Data center campus · 11793 Vans Valley Road, Sunbury Business and Technology Park, Sunbury, Delaware County, Ohio

AWS Sunbury data center campus

Paused by moratorium as of July 16, 2026

Sunbury granted Amazon a 30-year tax break in 2024 for a planned $2 billion campus in its new industrial park; the city adopted a data center moratorium in April 2026 and voters face a proposed data center ban in November.

Cite← Ohio data centers
Adams CountyAllen CountyAshland CountyAshtabula CountyAthens CountyAuglaize CountyBelmont CountyBrown CountyButler CountyCarroll CountyChampaign CountyClark CountyClermont CountyClinton CountyColumbiana CountyCoshocton CountyCrawford CountyCuyahoga CountyDarke CountyDefiance CountyDelaware CountyErie CountyFairfield CountyFayette CountyFranklin CountyFulton CountyGallia CountyGeauga CountyGreene CountyGuernsey CountyHamilton CountyHancock CountyHardin CountyHarrison CountyHenry CountyHighland CountyHocking CountyHolmes CountyHuron CountyJackson CountyJefferson CountyKnox CountyLake CountyLawrence CountyLicking CountyLogan CountyLorain CountyLucas CountyMadison CountyMahoning CountyMarion CountyMedina CountyMeigs CountyMercer CountyMiami CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyMorrow CountyMuskingum CountyNoble CountyOttawa CountyPaulding CountyPerry CountyPickaway CountyPike CountyPortage CountyPreble CountyPutnam CountyRichland CountyRoss CountySandusky CountyScioto CountySeneca CountyShelby CountyStark CountySummit CountyTrumbull CountyTuscarawas CountyUnion CountyVan Wert CountyVinton CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWayne CountyWilliams CountyWood CountyWyandot CountyAWS Sunbury data center campus · Paused by moratorium
PowerNot statedNot reported in the records found
Floor area450,000sq ft

Who is behind it

ProjectAWS Sunbury data center campus
Developer and teamAmazon Web Services (through Amazon Data Services, Inc.)
End userNot found in the recordsNot yet named in any record or credited report we have found.

The record, newest first

  1. Council unanimously certifies a citizen-proposed charter amendment prohibiting data center construction to the Nov. 3, 2026 ballot. (1808Delaware, July 16, 2026)

  2. Residents circulate petitions for a charter amendment barring data centers above 25 MW. (NBC4 WCMH-TV, June 25, 2026)

  3. City council unanimously adopts a moratorium on establishing data centers in the city, running through Jan. 31, 2027. (WOSU 89.7 NPR News, April 16, 2026)

  4. Mayor calls for a moratorium on data center projects; coverage ties the 330-acre rezoning to an Amazon campus of about 200 acres. (1808Delaware, March 26, 2026)

  5. Planning and Zoning Commission hearing on Sunbury 37 LLC's request to zone more than 330 acres near AWS's site as limited industrial is pushed to March 23 to verify parcel numbers. (1808Delaware, Feb. 23, 2026)

  6. Coverage details a 450,000 sq ft first building, construction starting January 2028 and the first building in service by December 2034; AWS is negotiating power terms with AEP Ohio. (1808Delaware, Nov. 25, 2024)

  7. Sunbury City Council approves a CRA incentive for Amazon Data Services' $2 billion campus in the Sunbury Business and Technology Park, with 50 committed jobs. (City of Sunbury, Nov. 21, 2024; 1808Delaware, Nov. 25, 2024)

Conflicts and open questions

  • Coordinates from a Census geocode of 11793 Vans Valley Road (Galena mailing address), the site address reported by 1808Delaware.
  • Acreage unresolved: 10TV reports Amazon would occupy about 200 of the park's acres; the pending rezoning covers 330+ acres; WOSU gives the park as 1,200 acres and the city about 1,300.
  • Whether the moratorium applies to AWS's already-incentivized project is not stated in the records.
  • Outcome of the 330-acre rezoning hearing set for March 23, 2026 was not found in the records.

The full record

Status note
Sunbury's data center moratorium (adopted April 15, 2026, through Jan. 31, 2027) covers new data centers in the city; whether it reaches AWS's already-incentivized project is not stated. A citizen charter amendment prohibiting data center construction is on the Nov. 3, 2026 ballot.
Floor area note
first building
Evidence
Primary public records
Size class
Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Map position approximate, from the reported address or area. Updated Oct. 17, 2026.