountyTaos CountyTorrance CountyUnion CountyValencia CountySite Layer 1 (Grant County) · Paused by moratorium
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Site8,000acres

Who is behind it

ProjectSite Layer 1 (Grant County)
Developer and teamGranite Renewables (Site Layer 1 LLC)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. The county commission adopted a one-year moratorium on data centers and their supporting infrastructure, 4-1. (Albuquerque Journal, Oct. 22, 2026)

  2. The developer presented the project to the county commission as mainly solar and battery storage, with a possible later gas plant and data center, and said the data center's size was not yet known. (Albuquerque Journal, Oct. 9, 2026)

  3. The state Environment Secretary told the developer its air permit application would be treated as incomplete without public contact information and community engagement. (Albuquerque Journal, Oct. 9, 2026; Searchlight New Mexico, Sept. 25, 2026)

Conflicts and open questions

  • The landowner is a private individual and is not named here.
  • Location is approximate.

The full record

Status note
Grant County adopted a one-year data center moratorium on Oct. 22, 2026; the developer called the project conceptual.
Power note
The published air permit notice described gas engines generating more than 300 MW; the developer later presented 715 MW of solar and 715 MW of batteries. Left out of the power field and the state's power total because it measures generation, not data center load.
Evidence
News reports; primary records not yet obtained
Size class
50 MW or more (tracker scope)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.