Data center project · Morrow County, Oregon
Amazon (AWS) campuses in Morrow County
Operating · Amazon's established Morrow County data centers around Boardman, kept as operating context for the new campuses above. Also known as: PDX109.
- Status
- Operating · as of Sept. 10, 2026
- Location
- Boardman area and Port of Morrow · Morrow County
- Power
- Not reported
No power figure in the sources reviewed. - Developer and team
- Amazon (AWS)
- Water
- Many sites are outside urban growth boundaries and get industrial water from the Port of Morrow, according to state land-use staff.
- Incentives
- Amazon pays enterprise zone sponsors in lieu of some taxes; it paid more than $19 million in Morrow County property taxes, close to half of the county's taxable value (2025 reporting).
- Evidence
- News reports; primary records not yet obtained
- Size class
- Under 50 MW (outside main scope; kept for completeness)
Updates, newest first
- Oct. 13, 2026 Oregon Rural Action said the governor's permit pause could affect a proposed Amazon hyperscale facility in Boardman whose air permit was under review. (Oregon Capital Chronicle (via Washington State Standard), Oct. 13, 2026)
- Sept. 10, 2026 OPB reported more than 50 data centers online in Morrow and Umatilla counties and a DEQ comment period on an air permit for another AWS project in the Boardman area. (OPB, Sept. 10, 2026)
- July 22, 2026 OPB reported 14 hyperscale data centers, all Amazon's, in the Lower Umatilla Basin, and estimated that their diesel generators in a large blackout would emit about twice the pollution of all Oregon road traffic over the same period; Amazon called such a blackout unlikely. (OPB (First Look newsletter), July 22, 2026)
- March 31, 2026 The plaintiffs' lawyers announced that Amazon agreed to a $20.5 million settlement with the residents suing in Pearson v. Port of Morrow over nitrate-contaminated groundwater, with no admission of guilt; the residents are still suing other defendants. (Oregon Capital Chronicle (via OPB), March 31, 2026)
- May 30, 2025 Local officials said Amazon has five data centers in Morrow County, three still tax-exempt, and pays more than $19 million a year in county property taxes. (East Oregonian (via Hermiston Herald), May 30, 2025)
- March 27, 2025 DEQ took comment on swapping a diesel backup generator at PDX109, 75242 Gar Swanson Rd., Boardman, with no increase in emission limits. (East Oregonian, March 27, 2025)
Conflicts and open questions
- Counts differ: five data centers (2025 local officials), 10 approved campuses of about four or five buildings each (county planner, 2026) and 14 Amazon hyperscale buildings basin-wide (OPB). They measure different things and are shown as given.
- Which campus the Boardman air permit under review covers was not stated.
Have records about this project? Send them to tips@signaldata.org.