EdgeConneX Ashville data center and energy center
EdgeConneX plans two data center buildings on about 195 acres in Ashville, powered by an on-site gas plant of up to 800 MW. Village voters will decide on Nov. 3, 2026 whether to keep the council's approval of the deal's term summary. Also known as: PowerConneX Ashville Energy Center.
Who is behind it
The record, newest first
The Pickaway County Board of Elections voted 4-0 to put the referendum on the Nov. 3, 2026 ballot, finding the resolution legislative rather than administrative. (Circleville Herald, Aug. 25, 2026)
OPSB held a local public hearing on the energy center. An evidentiary hearing was set for Sept. 9. (Circleville Herald, undated; Farm and Dairy, undated)
The Ohio Supreme Court held that the resolution's emergency clause did not state specific reasons, so it was open to referendum, and ordered the village fiscal officer to certify the petition to the county board of elections. (Supreme Court of Ohio, Aug. 7, 2026; Court News Ohio (Supreme Court of Ohio), Aug. 7, 2026; Circleville Herald, Aug. 7, 2026)
Council extended the data center zoning moratorium by another 180 days. (Circleville Herald, July 7, 2026)
PowerConneX filed its Ohio Power Siting Board application for an energy center of up to about 800 MW on about 110 acres. (EdgeConneX, June 8, 2026)
Council voted 5-1 to adopt Resolution 06-2026 approving the term summary as an emergency measure. (Supreme Court of Ohio, Aug. 7, 2026; Circleville Herald, Aug. 25, 2026)
Council set the second reading of a resolution approving a term summary for two data center buildings and an on-site gas energy center on about 195 acres. (Circleville Herald, undated)
Council voted 4-2 against annexing about 486 acres from Harrison Township. (Circleville Herald, undated)
Residents packed a council meeting opposing the project. Officials said the first phase was already zoned, while later phases would need annexation and rezoning. (ABC6 WSYX, Jan. 5, 2026)
Ashville council adopted a 180-day emergency moratorium on zoning certificates for data centers. (Circleville Herald, Dec. 29, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
- Coordinates are approximate: the village of Ashville, not the parcel.
- The referendum concerns the term summary resolution, not the data center itself (Circleville Herald).
- The Herald says the moratorium vote came at a special meeting on 'Monday, December 21, 2025'; Dec. 21, 2025 was a Sunday. The court opinion and Court News Ohio say the term summary suspends the village moratorium for this project.
The full record
- Status note
- Village approved a term summary in April 2026. A voter referendum on that resolution is set for Nov. 3, 2026. The companion 800 MW gas plant is pending before the Ohio Power Siting Board (case 26-196-EL-BGN).
- Power note
- Data center IT capacity is not disclosed. The on-site PowerConneX gas plant would generate up to about 800 MW (company page / OPSB case 26-196-EL-BGN).
- Evidence
- Primary public records
- Size class
- 50 MW or more (tracker scope)